We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location very near Yosemite north entrance Hetch Hetchy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Groveland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great location very near Yosemite north entrance Hetch Hetchy”
Reviewed September 19, 2010

Enjoyed experience of staying in forests, quite magical at night when the lights were on by the paths near the cabins. We stayed in Vintage Cabins which where the cheapest option at $160, I would say that is a bargain for the location. Being very near the entrance of Hetch Hetchy was also a benefit as we had done a lot of driving up to this point, also it was only about 40 miles to the Yosemite Valley.

The only downer is you are in the middle of the forest and we had to eat in the restaurant as we arrived late. Overpriced and not great, $24 for overcooked pasta..mmm not good. My hubby had veal and it was cold. Wine very expensive and service was soooooooooooo slow.

We went to get sandwiches for the next day and at $8- they take the mickey.

Location and accomodation though is pretty good and I would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kungfudragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    985
    507
    109
    53
    41
See reviews for
657
690
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2010

We stayed here 3 nights from August 10th, leaving on August 13th. I tried to book accomodation in Yosemite but apparently this is booked a year in advance so tried outside the park. I rang Evergreen Lodge and the staff were very helpful, as they did not have 3 nights in a row we had 1 night in a 1 bed cabiin followed by 2 nights in a 2 bed. Although the 1 bed was nice, I definitely recommend the bigger cabin for a family of 4. Evergreen Lodge cabins were very comfortable, the sofa bed in the 1 bed cabin was OK but not as comfy as a real bed.
Although we loved the place, one thing I found annoying is that there was no facility for preparing your own food, even something as simple as a sandwich or cereal. There was a fridge (absolutely minute) and a coffee maker. You were therefore compelled to use the restaurant unless you bought paper plates and plastic cutlery at the shop.
We had dinner in the restaurant twice, the food was good, with slow service on one night when we were behind a very large party. Quite expensive but there were some cheaper options.
The staff were helpful and there were organised activities in the evenings. There are a couple of walks from the cabins which were very pleasant.
Evergreen Lodge is close to Yosemite, but it is still about a 40 minute drive until entering the park proper. However once you get there it is so beautiful that you forget about the time. Once you have been to the valley, also go to Hetch Hetchy which is lower key but very beautiful with a (1-way) walk around the reservoir. We saw a black bear here on the rocks below the dam.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllieBellie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2010

We stayed here for three nights at the start of June. We'd picked the Lodge after turning down the much more expensive accomodation within Yosemite Valley, and didn't really have high expectations of the 'vintage' cabin we'd booked (sounded like a cover up for old and tatty!) However, when we arrived after a long drive we were given a lovely cabin at the back of the complex (we'd specifically asked for a quiet one and they had delivered). It was cosy, very clean, and had a large bathroom with a huge shower cubicle. It also had a little terrace out the front. It was attached to another cabin - which was occupied - but we didn't hear any noise from next door at all.

The complex had a lot of facilities including its own restaurant. We ate here the first night and never went anywere else - the food was delicious. We don't eat meat and were worried about how we would eat in America - but there were two vegetarian options and lots of fish too. The veggie burgers and the puddings were particularly good.

Service was always very good, including in the restaurant. The complex was well designed and it really felt like we were camped out in the forest (but without having to stay in a tent).

Our only grumble was that it was further from Yosemite Valley than we'd realised - but I think this was our fault for not looking closer at the location before we'd booked. However, the extra driving to and from the Valley is definitely worth it, particularly since it was so busy the weekend we were there and it was nice to get away from the valley crowds.

An unexpected bonus was being so close to Hetch Hetchy - we would probably not have visited this bit of the park if we hadn't been so close, and it was really spectacular.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeGiggler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rural iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2010

We just returned from our vacation and can't say enough about the Evergreen Lodge. It is just a few minutes away from Hetch Hetchy and a Yosemite Entrance near Yosemite Valley.

Our cabin was clean with plenty of room and we really enjoyed evenings relaxing out on the porch.

The staff at the Evergreen is wonderful! We enjoyed happy hour in the bar and suppers in the restaurant. After checking in, please go to the activity center for information on things to do. We had a fun afternoon taking a two mile hike to a swimming area.

I think the hardest part of planning a vacation is choosing places to stay but we both thought that the Evergreen Lodge was a homerun.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stonebolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
234 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2010

We booked a “deluxe queen cabin”, but in truth calling it a cabin is a bit of a misnomer; each cabin contains two hotel rooms, so we really booked a deluxe queen cabin-half. Our cabin-half was spacious and clean, with a fairly private balcony overlooking the trees. One thing that struck me when we arrived at our cabin-half was how quiet it was; the cabins are set among the trees and really give you the feeling of being out in the woods, with only an occasional passing car or pedestrian to make any noise. We arrived on a Sunday night at the end of August, and for some reason the lodge was practically empty, which made it even quieter. But by Monday, a motorcycle caravan arrived, and the feeling of the lodge definitely changed. Luckily the folks who moved into the other half of our cabin were fairly quiet, and we could only hear noise from the water pipes.

The furnishings were country-rustic, but there were a lot of nice touches- old black and white photos on the wall, plenty of seating, a refrigerator, and walls hooks for storage. My one nit is that a little more counter space in the bathroom would have been helpful- or at least, a few more wall hooks.

We ate in the tavern one night and the food was pretty good, with prices about the same as inside Yosemite. There were a lot of choices from gourmet to burgers, even at dinner; and plenty of wines by the glass to choose from, including local wines. The staff in general was young, friendly, and helpful. I used the free satellite wi-fi a couple of times, and it was enough to pick up email, but was pretty slow for internet browsing. I also had no cell phone service (T-mobile), so prepare to be disconnected! There are old-fashioned house phones in the rec room.

There was a fireplace outside the rec room, and the staff kindly left graham crackers, Hershey bars, and marshmallows next to it at night, which was a big hit with both kids and adults.

Overall I really liked staying here; it was the perfect compromise between camping (too uncomfortable) and staying in a hotel (too detached from the outdoors). I’d also definitely recommend visiting the Hetch Hetchy portion of Yosemite, which is only about 2 miles away from the lodge up Evergreen Road.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerfromsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North-East England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

This place is in a really convenient location for entering the national park ( which incidentally is magnificent). Evergreen lodge was an ideal place to stay and got you in rural mood. Yes the accomodation is basic but a glitzy hotel would be totally out of place in this setting. It was however clean and comfortable. We had wanted to buy sandwiches to take into Yosemite for a picnic lunch but their shop had nothing which didn't contain meat and we didn't fancy leaving meat in a hot car. We did however find plenty of choice of food in the vicinity of the visitor centre in the park, The staff we encountered at Evergreen were very friendly and helpful and there was never a problem making use of their free internet. Be warned - our cabin had lots of ants- ok we're in the countryside but its still a bit off putting for city dwellers. The main drawback is the price of both the cabins and the restaurant -due to its remoteness they have a captive audience and there is little you can do but pay up and smile- the food was good however.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ValNorth_EastEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, Manchester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2010

We just had two nights stay here, and loved it. We had a deluxe cabin and it was great & spotlessly clean. No TV, but that was a good thing and syrius radio. Friendly staff in the shop and at the desk, there is quite a lot of families with children, but it's really well suited for, with games rooms, internet (slow!!), table tennis and campfires each night. In the room there was a fridge and modern tea/coffee making facilities.

We ate both nights in the restaurant and the food and service was always good. There is also a bar area with a nice atmosphere and good selection of drinks.

It was 10 mins to the Yosemite gate and 45 mins to the valley floor, but you can't get much closer with out actually being in the park, which is expensive.

We can definitely recommend doing the Vernal falls walk in the park, spectacular but a strenuous steep walk, next to the river & waterfall.. We loved it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazza_282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
4.6 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
379 reviews
14.9 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,008 reviews
20.5 mi away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#2 of 7 in Groveland
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
The Groveland Hotel
The Groveland Hotel
#5 of 7 in Groveland
574 reviews
14.6 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3,781 reviews
11.7 mi away
Yosemite Westgate Lodge
Yosemite Westgate Lodge
#4 of 7 in Groveland
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite

Property: Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
Address: 33160 Evergreen Road, Groveland, CA 95321-9772
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Evergreen Lodge is a newly expanded full-service historic resort featuring 88 spacious cabins in the woods. The lodge sits on 20 acres just a mile from Yosemite National Park in California, putting top attractions - Yosemite Valley, Tuolumne Meadows and Hetch Hetchy - in easy reach. At the lodge, savor a delicious meal, kick back in the classic tavern and enjoy other amenities, including Evergreen's sun deck, game room, kids play areas, nightly activities and therapeutic massage. Ready for adventure? Evergreen's professional guide service offers a variety of sightseeing, hiking, biking, fly fishing and snowshoeing tours, as well as free planning advice for self-guided adventures. A Frommer's 'Favorite' and 'Highly Recommended' by Fodor's, the Evergreen provides the perfect mix of recreation, relaxation and indulgence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evergreen Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Groveland
Evergreen Hotel Groveland
Evergreen Hotel At Yosemite
Evergreen Lodge Yosemite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing