We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The web site should give more details...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yosemite Riverside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Yosemite Riverside Inn
Ranked #6 of 6 Groveland B&B and Inns
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The web site should give more details...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

but maybe that would scare people away. We stayed in room 14 in the cabin closest to the road. Bathroom was scary. Sink had huge chips and rust spots. Water smells like sulfur. No window or vent in bathroom. The place looks like it was last remodeled in 1961. Walls are thin. Door hinges squeaked like a haunted house. They did not even empty the trash after the first night. All they did was make the bed and supply very old coffee packs. No cell phone service so no GPS so we could not find it. Had to call from the Pizza Factory in Groveland. Thanks P.F.!!!! The inn is NOT in Groveland. It is close to Buck Meadows which is between the park and Groveland. The river is nice and the grounds are OK. If not for the proximity to the park, would not stay here. They should put an info binder in the room since there is no phone. Not worth the $100 per night we paid but will do in a pinch.

Room Tip: avoid #14. Ask for the wi-fi passcode when you check in. Don't rely on your cell phone's gps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    25
    34
    30
    41
See reviews for
46
60
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yucca Valley, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

Don't bring too much luggage cause its a bit of a walk from the car. Not to mention the alot of the dresser drawers have bedding in them. No fan or window in the bathroom, light bulbs missing and no water pressure. They really should have a fan or window than maybe the wallpaper wouldn't be pealing. Internet, if you're lucky and breakfast, they mean continental plus cereal. If you want decaf, you're out of luck and don't expect real juice. We didn't bother. Oh and to top it off after Oct 1 there isn't even that, they don't tell you that, you read it on the door. As someone else said its walls between you and the bears and a bed but way to much money for that. We had a deluxe river view, king bed, mini frig and microwave. More like a creek view, There's a folded up cot, I wonder where they put it up. Nothing around so bring your own food. At least the mini tv had plugs so we could watch our dvds. My husband won't let me forget picking this one for a long time. Oh well we live and learn, at least Yosemite was awesome.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gottaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Groveland hotels

Houston
Level Contributor
120 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

Don't be put off by the bad reviews here, but, if you are looking for a chain hotel/motel experience with those types of services, this is not the place for you. Think of this place as high-end camping, secluded camping with a bed and running water, and actual walls between you and the bears. That said, this little spot is in close proximity to the park entrance, and comes with its own private river, hard to beat that. Cabin 9 was our spot, and is indeed a cabin, NOT a 4 star hotel. Room was pretty clean, but worn. Evidence of mold in shower corners, it is probably due for replacement soon. Other bathroom fixtures were pretty new and in good condition. The one caveat I will echo here from other reviews is the decidedly odd notice above the sink that Housekeeping will not be washing your dishes without an extra fee added to your bill. Not sanitary, IMHO, to depend on some yahoo like me to wash your dishes, so if you stay, be sure and wash all the dishes you plan to use yourself first. Bed was decently comfy, water was nice and hot, and the fridge was ice cold (don't set it higher than about a 2 or all your stuff will freeze). We saw a bob cat across the river from our swing, and heard there were mountain lions in the woods above the property. We were out in the swing on the river every morning and every evening, it was delightful. We seldom saw any people other than Mike, the caretaker. Mike is a character, part of the charm of the place. No one used the picnic tables or outdoor grills during our entire week long stay. Probably a different story in the midst of summer, but in mid September, we had lots of space to ourselves. There is a price to be paid for the excellent location so near the park, but we are SO glad we paid a little extra and did not have to deal with a tent in Curry Village. Oh, one more thing, the wireless internet is nearly non existent. We were there for several days and I was able to get on the connection exactly once for about 3 minutes. No cell service, either. But, isn't that one reason to visit Yosemite, to disconnect? If you want a rustic cabin on the river, this is your spot. If you want the Hilton, keep looking.

Room Tip: Cabin 9 is closest to the river with a mini kitchen. The fridge works really well, which is not my t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nancydHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

If you are willing to adapt then this inn is just great, at 10 minutes from the west entrance of yosemite national park, reasonable rooms (which could use some new sheets and blankets) and kind and helpful owners. We booked 4 nights, but the room has been cleaned only once because we asked for it. Only the beds were made very superficially during the first 3 days. Breakfast was quite ok, but all in all too costly for what we got.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

Pros: close to Yosemite; beautiful location on middle fork of Tuolumne river; and BBQ and picnic area outside rooms along river..
Cons: 5 drawer dresser had only one operable drawer; housekeeping staff is terrible; bed really uncomfortable; picnic area, next to window above bed, used until well after 11 each night by guests; and, continental breakfast not served until 7:30 am, which means if you follow recommendation to get into the park early in the day you miss it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tomscot2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

Our stay at this inn was not one of our fonder memories of our long awaited 10 day California adventure.
The room we were in had a terrible smell and someone attempted to take care of it by plugging in an air fresherner that only made it worst.
We eventually were moved to another room but it did not have the same amenities we had paid for in our first room and we were joined by NUMEROUS large black spiders! The shower/tub did not drain properly and the water gave off a very funny smell.
The grounds were nice but the hospitality was lacking. The cost of the room was far too much for what we ended up getting. The balnkets and decor were tattered and needed updating. Though wi-fi was advertised as an amenity, we never got it. Don't Waste your time or money to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Goingplaces48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

First - their cancelation policy is 7 days - don't be fooled that it's 24 hrs.
Our room that we reserved was rented to someone else - they didn't even call us to let us know. When we showed up, they told us.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ohgeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
8.6 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
14.3 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
6.8 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#2 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,631 reviews
24.2 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,473 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#2 of 7 in Groveland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Riverside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Riverside Inn

Property: Yosemite Riverside Inn
Address: 11399 Cherry Lake Road, Groveland, CA 95321
Location: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Yosemite Riverside Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Yosemite Riverside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Riverside Hotel Groveland
Hotel Yosemite Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing