We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“avoid” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yosemite Riverside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Yosemite Riverside Inn
Ranked #6 of 6 Groveland B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“avoid”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Worst stay of our trip across America. My husband and I chose this place as it was close to the Yosemite national park. It wasn't worth the money at all. There was no privacy for starters anybody could see right through the window in the front door (bedroom) and also through the bathroom window. When we first got there I couldn't even use the bathroom because there were a group of maintenance guys working right outside the window. I eventually used one of their old towels to block out the window. Another problem was the bathroom sink and shower weren't cleaned there was hair and shavings in both. The airconditioner stopped working after an hour and the maintenance guys started banging away at 6:45 the next morning right outside our cabin.
Another thing watch that you don't leave any dirty dishes or they'll charge you an extra cleaning fee.
Don't bother staying here there are a few motels and a lodge just down the road, check them out instead, oh and watch for the broken glass in the picture frame above the bed head.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lee-anne a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    25
    34
    30
    42
See reviews for
47
60
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

Very disappointing in all aspects. The 3-bedroom room was advertised as “deluxe”. Instead the room was very, very basic – the tiles in the shower were broken, the sheets had holes, only one of the small rooms had air-conditioning – all for $300 a night. However the worst aspect was the attitude of the owner. For example one morning – the breakfast person did not arrive at 7:30 to open up – so that day no breakfast was served. The comment from management was “ no one else got breakfast also– she is usually dependable – that’s the way it goes” (no apology). There were other issues such as the promised good Wi-Fi, and outdoor amenities, etc. So please beware and consider the Yosemite Riverside as an overpriced run-down hotel – with poor attitude.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank my8899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Groveland hotels

California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We had a fairly large group and stayed in the "Executive Suite", mainly because there was no where else to go. The setting along the river was really pretty but the place itself is pretty run down. It was a really warm day and the air conditioner wasn't working (which the management knew about but didn't tell us), so my husband went to the office to negotiate down our price - which they did. The overhead fan in our room was really noisy - one of our friends (a maintenance guy) said it was hooked up wrong. The San Jose family camp is right next door, so in the afternoon you can hear the camp counselors screaming through the bull horns as the kids do their activities. The breakfast was pretty skimpy considering how much money we paid. This place has SO much potential, but is currently not worth the money. Luckily we only stayed one night. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunnyvalemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

There was only a cabin available when we arrived. Sounds a lot better than it is.
With everything I touched, I was scared it would fall off. The mosquito netting was torn, the windows were cracked and taped together. There was no room to put cases and it was dark and horrible to be inside. The outside was beautiful in itself on the river, but all the seats had bird poo on them.
One to avoid, especially as there's a lot better accommodation very nearby where we happily moved to the next day for about the same price!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank winterangel48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

I have stayed in many lodges. They are never stellar to say the least. This place was awful. Our room smelled like a latrine, I think because of the well. The AC was in the bathroom and a wall unit, which was EXTREMELY loud. The floors creaked, the showerhead was a foot below my head (I'm 5 ft 10 in). The breakfast was hardly anything. If I paid a small dollar for this fine, but at over 150 a night this is just taking advantage of location. Other lodges in other parks were not nearly this bad, after seeing most of them this the worst we have had. You also have to prepay all of it. So be sure you want to risk it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luv4bunnies79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

We were looking for a place closer to the park. There aren't many choices if you go with small kids.This one was OK with kids, so We stayed here! The reviews we read were really disappointing...but the hotel wasn't tht bad. It was clean. But there were some maintenance problems..The floor creaks...kindda spooky at night! Adjusting the shower to the right temperature was tricky. The heater( temp. Were in 50s tht day) was working fine, but cover kept on falling down.the TV didn't had many channels, we didn't had problem with tht! It was good to keep kids away from it! The breakfast included cereal, bread, donuts, canned fruits etc. The most annoying part was the Internet. At the time of online reservation it said 'free wi-fi', but the front desk lady was asking $5 per day! After an argument we got a free wifi, which was ' limited to light surfing only'! The location is really good. There is a river in the back of the motel, tht gives the real peaceful effect. We spent the evening we checked-in on the river bank. So overall stay was good!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1krr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno,Ca
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

$25 cancellation policy - even if you cancel within 5 minutes of your initial reservation !!! Unless you know absolutely for sure that you will be able to keep your reservation...don't use the internet to reserve at this Inn. AND ...Although the address is "Groveland, Ca", the inn is 13 miles away from the sights and sounds of Charming Groveland (not the walking distance one hopes for).

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank 51Rebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
8.6 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
14.3 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,935 reviews
6.8 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#2 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,633 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#2 of 7 in Groveland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
3.1 mi away
Yosemite Westgate Lodge
Yosemite Westgate Lodge
#4 of 7 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Riverside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Riverside Inn

Property: Yosemite Riverside Inn
Address: 11399 Cherry Lake Road, Groveland, CA 95321
Location: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Yosemite Riverside Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Yosemite Riverside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Riverside Hotel Groveland
Hotel Yosemite Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing