We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As was expected”
Review of Hotel Charlotte

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Charlotte
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Groveland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Hotel Charlotte was clean, the staff was friendly, and the price was fair. The decor is a little lacking, but other than that I have no complaints. This hotel is exactly what I would expect based on its advertisement.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (824)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

384 - 390 of 824 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

I have stayed here frequently, visiting parents nearby and camping in the Sierra Nevada. It is a wonderful old building with some modern amenities and a good restaurant. My favorite room is #14, in the back, or #8 when my brother and I meet up for a backpack trip (#8 has two queen-sized beds, so we are both comfortable). One caution is that only two rooms are on street level; the other rooms at the hotel are up a flight of stairs. The restaurant serves delightful meals, and I have enjoyed both the salads and the beef filet. The staff is very pleasant, and by now it has sort of a feeling of going home--where one is known and welcomed. Oh--the new air conditioning units that the new owners installed work very well; a plus where the temperature is often likely to hit 90 or so in the summer!

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 3 share a bath; same with 2 and 4. I think 14 is the largest room, and like it because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Wife and I stayed at the Hotel Charlotte for two nights, and really enjoyed it. Charlotte was our home base for visiting Yosemite national park from San Francisco, pretty convenient it was a nice 45 min drive to the valley. The hotel has a very cool old west atmosphere, rooms were pretty small but clean and comfortable. We had dinner here one night as well and the restaurant was top notch, a little expensive but our meal was excellent and worth every penny. Staff was all very helpful, the breakfast which is included was really good much better then your average hotel spread. Would definitely recommend a stay here if your going to be in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

What a charming hotel. Loved the history of the town. The floorboards creeked, the bathroom had a clawfoot tub and the decor definitely put you back in the late 1800's. Although the rooms were small, ours had plenty of room for our stay. We enjoyed the second floor front porch as we watched cars and people wander the streets in the evening. The breakfast was good, the employees were friendly and the beds were comfortable. We were in rooms 1 and 3 - which was joined by the bathroom, it was a great 'suite' for the 4 of us. Although for the most part the rooms were clean(yes- the bathrooms were clean), some areas - such as the blinds and the trim needed some dusting attention. The 45 minute ride to the Yosemite gate was beautiful. Groveland is a very cute town and I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KenoshaKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Cute little hotel with great location for Yosemite day trips, taking approx 1hr driving time to get to the heart of Yosemite. We stayed here for 3 nights and have no complaints. The relatively new owners were extremely friendly and always on site to ensure business was going smoothly and guests were happy. During our stay all the air conditioners in the hotel were replaced with much quieter and more efficient systems.

We would definately stay here again if the opportunity arises and would recommend it to other travellers.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenny_traveller76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

very nice hotel near yosemite national park

+ old fashioned rooms
+ good breakfast
+ good price
+ in the middle of this little village
+ clean
+ nice beds
+ free ice machine (as usual for USA)

I would definitely recommend to stay there. I was there for 1 night

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dynamite D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed here for two nights whilst visiting Yosemite National Park and so glad we did. Much cheaper than staying in the park and opposite a good bar. Only negative being that our room was a bit small and the bed a bit too high.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank sillywupple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
20.5 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
19.2 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
528 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Groveland Hotel
The Groveland Hotel
#5 of 7 in Groveland
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
24.1 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,188 reviews
0.1 mi away
All Seasons Groveland Inn B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Charlotte

Address: 18736 Main St, Groveland, CA 95321-9444
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Groveland
Price Range: $130 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Charlotte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience a wonderful escape at the Hotel Charlotte, located at the gateway to Yosemite. Enjoy the rustic quirks of a charming, historic boutique hotel coupled with a wonderfully inviting ambiance and stellar service that will leave you wanting more.At the Hotel Charlotte, you'll be welcomed by friendly, knowledgable staff who will help you settle in to one of our 10 hotel rooms or 6 guest houses. Whether you want to experience the natural wonders of the surrounding area and Yosemite, have a romantic getaway, or enjoy a stay in an authentic old west hotel, you will find what you are looking for at the Hotel Charlotte. The owners, Doug and Jenn Edwards, wanted to retain the gold rush feel of the hotel while at the same time modernizing and simplifying. The sage green walls, the throwback Edison lightbulbs, the oversized, brown velvet sofas - invite guests to step into a contemporary old west. The look of the hotel also carries into the adjoining restaurant, the Charlotte Bistro & Bar. Under the direction of Chef Doug Edwards, the restaurant features locally grown produce and innovative Modern American fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlotte Hotel Groveland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing