We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Just Fine” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Charlotte

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Charlotte
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Groveland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just Fine”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Friendly check-in, reasonable price. Nice free extras (Internet, US phone calls). Room #11 was smaller than many NYC hotel rooms. Mattress very comfy but pillows pancake flat and hard. Outdated but clean furnishings. Breakfast was better than you average continental but not fancy or interesting at all. Good eggs, average pancakes made from a mix, yogurt with no mix-ins, good oj, average coffee. Overall I had no major gripes but also no major praise.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ksted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    248
    61
    32
    10
See reviews for
163
378
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

After a long day at Yosemite, all you want is nice place to relax and feel at home. And this is exactly what this gem of a hotel offers up.

The place is beautifully and tastefully done up. The room we stayed in (number 7) is really cosy and pretty. Much nicer looking than the photos you see here.

The staff is extremely attentive and friendly. The owner was always around making sure everything is running smoothly.

The bar is good and both their local IPA beer and the house red were really nice.

Breakfast is simple but good.

The star of the show is the restaurant. Dinner was of a different league. I would dare to say it was Michelin star quality. Mexican white shrimp and the Tamales were incredible.

If you are visiting Yosemite don't even think about it too long. Just stay here and you won't regret it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Vargian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

My wife and I spent one night there when we visited Yosemite. The place is quiet. Both the bedroom and the bathroom are clean. The breakfast is nice. The overall experience is more like living at home rather than in a hotel. The only concern is the wooden floor in the bathroom. This makes us really careful to avoid wetting the floor seriously.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kelephant9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed in one of the Hotel's rental homes on the Pine Mountain resort nearby. It was a perfect base for visiting Yosemite and added a new dimension to our visit. The house was very comfortable but the resort was amazing. As soon as you drive onto the resort you see deer and it also has a great lake for swimming in as well as a swimming pool. If you are a golfer all the better as a golf course runs through the resort. It was beautiful. We stayed 2 nights and the first morning we awoke to a stag on our patio! What a beautiful sight.
Groveland itself is historic with the oldest saloon bar in California. We ate there and there was a great atmosphere and the food was good. Hotel Charlotte food was also excellent.
We are so glad that we didn't stay inside the Yosemite park as the main village seemed really overcrowded and the accommodation was expensive and not great quality. This way we were also part way for our journey back to the California coast too.
The staff were excellent and helped us to plan our journey when we left, printing off directions for us.

Room Tip: Consider staying on their Pine Mountain resort rentals rather than the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We had a great experience staying here on 10/2. It could have been a bummer of a first day because we were on our way to Yosemite but the park was closed. Fortunately staying here made it all better with a fun filled first night. Jenn and Doug are really interactive, interested, and fun hosts. The bar is a really nice area to hang out and visit with Doug who bartends. He was full of helpful information on alternative things to do since the park was shut down. We had tapas and some drinks on the upstairs porch upon arrival. The Brussels sprouts were yummy as were the deviled eggs with salmon and dates. The rooms are nicely done and the bed in room 10 was super comfy making for a good nights sleep. After dinner, we returned to the bar area for a night cap and found it filled with people because it was trivia night. Breakfast was served in the bar area and was just the right things to start the day...eggs, sausage, pancakes, yogurt, granola, cereals, juice, toast. Lots of choices. Eric cooked the breakfast and insisted because the eggs were cooked with love that's why they were so good. Their coffee is really good also! I encourage you to check this hotel out. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MadisonCassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrea Green, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
507 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

The hotel had a character which grew on you with an excellent breakfast. Some problems we had with the booking agent were dealt with promptly and efficiently . Groveland itself was very limited and virtually everything closed by 22,00- which is a challenge if just arriving then . The hotel itself could give clearer instructions on the evenings its own bar/restaurant are closed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mirada, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

The folks at this wonderful boutique hotel in Groveland welcomed me with warm hospitality. It's most definitely a fine go-to rest stop that sees many Yosemite travelers. I must have heard 4 different languages in spoken conversation in the lobby area and dining room bar at once. A very enriching experience that I look forward to becoming a regular at with each trip out to Yosemite.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aubrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
20.5 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
0.1 mi away
The Groveland Hotel
The Groveland Hotel
#4 of 6 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
24.1 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
All Seasons Groveland Inn B&B
11.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
9.4 mi away
Yosemite Westgate Lodge
Yosemite Westgate Lodge
#3 of 6 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Charlotte

Property: Hotel Charlotte
Address: 18736 Main St, PO Box 787, Groveland, CA 95321-9444
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Charlotte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience a wonderful escape at the Hotel Charlotte, located at the gateway to Yosemite. Enjoy the rustic quirks of a charming, historic boutique hotel coupled with a wonderfully inviting ambiance and stellar service that will leave you wanting more.At the Hotel Charlotte, you'll be welcomed by friendly, knowledgable staff who will help you settle in to one of our 10 hotel rooms or 6 guest houses. Whether you want to experience the natural wonders of the surrounding area and Yosemite, have a romantic getaway, or enjoy a stay in an authentic old west hotel, you will find what you are looking for at the Hotel Charlotte. The owners, Doug and Jenn Edwards, wanted to retain the gold rush feel of the hotel while at the same time modernizing and simplifying. The sage green walls, the throwback Edison lightbulbs, the oversized, brown velvet sofas - invite guests to step into a contemporary old west. The look of the hotel also carries into the adjoining restaurant, the Charlotte Bistro & Bar. Under the direction of Chef Doug Edwards, the restaurant features locally grown produce and innovative Modern American fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlotte Hotel Groveland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing