We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Yosemite Riverside Inn
Ranked #6 of 6 Groveland B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 1, 2014

I stayed at the Riverside Inn with two friends on a photographic trip to Yosemite. The accommodation was adequate for our needs but further away from the National Park that we envisaged, so for early starts we had at least an hours drive to get into the park. The staff were friendly and helpful and breakfast again can be described as ok.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 165 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2013

We only had the opportunity to stay one night, but we would love to go back. The room was beautiful, clean, and spacious. The grounds were a great place to relax and rest. The surrounding area is recovering from a large fire, but this Inn was spared. The managers were friendly and helpful. I recommend this Inn.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shari6083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Please take the time to read this review, if the title mislead you and made you think of a happy getaway retreat I apologize, this is the horror movie cabin in the woods hotel. upon our arrival to the Riverside Inn, we noticed two long term trailer homes on the property and a lot of spare toilets scattered about the property. It looked like hoarders. Upon our attempt to check into the property, the owners ran and hid, peeking out from the back of the room and refused to answer the door, our hearts sank and the fear of being skinned began to creep forward from the backs of our minds. After calling their "office" and knocking on their door multiple times we were finally given our keys to a cabin. Upon entering the cabin our fears worsened, the beds were unmade and appeared to have just been slept in, dirty dishes were in the sink. garbage was in the can and the room smelled horrible, not just rustic cabin smell. We were offered another room, with hopes high we opened the door only to discover more of the same.

After this horrendous adventure I went back and read other reviews and understand the property has changed hands and some say the management is fearful of police, this is understandable after meeting the "cleaning lady" who resides in one of the long term trailers and may or may not have a history with the law...

My advice, either turn around back into town or KEEP DRIVING! it really is a shame, the property has a lot of potential but the management just does not seem to care about the service they provide to their customers...who they hide from.

best of luck to you and yours on your journeys, I hope this helps.

Room Tip: Keep driving!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank spence s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I stayed at the Yosemite Riverside Inn last year with my boyfriend when we decided to tack a trip out to Yosemite onto a longer trip to California not too long beforehand. We visited in June, so had very limited options on where to stay and literally got the last room at this hotel for our 2 night stay. Like others have mentioned, there is absolutely nothing fancy about this hotel. However, the management is friendly, breakfast is included, rooms have kitchenettes (which is great because it's a long ride to any restaurants or stores), and after a long day of hiking and sightseeing which is what we came to do anyway, this was a fine place to rest your head. Everything seemed clean and kept up -- just older. The location and grounds are very nice and peaceful, and only about a 15-20 minute drive to the park entrance.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ashmarena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Not the fanciest place, but very comfortable and quiet. Bring some charcoal and something to grill out. Breakfast in the morning included, not fancy but good. Ask for riverside rooms. Most rooms have kitchenettes.

Room Tip: Ask for riverside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

If we had any other option we'd be gone! This place is dirty. It's clear that Management is wearing rose colored glasses as to the presentation of their property. Rustic does not equal filth. Spiderwebs on the walls, dirty walls and doors, shaby furniture and decor. For another 20 minute drive you can book Best Western or the Groveland Inn for the same price, and have access to food and good restaurants. The staff did try to solve our complaints but we should not have had them in the first place.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nancycand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

OK - So let's all realize that if you want to stay near Yosemite you have little option. This place is a decent location to access the park and get out without having to deal with camping, etc... That being said, the ownership seems to have decided that their proximity to the park is enough to get by. I will say that the beds were pretty comfortable and we did get a good nights sleep; unfortunately this is 2013 and we have grown to expect a certain level of service that was just not there (especially for the price). The "breakfast" was absolutely disgusting: gas station cuisine. The showers were so dated that I was pretty sure they were for "little people" (the spray was well below shoulder height - WTF?) The grounds were reminiscent of a trailer park, but they did have some nice seating outside so it was not so bad I guess. The worst for me was the fact that the tap water was DISGUSTING! - could not drink it no matter how thirsty I was...coffee was the same. All in all, I would say that this place totally sucks, but it is close to Yosemite (about 20-30 miles out from the valley) so maybe it is worth the trouble? Just expect to be "roughing it" the entire time you are here and bring everything you think you would need because there is absolutely nothing here for you other than a bed, a toilet, and a shower. I am sad to write this because Yosemite is truly a spiritual place and I know this place could be so much better than it is. Oh well....

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
8.6 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
6.8 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#2 of 7 in Groveland
554 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#3 of 7 in Groveland
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,201 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Groveland Hotel
The Groveland Hotel
#5 of 7 in Groveland
593 reviews
23.0 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Riverside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Riverside Inn

Address: 11399 Cherry Lake Road, Groveland, CA 95321
Location: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Groveland
Price Range: $150 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Yosemite Riverside Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Yosemite Riverside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Riverside Hotel Groveland
Hotel Yosemite Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing