We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Well she's all you'd ever want, She's the kind they'd like to flaunt and take to dinner"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Charlotte

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Charlotte
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Groveland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“"Well she's all you'd ever want, She's the kind they'd like to flaunt and take to dinner"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

The Hotel Charlotte, well, she always knows her place. She's got style, she's got grace, this hotel (she's) a winner. The owners, Doug and Jenn Edwards, meshed the old gold rush feel of the area and 12-room inn with simple modern day conveniences, where appropriate: And it works.

This boutique hotel's storied-past pales by comparison to her heroics & irrepressible outlook of present day. "She's a lady." I experienced first-handedly, the owners, a husband and his wife, their hands outreached-to-the community, firefighters, stranded travelers, our wedding guests group, and their (the Edwards) newborn baby boy. The devastation of this end-of-summer's Yosemite Rim forest fire was everywhere. The Hotel Charlotte always some place nice to stay, "Oh what a blessing."

The look of the hotel also carries into the adjoining restaurant, the Charlotte Bistro & Bar. Here the menu reflects excellence, in choosing fresh ingredients, in considerate preparation, and in presenting delicious fare. Chef Doug Edwards, has a big-city winner in this wild-west saloon. "Well she can take what I dish out, and that's not easy, She's (they) know just what to do, and how to please me."

* Tom Jones's "She's A Lady"

Room Tip: Most of the rooms on the main floor have been upgraded/remodeled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TGDino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    249
    62
    34
    11
See reviews for
167
387
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Cod, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

My wife and I went to visit Yosemite for the first time 8/3/13...we headed there after attending a wedding at Lake Tahoe. Groveland is a quaint town close to the Northwest entrance (Rte. 120) to the park. The nostalgia of the town and this hotel were very appealing to us. The owners and all of the staff were friendly, helpful, knowledgeable of the area, and very accommodating. We stayed in one of the deluxe suites (which was very comfortable) and had an exquisite dinner in the restaurant. All telephone calls (almost 0% cell service in or near the park), internet, and breakfast were free. I would stay there again and unquestionably recommend to all! I hope the recent fires didn't destroy too much of this beautiful area of the country...truly a slice of heaven!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BluesmanBob54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here quite unexpectedly after finding my booked hotel full of firefighters who'd been drafted in for the Yosemite fire. From the moment I walked through the door, somewhat stressed and frazzled at being stranded in the late evening with nowhere to stay, I was looked after so well. I was quickly given a room - at a great rate - and then shown to the restaurant for a delicious and very reasonably priced dinner. The two rooms I stayed in (they offered to move me to a smaller room which became available after my first night to help me save money) were very comfortable with air conditioning that worked really effectively in the 90 degree plus heat, comfy beds and beautiful bathrooms with roll top, claw foot baths. The staff have great local knowledge and were able to give me some great alternatives to my planned trip to Yosemite which was v tricky to get to because of road closures. Previous reviewers have commented on the size of the rooms, and yes, they are quite small, but how much room do you need?? This really is a little treasure, and with the roads opened post fire, is a perfect base for Yosemite. You won't find better hospitality.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonCoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here on our way from San Francisco to Yosemite. Great location and so quaint. The 2nd floor balcony was great for drinks and the front desk was super helpful giving us directions to Rainbow Pools (highly recommend). Bar was great and the breakfast filled us all up!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler1146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

During our travel across California, we were forced to stop in Groveland due to a sudden and devastating fire that made the road closed. Once there, we found this beautiful hotel with an old-West looking and asked for two rooms for the night. The owner gave us a huge guest house located near the forest, where we spend a very good night, and she even made us a 25% discount. The breakfast is included and we had it in the main room of the hotel, an elegant old-fashioned living with vintage furniture and objects from the 1920s (the hotel was built at that time). We almost regret to have spent only one night there. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vito1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montville, New Jersey
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

I have to say that I was very disappointed with our stay at Hotel Charlotte. We stayed in 2 rooms connected with private bath. The shower had leaked and therefore the bathroom was flooded. We reported the problem but since it was late, there was no one to fix the problem and the lady gave my husband a wrench. He fixed the leak and I wiped up the bathroom floor. However, after 2 more people took showers, the leak started again and the floor was all wet again and again we had to dry the floor. We did not take any more showers after that. Please note that the bathroom doors cannot be shut and some of the lights did not work (probably need new bulb). Even though we had 2 rooms, it was very cramped for 5 people. There were no drawers to put our clothes into and we had to leave everything in our suitcases. We were happy we only stayed one night. My family was very unhappy with our stay and had remarked that of the 4 hotels that we had stayed in for this vacation, this was the worse hotel. Because we had 2 rooms, of the 4 hotels, Hotel Charlotte was also the most expensive hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank bluesky125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Extremely satisfied with stay at Hotel Charlotte. My husband and I stayed here the night before going to Yosemite National Park. The hotel has a homely feel to it and the staff was extremely polite and helpful. The parking lot behind the hotel was a little hard to find because it has a narrow drive right beside the hotel, practically blends in with the old town buildings. Several places were open for dinner. Reservations were easy to make, check-in/out with no problems. We would definately recommend to anyone and will stay here again and again, if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrl2691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
20.5 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
0.1 mi away
The Groveland Hotel
The Groveland Hotel
#5 of 7 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
24.1 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
11.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
0.1 mi away
All Seasons Groveland Inn B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Charlotte

Property: Hotel Charlotte
Address: 18736 Main St, Groveland, CA 95321-9444
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Charlotte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience a wonderful escape at the Hotel Charlotte, located at the gateway to Yosemite. Enjoy the rustic quirks of a charming, historic boutique hotel coupled with a wonderfully inviting ambiance and stellar service that will leave you wanting more.At the Hotel Charlotte, you'll be welcomed by friendly, knowledgable staff who will help you settle in to one of our 10 hotel rooms or 6 guest houses. Whether you want to experience the natural wonders of the surrounding area and Yosemite, have a romantic getaway, or enjoy a stay in an authentic old west hotel, you will find what you are looking for at the Hotel Charlotte. The owners, Doug and Jenn Edwards, wanted to retain the gold rush feel of the hotel while at the same time modernizing and simplifying. The sage green walls, the throwback Edison lightbulbs, the oversized, brown velvet sofas - invite guests to step into a contemporary old west. The look of the hotel also carries into the adjoining restaurant, the Charlotte Bistro & Bar. Under the direction of Chef Doug Edwards, the restaurant features locally grown produce and innovative Modern American fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlotte Hotel Groveland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing