We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Love this place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Charlotte

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Charlotte
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Groveland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We have stayed at the Hotel Charlotte three times on our annual trips to Yosemite. We were very pleasantly surprised by all the changes the new owners Doug & Jenn have made. The rooms are being upgraded one by one. On this last trip, even though it wasn't newly renovated, our room was very comfortable. The lobby has wonderful deep couches that invite you to sink in and relax. We visited on Halloween night and had a blast watching the annual kids' costume parade and trick-or-treating through the main street while we sipped cocktails and wine at the newly renovated bar. As someone else mentioned, the bar has great atmosphere and all the locals we met and talked to that night were very friendly! Love this place!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    234
    52
    31
    10
See reviews for
153
351
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I stayed here the night before travelling into Yosemite National Park. The staff were really friendly, the room was very nice. I stayed in one of the smaller rooms, but it was clean and well maintained. Breakfast was good, with hot options as well as the usual breads, cereals, etc...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 84haz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caldwell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Thanks to the government shutdown and uncertain reservations in Yosemite we needed to find somewhere to stay outside of the park. Our helpful B&B hosts in Mariposa told us the area was full of “old saloon towns” and that we might have luck in Groveland. We discovered Hotel Charlotte on an internet search. Linda? was friendly and sympathetic when we called to inquire about availability and held a room for us. The main street of Oakdale is about two blocks long and does have a saloon look to it. It also boasts the oldest Saloon in the state of California (see review). Friendly owners Jenn & Doug were there when we checked-in. They encouraged us to join the restaurant and while we would have enjoyed the menu (local, organic) we were starving at 4pm and couldn’t wait for the restaurant to open. (With everything closed in Yosemite we never had lunch.) Our room was pleasant and the bed comfortable. The lobby and bistro have a relaxed, rustic, hip vibe. Breakfast included a nice selection of eggs, cereal, yogurt, etc. along with some great coffee from Firefall Coffee. It was so good in fact that we went across the street and bought some to bring home. The guy (GM?) who handled breakfast was very upbeat, enthusiastic and clearly happy to be there. Jenn and Doug are doing a nice job of creating a homey, mountain-y feel without all the usual frilly Victorian décor. We love that they are offering something different in both style and menu.

Room Tip: Our room was towards the back of the hotel and may have been quieter than those up front and closer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank a_couple_from
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for a night after a long drive from San Francisco. A very warm welcome and great atmosphere in the hotel bar. Disappointed that we had already eaten as the dinner menu looked great. Would recommend for a stay before/after a long day in Yosemite.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MattMan79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Friendly check-in, reasonable price. Nice free extras (Internet, US phone calls). Room #11 was smaller than many NYC hotel rooms. Mattress very comfy but pillows pancake flat and hard. Outdated but clean furnishings. Breakfast was better than you average continental but not fancy or interesting at all. Good eggs, average pancakes made from a mix, yogurt with no mix-ins, good oj, average coffee. Overall I had no major gripes but also no major praise.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ksted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

After a long day at Yosemite, all you want is nice place to relax and feel at home. And this is exactly what this gem of a hotel offers up.

The place is beautifully and tastefully done up. The room we stayed in (number 7) is really cosy and pretty. Much nicer looking than the photos you see here.

The staff is extremely attentive and friendly. The owner was always around making sure everything is running smoothly.

The bar is good and both their local IPA beer and the house red were really nice.

Breakfast is simple but good.

The star of the show is the restaurant. Dinner was of a different league. I would dare to say it was Michelin star quality. Mexican white shrimp and the Tamales were incredible.

If you are visiting Yosemite don't even think about it too long. Just stay here and you won't regret it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Vargian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My wife and I spent one night there when we visited Yosemite. The place is quiet. Both the bedroom and the bathroom are clean. The breakfast is nice. The overall experience is more like living at home rather than in a hotel. The only concern is the wooden floor in the bathroom. This makes us really careful to avoid wetting the floor seriously.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kelephant9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
0.1 mi away
The Groveland Hotel
The Groveland Hotel
#3 of 6 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 stars 538 reviews
20.5 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
24.1 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 stars 1,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
All Seasons Groveland Inn B&B
11.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
9.4 mi away
Yosemite Westgate Lodge
Yosemite Westgate Lodge
#4 of 6 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 stars 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Charlotte

Property: Hotel Charlotte
Address: 18736 Main St, PO Box 787, Groveland, CA 95321-9444
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Charlotte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience a wonderful escape at the Hotel Charlotte, located at the gateway to Yosemite. Enjoy the rustic quirks of a charming, historic boutique hotel coupled with a wonderfully inviting ambiance and stellar service that will leave you wanting more.At the Hotel Charlotte, you'll be welcomed by friendly, knowledgable staff who will help you settle in to one of our 10 hotel rooms or 6 guest houses. Whether you want to experience the natural wonders of the surrounding area and Yosemite, have a romantic getaway, or enjoy a stay in an authentic old west hotel, you will find what you are looking for at the Hotel Charlotte. The owners, Doug and Jenn Edwards, wanted to retain the gold rush feel of the hotel while at the same time modernizing and simplifying. The sage green walls, the throwback Edison lightbulbs, the oversized, brown velvet sofas - invite guests to step into a contemporary old west. The look of the hotel also carries into the adjoining restaurant, the Charlotte Bistro & Bar. Under the direction of Chef Doug Edwards, the restaurant features locally grown produce and innovative Modern American fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlotte Hotel Groveland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing