We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Hotel Charlotte

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Charlotte
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Groveland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We booked two nights at Hotel Charlotte to visit Yosemite. We decided to stay a few more nights right away because the hotel was just great and the food outstanding (best food we had on our month-trip through the US!!) - and there's an awesome saloon right across the street... It was definately worth it!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Flim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (824)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

394 - 400 of 824 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2012

This is a true gem of a small hotel outside of Yosemite National Park. The moment you walk into the charming lobby you feel very welcomed by the staff. They truly want your stay to be the best. The rooms are super clean, simple and restful. A full buffet breakfast is included with the room. The restaurant offers wonderful farm to table food matching the best of Napa Valley. We would certainly recommend Hotel Charlotte to anyone planning a trip to Yosemite and the CA gold country.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy59911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

super cute hotel, but no lift. getting into the parking lot at first is hairy, but the front desk staff can give you a much easier trick to getting in and out. Rooms are tiny, but decorated well and the bathrooms have clawfeet and are adorable! the combination of lavender soap and hiking all day at Yosemite (we saw a bear!) totally knocked me out so i couldn't enjoy watching the small tv (Olympics!). I did, however, take advantage of the free telephone calls in the United States.

Room Tip: room 10 is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kahicpep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

The staff was super friendly and helpful. Our room was a nice size (2nd floor at end near back stairs.) It was clean and comfortable. The in-room AC was a bit noisy and air was blowing on us but t did cool the room well during very hot weather. I would recommend this hotel. The breakfast was good. There is a good Mexican restaurant next door. The ambiance was great and it was our gateway to Yosemite. We were here on July 4th. Townspeople came by early morning and decorated the town with flags!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMN_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Nice people running the hotel. Small but clean classic furnitured rooms. Breakfast ok - great coffee. Food in restaurant is poor - with the pricetag you should expect freshly cooked food, not premade and last minute heated food - pork meat should be rosa, not red/bloody!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gorm E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

My daughter and I had the great pleasure to stay at this amazing hotel. The owners were constantly present paying attention to every little detail, which made the stay a bliss. The hotel has been renovated with respect to the historic old-school style, yet with an updated and fresh appearance. The food was outstanding and can easily outcompete any great city restaurant with their usage of fresh organic products and local flavor. The creativity of the chef is second to none. All staff was welcoming and friendly. A must-see hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IreneKatballe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

This was a great hotel/bed and breakfast to stay in on our short trip to Yosemite - it's still quite a drive to Yosemite, but there's really not much closer outside the park. There's still lots to do near Groveland also (rafting, hiking, etc) The rooms in this hotel are super tiny (at least the ones we had) but that's because it's a historic hotel built in 1920, so it's bound to be "different". The beds are comfortable and the hotel is very clean and well kept. Probably could use a few more mirrors (there was one very tiny and very high mirror) and shelves and hooks, but those are random details that don't really matter that much. the owners are great, the breakfast was quite nice, and the location was convenient in town (it's a pretty small town!). we did not stay at their condos/houses, but the guests who did said they were really quite nice (probably nicer and definitely bigger than the hotel rooms). They also run a restaurant for dinner - we did not eat there, but it looked and smelled wonderful!!! I hope these owners are able to make this hotel/restaurant work as it is really a nice place and we would definitely stay there again on our way through....

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newportmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
20.5 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
19.2 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#2 of 7 in Groveland
527 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Groveland Hotel
The Groveland Hotel
#5 of 7 in Groveland
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
24.1 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,187 reviews
0.1 mi away
All Seasons Groveland Inn B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Charlotte

Address: 18736 Main St, Groveland, CA 95321-9444
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Groveland
Price Range: $130 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Charlotte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience a wonderful escape at the Hotel Charlotte, located at the gateway to Yosemite. Enjoy the rustic quirks of a charming, historic boutique hotel coupled with a wonderfully inviting ambiance and stellar service that will leave you wanting more.At the Hotel Charlotte, you'll be welcomed by friendly, knowledgable staff who will help you settle in to one of our 10 hotel rooms or 6 guest houses. Whether you want to experience the natural wonders of the surrounding area and Yosemite, have a romantic getaway, or enjoy a stay in an authentic old west hotel, you will find what you are looking for at the Hotel Charlotte. The owners, Doug and Jenn Edwards, wanted to retain the gold rush feel of the hotel while at the same time modernizing and simplifying. The sage green walls, the throwback Edison lightbulbs, the oversized, brown velvet sofas - invite guests to step into a contemporary old west. The look of the hotel also carries into the adjoining restaurant, the Charlotte Bistro & Bar. Under the direction of Chef Doug Edwards, the restaurant features locally grown produce and innovative Modern American fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlotte Hotel Groveland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing