We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st time in a yurt, and will be back here again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Yosemite Lakes RV Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Mountain View
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“1st time in a yurt, and will be back here again!”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I recently stayed in a Hillside Yurt with friends over the weekend. I'm admittedly a "big chain hotel" type, so my idea of visiting Yosemite for the first time was not to necessarily rough it out in a tent, but the idea of a yurt with all the trimmings seemed intriguing. My expectations were exceeded! First of all, no complaints about the staff (I had the blonde lady mentioned in other reviews and she was definitely nice!). Second, the location is tough to beat -- 5 miles to the western gate entrance of Yosemite. Keep in mind the park is HUGE though, so from there it's another ~25 miles to Yosemite Valley. I think all roads leading into Yosemite are similar. Third, the resort is like a little town: tents on one side, yurt village on another, which I found lovely. As for the yurt itself, it pretty much has everything you need -- sheets/towels, a functional indoor fireplace, pots, pans, a hardwired BBQ (aka: no need to buy propane), etc. You just need to bring food to cook :) and firewood if you want to use the outside fire pit, which is no problem because the on-site country store sells that. There are so many options for Yosemite and it can be quite daunting to research them all, keeping in mind proximity, amenities, pet policy, and the like. Luckily this place literally has it all! After the weekend we all agreed we'd rebook in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl_C_Katz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    215
    113
    63
    62
See reviews for
439
233
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Turlock, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Just returned from staying at the Yurt Village! Friendly, helpful staff. Warm, cozy, spacious yurts that sit in the most beautiful area with deer roaming nearby. We had so much fun and are returning ASAP! Best Campground I've ever seen!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartaDias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed in a riverside yurt which had everything we needed for a self catering trip. Very clean, thought it might get a bit chilly at night as it was the 1st week of November but it was okay, inside electric fire which kept the place quite toasty. Outside fire pit, BBQ & bench to sit at, would recommend that you take torches, lanterns or lots of candles with you if you want to sit outside. The night sky is amazing, so many stars to see!

The staff seem to have very poor reviews, I do admit that a warmer welcome would be nice but overall we found them to be very helpful especially when I realised that I had left my handbag in the yurt, I called that evening, someone checked the room found my bag and made arrangements for it to be returned to me via USPS. Thank-you very much to all the staff who assisted with this.

Room Tip: Book a riverside yurt
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We had such a great time. We stayed at the hillside yurt and it was wonderful. Super comfortable, extremely clean, kitchen with everything you need to cook with. There is outside a picnic bench, a bbq grill and a fire ring. Very quite. Staff was very helpful. Will definitely go back

Room Tip: Hill side yurt is very private and quite and walking distance from the store!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Spent two nights here and it was pretty good compared to some other camping experiences

Things to note:
- flushing toilets (a rarity in these parts when camping, trust me!)
- only one shower
- try to get a site near the toilet block as you may need it
- bear-proof your camp...leave anything smelly (food, perfume, etc) locked away in a trailer or a van where you aren't sleeping. Best to be safe than sorry

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Swarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We loved our week-long stay at one of the Hillside Yurts. In addition to being 5 miles from the Big Oak Flat entrance to the Park, this very moderately priced and unique accommodation had enough amenities for those of us who are lukewarm campers, but a camping feel for my spouse who loves to camp! It was in the trees and quiet. We went out each night, laid down on the grass and looked at the Milky Way, which stretched across the sky. We had a propane gas grill, a propane stove for heat at night (which we needed in August), a swamp cooler (AC on steroids) to cool off the Yurt when it reached 90 in the afternoon, indoor plumbing, a 2 burner stove and a fridge. The odd thing was the misplaced satellite TV (who needs it!). There is NO, I repeat NO cell service at this place, so you are off the grid completely. But you won't care. I'd stay here again--definitely.

Room Tip: Stay in a Hillside Yurt, as it is away from the main campground and the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cabaret59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groveland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Since when did Yosemite Lakes stop caring about their members and the community During the Rim Fire when Buck Meadows was evcaurated they would not let a member stay there they told him that they wern't taking walk ins and he had to leave. Nothing like sending someone back into the fire. And when Yosemite Lakes were told that they were going be evaced they had people staying there and they were on line to find another place to go and to emails their familys that they were okay Yosemite Lakes staff at check office unpluged the Wi Fi and told them they had to leave now didn't even give them a chance to find another place to go and didn't help them with anything I would never stay again and would not resomend this place to anyone

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 208CPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
3.5 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
379 reviews
6.6 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
11.6 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#2 of 7 in Groveland
800 reviews
22.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
13.5 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Lakes RV Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Lakes RV Resort

Property: Yosemite Lakes RV Resort
Address: 31191 Hardin Flat Rd, Groveland, CA 95321-9716
Location: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Yosemite Lakes RV Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 299
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Yosemite Lakes RV Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Lakes Cabins And Hostel
Yosemite Lakes Cabins Hotel Groveland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing