We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second visit there was as delightful as our first”
Review of Hotel Charlotte

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Charlotte
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Groveland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Last summer, we traveled to Yosemite and stayed at the Hotel Charlotte as our home base for day excursions into the national park. We were a party of 5 and stayed in their 3 bedroom condo. The condos are newer construction. The rooms were nicely decorated, clean and comfortable. The large condo had lots of room and a spacious , fully equipped kitchen and dining area.
This time, we wanted to stay in the historic hotel.
It was a lovely queen size bedroom with a bath attached. I love a bath and for the first time in my life, I was able to completely stretch out in the claw footed tub with water up to my neck. Delightful! Unexpected perks are free WiFi and free unlimited national phone service from the room's phone!
The breakfast provided again did not disappoint. Freshly made pancakes, cheese omelettes, homemade granola. Just lovely. They are in the middle of renovating their dining room and just completed a new bar.
The owners were throwing a baby shower and invited us to attend too! We enjoyed beer on tap and lovely cakes.
This is a definitely a must stop on anyone's trip through Yosemite country.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CW B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (829)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

362 - 368 of 829 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Hotel Charlotte is a lovely old and well cared for hotel and is just about to finish renovations. The town is small and quaint. The owners are really friendly and the hotel beautiful inside. My boyfriend and I booked into a twin room as it was the only one left with a clawfoot bathtub to soak in after a few days of lots of walking. I think our room hadn't been renovated yet but was clean and comfy and just fine for us but the photos I've seen of the renovated rooms look great. Breakfast buffet was included and really tasty. Bistro bar was still being renovated whilst we were there but never had any disturbances from any renovations .owner recommended Mexican or the iron door saloon grill for food and we had amazing burgers at the saloon bar for not much money. Iron door saloon full of locals for a real small town America experience.
I would certainly return if I ever passed through the area again and certainly recommend it for anyone travelling around the yosemite area.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helenback56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I just want to start by thanking the staff again for such a wonderful stay. We stayed in the three bedroom condo and had a great time. All the staff was very friendly and accomadating. Were looking forward to going back and we will definitly be staying here again..

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kpakt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Trip Advisor has this lovely place highly rated for good reason. It was a delight. Contact with Jenn before our arrival had been friendly and helpful.We 3 travel wearied guests arrived to a warm welcome and were directed to an apartment in a gated community in the woods a short drive from the hotel. The Coriander was warm and with everything we could need. The beds were comfortable and there was plenty of space for us all to spread out into.

The ample breakfast set us up for the day ahead and we left reluctantly wishing we were staying longer and certainly thinking a return visit to see the completed renovations would be on the next agenda!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We got a cottage of 3 bedroom which is reasonably priced inclusive of breakfast. The rooms are of good size with all the equipments like cooker, microwave and massive fridge. It is ideal accommodation for week long stay in the area.

Room Tip: Arrive early if you opted for a cottage as the main reception closes at 9pm. Only few shops and rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iresharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Rooms are small in this wonderfully restored historic hotel. Beautiful photoraphy exhibited in the hallway downstairs a well as several bookshelves with some interesting and unusual books. There's a nice couch and several tables in the lobby. Hot breakfast of sausage, toast, eggs, coffee, juice and pancakes was good. Bed was comfortable. For $108 (winter rate) it was a good deal. Be sure to visit the Iron Horse Saloon across the street with its stuffed animals, old photographs and friendly bar tender and the world's best Bloody Mary if Chris is your bar tender.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank Weybridgewanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We decided to make a trip to Yosemite last minute and were lucky enough to stay here. The online booking made everything easy and we loved the special winter rate. The Innkeeper was very friendly and welcoming, the bed comfy (although the rooms are a bit small, but we didn't mind), the breakfast tasty and overall experience peaceful and quiet.

Would recommend! So may cool little places to eat and see nearby. Highly recommend the tea place next door and Mountain Sage for coffee.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
20.5 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
19.2 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#2 of 7 in Groveland
569 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Groveland Hotel
The Groveland Hotel
#5 of 7 in Groveland
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
24.1 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,221 reviews
13.1 mi away
Jamestown Hotel
Jamestown Hotel
#1 of 6 in Jamestown
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Charlotte

Address: 18736 Main St, Groveland, CA 95321-9444
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Groveland
Price Range: $123 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Charlotte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience a wonderful escape at the Hotel Charlotte, located at the gateway to Yosemite. Enjoy the rustic quirks of a charming, historic boutique hotel coupled with a wonderfully inviting ambiance and stellar service that will leave you wanting more.At the Hotel Charlotte, you'll be welcomed by friendly, knowledgable staff who will help you settle in to one of our 10 hotel rooms or 6 guest houses. Whether you want to experience the natural wonders of the surrounding area and Yosemite, have a romantic getaway, or enjoy a stay in an authentic old west hotel, you will find what you are looking for at the Hotel Charlotte. The owners, Doug and Jenn Edwards, wanted to retain the gold rush feel of the hotel while at the same time modernizing and simplifying. The sage green walls, the throwback Edison lightbulbs, the oversized, brown velvet sofas - invite guests to step into a contemporary old west. The look of the hotel also carries into the adjoining restaurant, the Charlotte Bistro & Bar. Under the direction of Chef Doug Edwards, the restaurant features locally grown produce and innovative Modern American fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlotte Hotel Groveland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing