We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad room, rude service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Yosemite Riverside Inn
Ranked #6 of 6 Groveland B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 20, 2011

This was the worst room we had on our entire vacation and we paid more than almost any other location. The room was very small, not clean, the tv was tiny and could only be seen at an angle on the bed. There was no complimentary breakfast, not even coffee, and the last straw was being asked to pay extra for wi-fi service. The person behind the counter was less than friendly and had little interest in our concerns. Drive a few extra miles beyond the park and find another place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 164 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2011

We booked it before we read the reviews and went in with a open mind. If you are looking for a 5 star,this is not it but it was clean and comfortable. The service was fine the breakfast was a little lacking cereal & muffins but it was ok. Only 11 mile from entrance to Yosemite. There is a fee if you do not do dishes I dont know if that included your coffee cup but we washed ours as so not to pay the fee. We stayed in rooms 26 & 28 which are king deluxe rooms over looking the river and it was like we had our own deck.

Room Tip: Pick a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cruisincoupleReno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

but maybe that would scare people away. We stayed in room 14 in the cabin closest to the road. Bathroom was scary. Sink had huge chips and rust spots. Water smells like sulfur. No window or vent in bathroom. The place looks like it was last remodeled in 1961. Walls are thin. Door hinges squeaked like a haunted house. They did not even empty the trash after the first night. All they did was make the bed and supply very old coffee packs. No cell phone service so no GPS so we could not find it. Had to call from the Pizza Factory in Groveland. Thanks P.F.!!!! The inn is NOT in Groveland. It is close to Buck Meadows which is between the park and Groveland. The river is nice and the grounds are OK. If not for the proximity to the park, would not stay here. They should put an info binder in the room since there is no phone. Not worth the $100 per night we paid but will do in a pinch.

Room Tip: avoid #14. Ask for the wi-fi passcode when you check in. Don't rely on your cell phone's gps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Will P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Don't bring too much luggage cause its a bit of a walk from the car. Not to mention the alot of the dresser drawers have bedding in them. No fan or window in the bathroom, light bulbs missing and no water pressure. They really should have a fan or window than maybe the wallpaper wouldn't be pealing. Internet, if you're lucky and breakfast, they mean continental plus cereal. If you want decaf, you're out of luck and don't expect real juice. We didn't bother. Oh and to top it off after Oct 1 there isn't even that, they don't tell you that, you read it on the door. As someone else said its walls between you and the bears and a bed but way to much money for that. We had a deluxe river view, king bed, mini frig and microwave. More like a creek view, There's a folded up cot, I wonder where they put it up. Nothing around so bring your own food. At least the mini tv had plugs so we could watch our dvds. My husband won't let me forget picking this one for a long time. Oh well we live and learn, at least Yosemite was awesome.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gottaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Don't be put off by the bad reviews here, but, if you are looking for a chain hotel/motel experience with those types of services, this is not the place for you. Think of this place as high-end camping, secluded camping with a bed and running water, and actual walls between you and the bears. That said, this little spot is in close proximity to the park entrance, and comes with its own private river, hard to beat that. Cabin 9 was our spot, and is indeed a cabin, NOT a 4 star hotel. Room was pretty clean, but worn. Evidence of mold in shower corners, it is probably due for replacement soon. Other bathroom fixtures were pretty new and in good condition. The one caveat I will echo here from other reviews is the decidedly odd notice above the sink that Housekeeping will not be washing your dishes without an extra fee added to your bill. Not sanitary, IMHO, to depend on some yahoo like me to wash your dishes, so if you stay, be sure and wash all the dishes you plan to use yourself first. Bed was decently comfy, water was nice and hot, and the fridge was ice cold (don't set it higher than about a 2 or all your stuff will freeze). We saw a bob cat across the river from our swing, and heard there were mountain lions in the woods above the property. We were out in the swing on the river every morning and every evening, it was delightful. We seldom saw any people other than Mike, the caretaker. Mike is a character, part of the charm of the place. No one used the picnic tables or outdoor grills during our entire week long stay. Probably a different story in the midst of summer, but in mid September, we had lots of space to ourselves. There is a price to be paid for the excellent location so near the park, but we are SO glad we paid a little extra and did not have to deal with a tent in Curry Village. Oh, one more thing, the wireless internet is nearly non existent. We were there for several days and I was able to get on the connection exactly once for about 3 minutes. No cell service, either. But, isn't that one reason to visit Yosemite, to disconnect? If you want a rustic cabin on the river, this is your spot. If you want the Hilton, keep looking.

Room Tip: Cabin 9 is closest to the river with a mini kitchen. The fridge works really well, which is not my t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nancydHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

If you are willing to adapt then this inn is just great, at 10 minutes from the west entrance of yosemite national park, reasonable rooms (which could use some new sheets and blankets) and kind and helpful owners. We booked 4 nights, but the room has been cleaned only once because we asked for it. Only the beds were made very superficially during the first 3 days. Breakfast was quite ok, but all in all too costly for what we got.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Pros: close to Yosemite; beautiful location on middle fork of Tuolumne river; and BBQ and picnic area outside rooms along river..
Cons: 5 drawer dresser had only one operable drawer; housekeeping staff is terrible; bed really uncomfortable; picnic area, next to window above bed, used until well after 11 each night by guests; and, continental breakfast not served until 7:30 am, which means if you follow recommendation to get into the park early in the day you miss it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomscot2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
6.8 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#2 of 7 in Groveland
527 reviews
8.6 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
14.3 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,899 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#3 of 7 in Groveland
824 reviews
24.2 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Riverside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Riverside Inn

Address: 11399 Cherry Lake Road, Groveland, CA 95321
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Groveland
Price Range: $152 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Yosemite Riverside Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Yosemite Riverside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Riverside Hotel Groveland
Hotel Yosemite Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing