We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hospitality, beautiful hotel”
Review of Hotel Charlotte

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Charlotte
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Groveland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed here quite unexpectedly after finding my booked hotel full of firefighters who'd been drafted in for the Yosemite fire. From the moment I walked through the door, somewhat stressed and frazzled at being stranded in the late evening with nowhere to stay, I was looked after so well. I was quickly given a room - at a great rate - and then shown to the restaurant for a delicious and very reasonably priced dinner. The two rooms I stayed in (they offered to move me to a smaller room which became available after my first night to help me save money) were very comfortable with air conditioning that worked really effectively in the 90 degree plus heat, comfy beds and beautiful bathrooms with roll top, claw foot baths. The staff have great local knowledge and were able to give me some great alternatives to my planned trip to Yosemite which was v tricky to get to because of road closures. Previous reviewers have commented on the size of the rooms, and yes, they are quite small, but how much room do you need?? This really is a little treasure, and with the roads opened post fire, is a perfect base for Yosemite. You won't find better hospitality.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank LondonCoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (827)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

314 - 320 of 827 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here on our way from San Francisco to Yosemite. Great location and so quaint. The 2nd floor balcony was great for drinks and the front desk was super helpful giving us directions to Rainbow Pools (highly recommend). Bar was great and the breakfast filled us all up!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler1146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

During our travel across California, we were forced to stop in Groveland due to a sudden and devastating fire that made the road closed. Once there, we found this beautiful hotel with an old-West looking and asked for two rooms for the night. The owner gave us a huge guest house located near the forest, where we spend a very good night, and she even made us a 25% discount. The breakfast is included and we had it in the main room of the hotel, an elegant old-fashioned living with vintage furniture and objects from the 1920s (the hotel was built at that time). We almost regret to have spent only one night there. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vito1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I have to say that I was very disappointed with our stay at Hotel Charlotte. We stayed in 2 rooms connected with private bath. The shower had leaked and therefore the bathroom was flooded. We reported the problem but since it was late, there was no one to fix the problem and the lady gave my husband a wrench. He fixed the leak and I wiped up the bathroom floor. However, after 2 more people took showers, the leak started again and the floor was all wet again and again we had to dry the floor. We did not take any more showers after that. Please note that the bathroom doors cannot be shut and some of the lights did not work (probably need new bulb). Even though we had 2 rooms, it was very cramped for 5 people. There were no drawers to put our clothes into and we had to leave everything in our suitcases. We were happy we only stayed one night. My family was very unhappy with our stay and had remarked that of the 4 hotels that we had stayed in for this vacation, this was the worse hotel. Because we had 2 rooms, of the 4 hotels, Hotel Charlotte was also the most expensive hotel.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank bluesky125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Extremely satisfied with stay at Hotel Charlotte. My husband and I stayed here the night before going to Yosemite National Park. The hotel has a homely feel to it and the staff was extremely polite and helpful. The parking lot behind the hotel was a little hard to find because it has a narrow drive right beside the hotel, practically blends in with the old town buildings. Several places were open for dinner. Reservations were easy to make, check-in/out with no problems. We would definately recommend to anyone and will stay here again and again, if in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrl2691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights for our honeymoon, had a bottle of wine waiting for us in our room which was a nice touch. Groveland is a lovely place to stay. The iron door saloon opposite the hotel is really cool. Our room was nice, and decorated nicely. Would definately recommend staying in groveland and if you want to be close to the bar and a couple of restauants then hotel charlotte is the one for you!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had a good nights sleep and great breakfast in this old west hotel.The bed was so comfortable.This is such a neat place to stay on your way to Yosemite .Two suggestions,staff smoking outside that you have to walk by when loading car,and the dinner entrees were too spicy for our taste.Otherwise can't wait to return.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank relationships
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
20.5 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
0.1 mi away
The Groveland Hotel
The Groveland Hotel
#5 of 7 in Groveland
593 reviews
19.2 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#2 of 7 in Groveland
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
24.1 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,202 reviews
0.1 mi away
All Seasons Groveland Inn B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Charlotte

Address: 18736 Main St, Groveland, CA 95321-9444
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Groveland
Price Range: $111 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Charlotte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience a wonderful escape at the Hotel Charlotte, located at the gateway to Yosemite. Enjoy the rustic quirks of a charming, historic boutique hotel coupled with a wonderfully inviting ambiance and stellar service that will leave you wanting more.At the Hotel Charlotte, you'll be welcomed by friendly, knowledgable staff who will help you settle in to one of our 10 hotel rooms or 6 guest houses. Whether you want to experience the natural wonders of the surrounding area and Yosemite, have a romantic getaway, or enjoy a stay in an authentic old west hotel, you will find what you are looking for at the Hotel Charlotte. The owners, Doug and Jenn Edwards, wanted to retain the gold rush feel of the hotel while at the same time modernizing and simplifying. The sage green walls, the throwback Edison lightbulbs, the oversized, brown velvet sofas - invite guests to step into a contemporary old west. The look of the hotel also carries into the adjoining restaurant, the Charlotte Bistro & Bar. Under the direction of Chef Doug Edwards, the restaurant features locally grown produce and innovative Modern American fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlotte Hotel Groveland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing