We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb food”

Charlotte Bistro & Bar
Ranked #2 of 22 Restaurants in Groveland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Owners Doug & Jenn Edwards run the Charlotte Bistro & Bar, located in the historic Hotel Charlotte located just outside of Yosemite National Park. At the Charlotte Bistro our approach to food is simple, we cook what we like to eat. Our philosophy is to create cuisine originating from the finest ingredients we can get a hold of. We believe that supporting farmers who are directly connected to the land near our restaurant allows us to create food that not only excites your tastes buds, but connects you to our beautiful surroundings and supports the local community. Bon appetite. Chef Doug Edwards At Charlotte Bistro & Bar We Feature: Small plates Outdoor dining Local wine, beer on tap and full bar with specialty cocktails Vegetarian and gluten free options All housemade dishes, sauces, desserts, etc.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We loved the Charlotte Bistro and Bar so much we went two of our three nights in the Yosemite area. We had different items each night and sometimes all three courses. This is not an inexpensive restaurant but it is very tasteful and tastey; a splurge but worth it.

Thank NHMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (329)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

214 - 218 of 329 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2012

If you want luke warm food and appalling service, please stay here. We had dinner here and our party and other tables sent the food back as was lukewarm, we were told by the waitress that was how it should be. the lamb was completely tasteless, the shrimp, too, the chicken, tough and unappetizing. The wine overpriced and still not good. An awful meal. The waitresses seemed to be in a trance and completely un-interested. Very expensive meal and without doubt the worst meal of our entire 3 week stay in USA.

    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank janiensk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Food was okay. Be careful, with the wait staff. The waitress named Amy will add the tip, even for only four people, if you speak with an accent. And then she will have all excuses, system down, printer not working. I guess she thinks people with accents don’t tip the 15-20%.
June 22,2012

Thank Andre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 1, 2012

Good Afternoon Andre L - I am very sorry about your recent experience at our restaurant. Our policy is to add an 18% gratuity for parties of 6 or more as is the industry standard. I apologize if a mistake was made and a gratuity was added to your party of four, this should have never happened. Please know that I have already spoken to the server about this occurrence to ensure nothing like this will happen again. We do hope you join us again and I would be more than happy to extend a $50 gift certificate for your next visit. Thank you, Jenn Edwards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

The menu was very creative and the new chef has great ideas. However s/he needs to watch the seasoning because all our dishes were over-seasoned (too salty and peppery). Just a little correction will make a huge difference. Definitely has potential and we would go there again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We ate at Charlotte Bistro and had a really great experience. The new owners took over the place about 3 months ago, and have really filled a much-needed niche of interesting, quality food
in the Groveland area.

Food was very good. The menu had different, interesting items on it.

The owners/staff could not have been nicer. We really hope the place is a success for them.

Would definitely go again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank smbrown86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Charlotte Bistro & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing