We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Groveland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunset Inn Yosemite Vacation Cabins
Reviewed April 10, 2008

Wonderful cabin. Nicely appointed and furnished. I stayed at the Larkspur cabin. Beautiful surroundings. Fully equiped kitchen, but no microwave. Lauren and Bill are very friendly, wonderful people. The cabin is very near the main house. You are essentially sharing the same grounds with everyone. I really liked the way the cabins are much removed from Hwy 120 so you don't hear cars and the fact that there is no tv or radio to spoil the quiet. Highly recommended but don't go if you want a cabin in its own private space.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank RickLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
There are newer reviews for Sunset Inn Yosemite Vacation Cabins
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 128 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2007

This is a nice place to stay and get away from it all. Fully equipped, very clean self catering cabins in excellent condition.

It's a bit like staying in somebody's yard, but the place has a homely character with friendly and helpful owners... and a few teddies if you feel lonely! :)

Very close to Yosemite. Actually, you can't get much closer. It's a few miles away from dining options if you don't feel like cooking - but this is not a problem at all.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JDxtra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2007

We've been at this lovely place last year. The rooms are clean, the kitchen big enough for two persons and the bathroom was also good.
"Our" Sugar Pine Cabin is the best place to relax: No TV, no radio or internet - just real nature.
And the best: Sunset Inn is just a stone's throw away from Yosemite.
We'll come back in october this year.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JensJKrueger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2006

We spent 2 nights at the Sunset Inn with our 17 month old...wished we were there longer :)

Great cabin with large kitchen and bathroom (no tub, only a large shower).

Hosts were very helpful and there was lots of local literature in the room, as well as games, cards, and books.

Deck out front, perfect for breakfast and dinner!!

BE SURE TO BRING FOOD...little market is 20 miles away (you can purchase eggs from the hosts...yummy!!)

We plan on returning with friends and renting out multiple cabins....great place to escape the craziness of the yosemite village in the summer and close to the hetch hetchy entrance.

There is a swing in the meadow and a picnic table out there as well :)

Highly recomended!!!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CaLind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2005

This is a perfect place to stay near Yosemite, right next to the park but still reasonably priced and very nice. We stayed in the Larkspur cabin, which was great, but possibly not as "cabin like" as we expected - more plywood than logs. Still, when we got the excellent fire going (wood provided!) it was very cosy. Amenities are excellent too, with bathroom and cooking facilities in the cabin. The owners are really friendly and very helpful. Getting all the details with loads of useful information sent through the post after booking online was a very nice touch.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scousewegian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 16, 2006

Sunset Inn is a small, family run business. We are pleased to provide our guest with a clean, cozy, comfortable cabin, in a unique setting, where you can truly get away from it all, while being on the doorstep of Yosemite National Park. We value comments from our guests which help us to provide the ideal lodging experience.
The above TripAdvisor Member from Oslo, Norway offered a most useful observation: “We stayed in the Larkspur cabin, which was great, but possibly not as "cabin like" as we expected - more plywood than logs."
We really appreciate your candid comment, and have consequently remodeled this cabin with beautiful knotty pine and cedar, highlighted with additional lighting. We think you will love the upgrade.
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Lauren Nickell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2004

Stayed at Sugar Pine Cabin, September - can only say how beautiful it was. Everything you need is provided for. Lauren (didn't get to meet Bill)- the owner is lovely and everybody has to meet the dog! Yosemite is awesome and you are well based to get there! The rangers and park people are so helpful too.

  • Stayed: September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oztrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2004

We spent an all too short couple of nights here in July staying in the Meadow Lark Cabin. Having been unable to secure suitable accommodation in Yosemite itself we looked to the outskirts of the park and were delighted with our choice. In a secluded spot a few minutes drive from the park entrance, the Sunset Inn provides a perfect base for your visit to Yosemite. After a days hiking we returned to our cabin for an evening meal and then spent a relaxing evening on the veranda watching the sunset. When visiting somewhere as beautiful as Yosemite the experience can only be enhanced by staying in somewhere with character like the cabins at Sunset Inn - I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MichaelC1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
0.9 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
500 reviews
5.1 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
16.9 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,148 reviews
18.1 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,622 reviews
18.4 mi away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#2 of 7 in Groveland
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Inn Yosemite Vacation Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn Yosemite Vacation Cabins

Address: 33569 Hardin Flat Rd, Groveland, CA 95321-9607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Groveland
Price Range: $160 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Inn is a small, family owned and operated lodging. Three beautiful, cozy cabins offer king or queen beds, equipped kitchens, private bathrooms, wood burning stoves and sun porches. Located just 2 miles from Yosemite National Park, in a peaceful mountain setting, surrounded by huge aromatic pines, on the edge of a lovely private meadow. A stay at Sunset Inn is a true mountain getaway. We also offer a fabulous vacation home nearby, privately situated on the banks of the Tuolumne River, able to accommodate up to 6 people. We invite you to visit and enjoy this unique experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Groveland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing