We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The only way to see Yosemite...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Yosemite Lakes RV Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The only way to see Yosemite...”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

It's half camping, half hotel. There's just something wrong about seeing Yosemite and staying in a hotel. Of course, a February visit means the climate is cold and unforgiving.

Enter... the Yurt. It's not camping. It's not a hotel. It's a little bit of both. You are in a warm indoor tent-like structure, with all the benefits of camping (campfires, smores, hiking, etc.), with the luxury of sleeping in a bed, a basic stove, refrigerator, even a tv (we never turned it on). It's about 30 minutes to drive to Yosemite Valley, though you will stop a few times for some of the scenic overlooks.

Don't expect it to be as nice as a hotel. The amenities are very basic... but compared to camping, it's the Ritz! I'd recommend to anyone visiting Yosemite to visit the Yosemite Lakes Yurt Village. At the end of the day it's a quiet retreat on a hill, as opposed to thousands of the great unwashed camping down in the valley. Amateurs.

Bring in food because it's in the middle of nowhere. The local store is closed after 4, and the next town is probably 45 minutes away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JohnGladding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    176
    75
    40
    38
See reviews for
352
202
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My family of 4 just returned from a February trip to Yosemite and stayed in a Hillside Yurt. We absolutely loved it. I was quite nervous about staying warm with snow on the ground and nighttime temperatures in the 20s, but we were nice a toasty - even without using the extra linens. Everything we needed was there including a nice sized kitchen, microwave, coffee pot, toaster, stove and refrigerator. It was perfect for us. Oh, and only ~10 minutes from the park. A GREAT trip!

Room Tip: We were in Yurt 9. It was nice that we didn't have really nearby neighbors. Across the road, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Our yurt was toasty warm and cosy (despite it being November, and rainy), and equipped with everything you need - including kitchen gear and a fridge, so we could cook our own food. There's not much in the way of shops nearby, though, so bring things to eat with you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katiee_overseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We booked our reservation on line for a tent site and double checked it twice. They booked us in an RV site, we requested to have a tent site and we were told to go check out what may still be available. So we did! Found a nice large site on the river however, it was all blocked by trees. We proceeded to pitch the tent and set up camp only to find out the showers/toilets by our site were closed due to repairs. It would have been nice for the lady checking us in to let us know that ahead of time, we would have picked a different site. Too late to pick up and move everthing... I asked how long the restroom would be close and the man working on it said "Awe who knows a couples days maybe a month!" Really! Hmmm. Well they did finally open it the next day so at least we had toilets and 1 shower near-by. There were no benches in the restrooms to put your things on, they were filthy no one ever came to clean them, they must of restocked the paper towels because they never ran out. I finally went to the office to ask when do the restrooms get cleaned. The lady replied "Everyday!" I told her" I don't think so no one has been to ours it's filthy". There was a couple checking in and I made sure they overheard me. Well, as it would be 2 ladies showed up on the morning we were leaving to clean. We have been camping the better part of 30 years and this is the worst I have come across. The whole camp ground just looked run down, the lodge was a mess, very spotty WI-Fi coverage in the lodge only, No cell service, and to boot don't think your going to put up a clothes line to dry your towels Not allowed! I brought my hammock which I do on all camping trips and I was told "You can't put that up no hanging it in the trees!" that's a first for me. Other than being with my family & friends and enjoying their company, as well as Yosemite there needs to be some major changes before i will come back here. For the price they charge you would think they would take better care of the campground. I must say the campground was very quite day and night no rowdy people even though there were a big group of small kids having fun they were very good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Outdoorgirl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

Our experience was awful. The staff was rude to us and treated us as if we were beneath them. We were there for one night only because of the treatment we received and the fact that the bathrooms were dirty and old and broken down. Their wonderful wifi was only available in one room at certain times o the day-- plus there is NO CELL SERVICE. We were stuck but only for that one night. Be warned

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gswprchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anniston, Alabama
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

The cabins are basic, but comfortable. Linens on all beds even though we were told through reservation there would be none and we brought our sleeping bags across country. Nice fire ring, propane heat, and picnic table. Clean bathhouse. Hot showers, don't forget your towels. Store, gas station within walking distance, basic premade sandwiches, drinks, and cheapest gas in the area. We traveled 8 miles to buckmeadows for dinner, it was very good and a fun little bar, pool tables and shuffleboard. Would love to be there now. Closest place to Yosemite, well worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SallyE0307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
135 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We spent a week there in our 40 foot class A and were very happy with a few exceptions, no 50 amp and no phone coverage. There was free wifi in the clubhouse but it was very slow. We squeezed into a site by the river under the giant pines, finding one we could level in but could'nt get our front mount direct tv to get a signal in because of the trees. The sites under the pines are very tight but worth the shade as the afternoons were quite hot. If you want more elbow room, there are lots of other sites in the park out of the trees.The climb up hwy 120 to the park for large rvs and 5th wheels includes a 6 mile winding 1600 ft grade. IGNORE your gps's suggestion to turn up Old Priest Grade, it has a 7500 lb limit and is TOO steep, stay on hwy 120!

Room Tip: riverside sites are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobncamille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
6.6 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
11.6 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,977 reviews
3.5 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#2 of 7 in Groveland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
13.5 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,720 reviews
16.4 mi away
Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Lakes RV Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Lakes RV Resort

Property: Yosemite Lakes RV Resort
Address: 31191 Hardin Flat Rd, Groveland, CA 95321-9716
Location: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Yosemite Lakes RV Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 299
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Yosemite Lakes RV Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Lakes Cabins And Hostel
Yosemite Lakes Cabins Hotel Groveland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing