We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quietness w/ great location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Groveland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunset Inn Yosemite Vacation Cabins
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quietness w/ great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the sunset inn (larksburg cabin) in mid June. It was maybe a 10 min easy drive to the park entrance. Lauren personally greeted us upon arrival. Our cabin had a fully stocked kitchen and was so peaceful and quiet!!! We would recommend this place and feel assured you will find it to be a great place to get away from the crowds. **Just one warning the address is groveland but with lauren and bills awesome directions they prevented us from going all the way into groveland and having to turn around and come back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kjaynebt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    20
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
69
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

It's not easy to find a comfortable spot which can accommodate two boys (who WON'T share a bed) and their mom (who, for obvious reasons, would prefer a separate room) without paying a fortune. The Meadow Lark cabin at Sunset Inn is a perfect answer. It was comfortable, perfect for our requirements and well located. The kitchen was surprisingly well appointed (high quality pots and pans, everything you could possibly need). Do not expect high luxury, but DO expect a warm greeting, excellent recommendations on what to see and do, a perfectly peaceful location and, if you're lucky, some fresh eggs from the owners' hens!

One warning: do heed the owners' advice on where to buy groceries. You really do not want to arrive at the park with no food - grocery shopping in Yosemite valley is not how you want to spend your precious holiday time (and money!).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

Wonderful place in the woods far from the crowds in the park. Lauren and Bill were more than helpful in every way and yet were not intrusive even though they live on the property. We stayed in Larkspur which was so very comfortable with everything we needed and more. Bill did the work himself and it is really warm and inviting. The bed was comfortable, the hot water was plentiful and the kitchen had everything we needed. Be forewarned, the frig is a mini fridge, so don't over buy. There was a charcoal grill on the stone patio where we cooked our dinner 2 nights. There is a little porch with a table, but the bugs were out in force and we weren't able to eat outside.

We were celebrating our 40th anniversary and Lauren had written a thoughtful card and left it inside for us. I arranged for her to bake a chocolate cake and she decorated it with fresh pansies. It was REALLY good. She also offered us eggs, but we had bought them in town. The chickens and their coop just added to the country feel of the place.

Lauren gave us great advice about where to spend our limited time and we were grateful for her hints. I was shocked at how remote the cabin was and yet so close and easy to get to the entrance to the park. The drive back to the cabin every evening was wonderful. The huge trees and wildflowers along the way were a great welcome back after a long day hiking.

The only way to make this property any more perfect would be for Bill to find an out of the way place for a lot of his workshop "overflow". I found this distracting from the
"cabin in the woods" feel. I understand that they live and work on the property, but the workshop area is directly across from Larkspur and it kind of messed with the view.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhonda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

If you want to be away from the crowds of Yosemite and have a quiet relaxing place to lay your head after a full day of navigating through the park, this is THE place to be without a doubt. The cabins are rustic but clean as well as fully stocked with what you would need to cook your own meals, as we happily did. These are studio cabins so that does mean sharing the space with a refrigerator that goes off on and off all night. This is NOT at all a deal breaker but when you are in a state of tranquility, it just seems to stand out. This is not a resort, this is a private property where a family goes about their daily activites. Should we ever come back this way, we would definitely return to stay here.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pofthenord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

If you want to try something different from those name brand hotel, if you want to feel like home without actually being at home, this is the perfect place. I don't want to repeat what other reviewers already said. Just stay there and feel it by yourself.

The Place is hiden deep in the wood, 2 miles from west entrance of the Park. You won't be able to find it on Hwy 120. Make sure to print out a location map, instead of rely on GPS, which could be misleading (as I experienced). Prepare enough foods for the time of your stay, no need to bring any kitchenware. By the end of your vacation, you will come out of the wood, refreshed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank biti2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

Since my friend from London visited us, we booked Sunset Inn for Yosemite weekend trip.
Sunset Inn was 2.5 hours drive from East Bay. We booked one night before (fortunately one cabin was opened) but confirmation and everything went smooth.
Sunset Inn was indeed a special place! So peaceful and away from it all. All the reviewers were right, the cabin was super comfortable.
Since I told we had 4 years old daughter, Lauren also put cute teddies on each bed.
When we enter the cabin, it looked as though we got lost in the woods and found Teddies' house :-) So cute!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 0_sunshine_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

We booked our five night stay at Sunset Inn on the recommendation of our daughter who stayed there four years ago as part of her honeymoon trip. The advice was excellent - Sunset Inn is an absolutely idyllic valley, only two miles outside the entrance to Yosemite.
The booking process was very easy and the information that the owners, Lauren and Bill, sent us was so useful. The directions were excellent and the advice about shopping was particularly invaluable and meant that we picked up our provisions for the entire stay on the way.
Sugar Pine Cabin was so comfortable and well equipped that we enjoyed cooking our meals and spending cosy evenings in the cabin. Though it was cold and snowy during our stay, we were lovely and warm with the very efficient (and very easy to light) wood-burning stove.
Lauren and Bill were so kind and helpful and gave us lots of suggestions about hiking trails and places to see. We were particularly grateful for their recommendation to visit Hetch Hetchy Valley, where we spent a truly memorable day.
Sunset Inn is a very special place, peaceful calm and very beautiful, and it provides a wonderful base from which to explore the wonders of Yosemite.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claret54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
5.1 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
0.9 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
10.5 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#2 of 7 in Groveland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
11.6 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,653 reviews
8.9 mi away
Yosemite Westgate Lodge
Yosemite Westgate Lodge
#4 of 7 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Inn Yosemite Vacation Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn Yosemite Vacation Cabins

Property: Sunset Inn Yosemite Vacation Cabins
Address: 33569 Hardin Flat Rd, Groveland, CA 95321-9607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Inn is a small, family owned and operated lodging. Three beautiful, cozy cabins offer king or queen beds, equipped kitchens, private bathrooms, wood burning stoves and sun porches. Located just 2 miles from Yosemite National Park, in a peaceful mountain setting, surrounded by huge aromatic pines, on the edge of a lovely private meadow. A stay at Sunset Inn is a true mountain getaway. We also offer a fabulous vacation home nearby, privately situated on the banks of the Tuolumne River, able to accommodate up to 6 people. We invite you to visit and enjoy this unique experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Groveland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing