We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced and tatty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yosemite Riverside Inn
Ranked #6 of 6 Groveland B&B and Inns
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Over priced and tatty”
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Scratched up toilet seat, brown coffee mugs, terrible sheets (not cotton), thin towels, noisey car park, watering system goes on in the early hours of the morning to further disrupt sleep, breakfast on disposal dinnerware in stuffy trailer with canned music.
Should not charge more than$40

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    28
    35
    33
    42
See reviews for
50
62
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Great location, comfortable outdoorsy feel!
Having read many unhappy reviews about the Yosemite Riverside Inn, I was apprehensive but upon arrival we were pleasantly surprised to find a rustic and comfortable cabin in the woods feel to the place. I reserved a fair priced deluxe river view room which had a balcony overlooking the river and woods. There was a cool rocking bench to sit on and enjoy the view of river and forest. Our room itself was clean and the carpet seemed fairly new. There was a fridge, sink area and microwave as well. The sinks and shower were older but functional and fine. The bed was very comfortable, all was pleasant. The towels could use an upgrade, on the thin side for sure, also the room had a slightly strange smell at first sniff. That is all.

They do not start to serve breakfast until April 15 so no comment on that. There is not much to eat outside of a vending machine at the Inn so bring groceries or stop in nearby Groveland or the restaurant a ways down the road. The people were nice on check in and check out, even let us slide on a later checkout. The location could not get closer to Yosemite without being in the park (18 miles from Groveland) which was great as we came for the great outdoors not to hang out in a hotel. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a comfortable and convenient place to crash after a long day of outdoor adventure. Hope this review helps set your mind at ease about the Yosemite Riverside Inn!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BBGunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviewed December 18, 2012

A two room reservation was made 6-months in advance but had to be cancelled. Hotel policy is to penalize (they call it a fee) $25 per room for the cancellation. I can see a such a fee for cancellation done much closer to the actual reservation date, say 24-hours. Charging such a fee six months in advance, in this case, is bordering on "insanity".

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Russ G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Groveland hotels

San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I was there several times and plan to go back. What an amazing place. My room was clean and for the price was great. Places around here are more expensive and so we stayed with them and found that its better then all the other review were giving. River to swim or fish in, forest to walk in, relaxing chairs to nap at, and all the people there were really nice to talk to. Even the workers were a charm to talk to.

Room Tip: take the deluxe or suites. Really nice rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

If all else is booked then this is right outside park past the town of Groveland about 15 minutes on left. Continental breakfast was ok until you get into town and really fill up. I stayed at 1 room , 2 twins for 135. Thought it was overpriced; fan was noisy and water did smell I believe because is from a well?? Location is good and quiet. If all else is booked this will work. Do Not PAY the 5 dollars for internet, does not work.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joe a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Hard to see how they survive with endless poor ratings, which we endorse. Stayed 3 nights in September as everywhere else booked out, substandard accom, with poor breakfast, however it could be fantastic with beautiful setting, but a bit like a dumping ground. Bedding clean but room only "cleaned" 2 days, and even left an envelope with expectation of a tip. Best aspect was proximity to Yosemite gate.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed in a hotel room here. The room was poor/average - not much room, so-so beds, thin scratchy towels, a strange layout. Worst thing was super-thin curtains so the glow from the outside lights poured in and made it really hard for my children and I to sleep. It's also further from Groveland than I'd expected so you need to keep driving back there to get groceries or a meal (next time I'd try and stay in the town which seemed really nice). On the plus side - a lovely setting, children's playground, breakfast offering was pretty good (although you'll probably need to supplement if you're planning on hiking in Yosemite and there aren't many chairs) and lady at reception was very friendly (man is not). Overall maybe a 2.5 rating for me - I wouldn't recommend as a first choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MHfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
6.8 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
454 reviews
8.6 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
14.3 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#2 of 7 in Groveland
812 reviews
23.0 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,815 reviews
24.2 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Riverside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Riverside Inn

Property: Yosemite Riverside Inn
Address: 11399 Cherry Lake Road, Groveland, CA 95321
Location: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Yosemite Riverside Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Yosemite Riverside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Riverside Hotel Groveland
Hotel Yosemite Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing