We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (244)
Filter reviews
245 results
Traveler rating
237
8
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
237
8
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub beautiful meadow friendly dogs perfect hosts outdoor kitchen humming birds yosemite national park incredible stay local town great advice on where to go huge tub little piece of paradise lovely home great cook other guests gas bbq week trip
Filter
Updating list...
162 - 167 of 245 reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed two nights at the Red Tail Ranch in Groveland and had a wonderful time. The owners Deborah and Kevin are super friendly, and have a beautiful home and setting. The breakfasts are delicious, the home, bedrooms and bathrooms super clean and comfortable. The meadow that the house overlooks is just gorgeous and has a walking trail that guests can enjoy (along with their friendly dogs who like to walk the trail too). Deborah was very helpful in giving us tips of places to go in Yosemite that were not so crowded as well as dinner recommendations. From their home Yosemite entrance is about 20-30 minutes away, and about an hour or so to Yosemite Valley floor. I would highly recommend the Red Tail Ranch and hope to stay here again in the future. Charlene & Doug, Elk Grove, CA

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We stayed 4 nights at Red Tail Ranch and were received like family. This is a beautiful location in a two bedroom house, each room having its own bathroom. The house is appointed beautifully and the ranch itself has horses, chickens, and very friendly dogs. Not to mention the very nice couple that runs the ranch, Deborah and Kevin whom we felt very at-ease with. Breakfasts were very good and this location is close to Yosemite without the traffic and hassle of staying in the valley itself. We would highly recommend if you like something quiet and friendly.

Room Tip: The master is larger and has own bathroom en suite. The smaller room has own fridge and the bathroom is just outside the door.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

The house is very clean and has a great view of the green field. The innkeeper was very welcoming and cooked us delicious breakfast. They told us interesting stories about Yosemite and offered us travel tips. Our stay there was awesome.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed at Red Tail Ranch for 2 nights and spent two full days going around Yosemite National Park (we drove from San Francisco). The Red Tail is about an hour from Yosemite (the falls, Merced river, etc.) and other notable points that are worth visiting in that region also.

This is a great location as the Ranch is situated in a nice quiet and beautiful area, away from the busy tourist environment, giving a great feeling of what the true outdoors is like in this part of the world. Deborah and Kevin gave us some really good advice on the area and this was priceless for us making best use of our time there (as we only had two days). Our advice would be to stay a minimum of two days, ideally three or more to get the most of Yosemite sights and also get to spend some relaxing time at the Ranch also.

Deborah and Kevin were very welcoming, and we always looked forward to our morning chats at breakfast (which was also delicious!). Our last morning there, we had to leave early to get back to San Francisco, and Deborah was kind enough to make very early breakfast for us so we wouldn't leave hungry on our journey!

Overall, the Red Tail Ranch made our visit to Yosemite a memorable one!

Theresa & Jason

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank jasontheresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed for 2 nights ( wish we could stay more ....)
Kevin & Deborah are the best you can find.
We looked for a room for a night and we found a friends , a family.
They should charge more for the rooms they have , but it's not about that , the love and care and the new friendship is priceless ....
Go there if you can , stay more than 1 night , you won't regret it.
Love
Hen & Doron

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hehg69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews