We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best food in northern CA” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Charlotte

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Charlotte
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Groveland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best food in northern CA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Charlotte expecting a typical hotel stay during our trip to the Yosemite Valley and got anything but that. The owners were very engaging and the food in the restaurant was some of the best food I've ever eaten, especially the Dates and Pork Tamale. Coming from Portland I've been a bit spoiled but I was pleasantly surprised by the atmosphere and friendliness of the overall experience. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone wanting an at home experience with five star dining.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimmie7911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    249
    62
    34
    10
See reviews for
167
386
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Hotel Charlotte in Groveland offers a number of modern, clean and well fitted out condos and townhouses in a resort about a mile from the quaint old hotel. Breakfast is included in the already reasonable price. It's served at the hotel and is worth dragging your jeans on for the five minute drive to hot coffee, pancakes, eggs, bacon... You name it. Charming owners should have that new baby helping by now!

It's a 25 minute drive to the park gate, and 25 minutes more to Curry Village and the valley floor. This sounds bad, but it's as good as it gets unless you pay a very great deal to stay inside the park.

Can't recommend this place highly enough! Resort amenities available, too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We spent 3 nights in room 14. Good size room, at the back a little away from the main corridor. Nice bathroom with a double shower. Friendly and helpful staff. Live music and good food over the road at the Iron Door saloon, quick functional dining at the Mexican restaurant next door and pizza from 2 guys pizza pies also good. Easy access for Yosemite National Park. Great breakfast with plenty of choice. I would stay here again- cute hotel with a bit of history.

Would have liked tea/coffee making facilities in the room - you can ask for tea and coffee but I prefer to have the convenience of facilities in my room. Likewise no hairdryer in the bathroom - you can borrow one from reception but less convenient. Bed is very high - agree with previous comment about needing a pole to vault onto the bed!). TV very small for the size of the room.Wifi a bit flakey in this room - assume it is furthest from the router? It is very noisy -perhaps a note to clients to consider their neighbours would not go amiss.

Room Tip: Room 14 is bigger and further away from the rest of the rooms so bit quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SKrazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
136 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

This hotel is a real beauty. You just have to stay here when in the area, at least when you love some nostalgia. The new owners have outreached themselves to renovate the restaurant. It was by far the most cosy diner place I ever ate, with decent and attractive food choices more or less tapas style. Breakfast met all expectations. All hotel and bar staff were very friendly. We had the "small' room 5 some other guests complained about the size on Tripadvisor. Well, it's not a Homewood Suites' size room, but you know that in advance. As we carried six (6) suitcases and were able to manage everything in our room, I guarantee size is ok! The bathroom is just adorable.

Very clean. Large parking area in the back. Best to reach it by turning on the car wash lot, where you will find the small street leading to the parking spots behind the Charlotte.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Radarlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
77 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed 1 night in room 11.
Didn’t feel that we got value for money, you are paying extra for the wilderness/tourist location. That said it was a handy spot to stop when driving out of Yosemite to San Francisco.
Breakfast was all you could ask for – fresh English muffins and toast, pancakes, eggs, juice, tea and coffee. The best we had throughout our American trip.
Negatives:
- Small rooms with dated furniture.
- A pole vault is required to get into bed.
- Could hear people walking up and down the hall.
- Large bathroom but not the best use of space – shower was cramped, the layout could be better.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Biggie_E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed here to break up the journey from Yosemite to San Francisco. Perfect location to do this. Hotel was fine, we encountered no problems there. We had room 14 which was a good size and had an interesting double headed shower cubicle, no bath but that didn't bother us. We were right next to the back stairs so easy access to room and it was locked at 9.30 so no worries about security. Air conditioning was quiet and efficient. We didn't meet or chat with any staff other than briefly with the person who checked us in so can't comment on their friendliness or fun as other reviewers have. Didn't eat here as there was nothing on the menu that appealed to either of us, the restaurant / bar area appeared quite busy so,it seems popular. Would happily recommend.

Room Tip: We had 14, no bath but quiet, spacious and conveniently located by stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jod65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Val d'Isere, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We were looking for a nice place to have diner... We found this little piece of paradise on the road from the yosemite park... We loved it!
Traditional cuisine with a gourmet touch, great wine selection from less than 60 miles around.
Penny guided us through the choises and made us discover different dishes, all excellents! She even made me have dessert!

If you want to surprise your friends with the nice decoration and excellent food, this a place worth the detour!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fcasares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
20.5 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
0.1 mi away
The Groveland Hotel
The Groveland Hotel
#5 of 7 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
24.1 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
11.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
0.1 mi away
All Seasons Groveland Inn B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Charlotte

Property: Hotel Charlotte
Address: 18736 Main St, Groveland, CA 95321-9444
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Charlotte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience a wonderful escape at the Hotel Charlotte, located at the gateway to Yosemite. Enjoy the rustic quirks of a charming, historic boutique hotel coupled with a wonderfully inviting ambiance and stellar service that will leave you wanting more.At the Hotel Charlotte, you'll be welcomed by friendly, knowledgable staff who will help you settle in to one of our 10 hotel rooms or 6 guest houses. Whether you want to experience the natural wonders of the surrounding area and Yosemite, have a romantic getaway, or enjoy a stay in an authentic old west hotel, you will find what you are looking for at the Hotel Charlotte. The owners, Doug and Jenn Edwards, wanted to retain the gold rush feel of the hotel while at the same time modernizing and simplifying. The sage green walls, the throwback Edison lightbulbs, the oversized, brown velvet sofas - invite guests to step into a contemporary old west. The look of the hotel also carries into the adjoining restaurant, the Charlotte Bistro & Bar. Under the direction of Chef Doug Edwards, the restaurant features locally grown produce and innovative Modern American fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlotte Hotel Groveland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing