We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Managers from hell”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Groveland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yosemite Pines RV Resort and Family Lodging
Reviewed October 1, 2013

What a traumatic experience! We decided to spend 2 nights at their Luxury Cabin with another family for the weekend. We were told that if we arrived after 5pm, the cabin would be unlocked and the key to the cabin would be left inside the cabin. However, when we arrived at 6:30pm, we found that the cabin was locked, there were no keys, and there were nobody around to help us. We tried to call the number on the check-in brochure multiple times, but only got the answering machine. It was getting dark. Everyone was hungry, tired and cold. The little kids in the group were beginning to make a fuss. It took us almost half an hour to get hold of someone on the phone. Finally, the person arrived with the key. Everybody was understandably upset about the whole situation. So I went up to the guy with the keys (turns out that he was living on site, but there was no sign on the front door telling us where to find him in case of emergency) and said; "What's going on here? We are freezing out here, this is unacceptable!" Instead of a proper explanation (or an apology for the mix up), he immediately started defending himself, saying that it was none of his business and the mistake was made by somebody else. He demanded an apology from us, which I of course refused. He then locked up the cabin again to lock the whole group out of the cabin once more! By then the temperature has dropped further, where are we going to find place to stay at this hour? Considering that we were a big group and the little children in the group won't be able to take all the hassle of having to find alternative places to stay, I had to apologize to him on the spot. Still he was fuming and refused to let us have the key. He told us that the woman who messed up was also on site, and we should go speak to her instead. This woman turned out to be his wife. The couple are the managers for the "resort" and they insisted that it was not their fault that we were locked out, because it was their receptionist who forgot to put our paper into a certain folder. When I reminded him that since he's the boss, he should take responsibility for his employees mistakes, he angrily walked off again. Luckily, the wife was more reasonable. She let us have the cabin back and offered a free stay in the future (which we are not going to use). Our whole ordeal was witnessed by another group staying at a neighboring cabin. They were felt angry for us and were about to call for the cops. Had this incident involved someone other than a mom with 2 young kids, imagine a young man with a hot temper, the situation could have easily gotten out of hand. Yosemite Pines is managed by the company Team RV. I tried to call them but have not been able to get a response so far. We will never recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Shannon X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pcroce, Guest Relations Manager at Yosemite Pines RV Resort and Family Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

First we would like to apologize that you went through this experience. The only reason the manger did not open the door for your group was because you did not have your reservation conformation. You had accidently left it in the office when you tried to check in early that day. On behalf of the company, we are terribly sorry that this happen. But, we do confirm all reservation for the safety of our guests.
The after hour’s emergency phone number is posted above pay phone and the on-site manager’s residence is marked on map by front door with Private Residence. We did not think this was an issue since the gentleman with you called the after hour’s phone number using the pay phone in front of office.
Again we apologize and hope that you were able to enjoy your accommodation once you were in the unit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 311 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

Location: near enough to Yosemite to spend a great day in the park. Indeed, close enough that we drove through Yosemite Park on Tioga Pass all the way to Bodie State Historic Park on the Eastern side of the Sierras and made it back in time for supper.

Cabin: We got the groupon for $89 for two nights, which was a great value. But not sure the standard cabin at the usual rate would be worth it. It was tight in there, at less than 200 square feet for the entire cabin! Was wondering if the RV's around us were in more spacious digs than ours. And the use of space wasn't the most effective--the twin bunk bed should have been a Murphy style bed. We loved the soap and toiletries, though!

Concerns for safety: So the staff mentions that they leave for the night at 7 pm. No one was around to enforce the no-campfires rule (remember the Rim Fire?) or help out in an emergency. I saw another campsite burning a wood fire, and was woken up several times in the middle of the night by other campers ignoring the quiet time rule. According to their pamphlet, Yosemite Pines suggests you call 911 in an emergency. But there is no cell phone coverage in the camp, no landline, and no staff on location after hours. I wonder if the local fire officials are aware of this dangerous practice.

Boo on this: They advertise as dog-friendly, but although they didn't post any signs, no dogs are allowed with you when you go into the office to register. Instead, they post a sour-looking employee to turn doggies away at the door!

Double boo on this: I was looking for weeks at the lovely pictures of the swimming pool at the resort, and when we visited, the weather was in the high 70's, perfect for relaxing by the pool. But on arrival the pool area was locked up; the staff said because the water was cold. Turned away in my swimming suit. :-*(

Room Tip: get the largest cabin you can afford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank badcatholicgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Really enjoyed staying in their cabin. Was clean, well-stocked and well-maintained. Nice nature trail to hike. Convenient to Yosemite, too. Wi-Fi didn't exactly work at our cabin but it was actually peaceful to be unplugged for a couple days.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKEAmyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

First point to make is that this place is not really anywhere near Yosemite valley. On the plus side the local bus - the YART - stops right outside - but takes an hour and a half to get to the park. Having said that this is a nice location and good for RVs with full hook-ups and good facilities. Friendly staff and other residents make for a pleasant stay. A small shop with very limited supplies and a small cafe do add to the experience.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Jonathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We rented a cozy cabin for a few days and loved it. The place is five minutes outside of Groveland and about a half an hour away from the North gate of Yosemite. The facility had a small general store, a deli, swimming pool, petting zoo, Friday & Saturday Night hayrides and it is dog friendly. The staff is very friendly and all of the guests were kind & respectful. This is a great place to camp/RV. My only suggestion is for the place to plant more trees, for more privacy & to help with the summer dust.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed for only one night, but we're already planning our return for a longer stay. The staff is friendly and helpful. The facility is quaint and what you'd expect for a mountain lodging. We stayed at a deluxe cabin which had just enough room for our family of 6. The kids loved the playground and the animals in the little petting zoo. The only negative thing we experienced was the overwhelming sewer smell when down by the playground/pool area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amclean123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed here on a group tour in 2011 whilst visiting Yosemite. We were lucky to stay in a 'Yurt', which was a highlight of our trip. It has basic facilities, but was very comfortable and it was an enjoyable stay. It was cold at night despite stay mid-winter, so pack warm clothes and get a fire crackling after dark! It was so much fun - I'd love to bring my kids back here one day!

Room Tip: Stay in a Yurt for a different and highly enjoyable experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hoppy912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
18.7 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
2.1 mi away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#3 of 7 in Groveland
827 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Groveland Hotel
The Groveland Hotel
#5 of 7 in Groveland
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#2 of 7 in Groveland
553 reviews
21.9 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,201 reviews
13.7 mi away
Yosemite Lakes RV Resort
Yosemite Lakes RV Resort
#1 of 15 in Groveland
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Pines RV Resort and Family Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Pines RV Resort and Family Lodging

Address: 20450 Old Highway 120, Groveland, CA 95321-9794
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Groveland
Price Range: $18 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 22 miles from the Yosemite National Park western entrance, Yosemite Pines Resort offers guests lodging options of many types. Whether you're looking for Yosemite cabins, yurts, Classic and Retro Trailers, tent camping or RV sites, we have what you need at affordable prices. Additionally, our guests enjoy our on-site swimming pool, volleyball and bocce ball courts, Petting Farm, Fitness Trail, children's playground and the staff planned summer activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yosemite Pines Rv Resort And Family Lodging Hotel Groveland
Yosemite Pine Rv Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing