We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommend the Yosemite Photo Workshop with Robb Hirsch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Groveland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Saratoga, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend the Yosemite Photo Workshop with Robb Hirsch”
Reviewed October 27, 2009

Evergreen Lodge offers personal Yosemite Photo Workshops with Robb Hirsch, a local photographer and winner of the Nature's Best Photography contest. I had the pleasure of taking one of these workshops in October of 2009 and it was incredible!

Robb is a biologist by training and a photographer by passion. He knows Yosemite inside and out and has scouted many ideal, but less traveled sites for some unique photographs. Robb is generous with his knowledge and very patient in explaining camera functions and composition techniques. He is never rushed and just loves being outdoors and taking photographs.

I wholeheartedly recommend Robb Hirsch and Evergreen Lodge. I took the best photographs of my life and had a ball. I learned more about photography in one day than I ever could have imagined and have some incredible images as a reminder.

Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank rw55traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    985
    507
    109
    53
    41
See reviews for
657
690
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights on our trip to Yosemite. The individual cabins are warm, clean and spacious. The location is good but you need to be aware that it is a 1 hour drive to Yosemite Valley. The lodge is comfy with a nice communal area with large fire place and daily S'Mores/marshmallow roasting. Internet access is free which is nice considering most places charge. Reception could have been more helpful. Onsite shop was good.
We ate at the restaurant every night as driving to another village in the dark was not that attractive. The food was good but service slow and over all expensive.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank finnishbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2009

My partner and I first stayed at the Evergreen in November, 2007, in an older 1BR cabin. Everything was "fine", but nothing was "special". Although the woodsy location, the woodburning fire and the great natural beauty make up for a lot, the cabins and common areas were in need of an update for the prices asked and we had decided not to return again.

Recently, however, my parents were visiting California and wanted to go to Yosemite, including one night in a lodge. So, two years later, we decided to try Evergreen again. This time, we stayed in one of the newly built (2009) 2 BR Family Cabins with Living Room and one large bath. These cabins, while still rustic, are a vast improvement over the old cabins and quite pleasant. They are built on the opposite side of Evergreen Road, a short hike to the dining room, tavern and common area, but world's away in terms of privacy and peace/quiet. The beds/sheets are relatively comfortable, the pillows are down/feathers, and there's a nice living room with small refrigerator. It was a beautiful autumn week in the area, and at $226 per night, the rate was at least reasonable for 4 adults.

The morning breakfast was tasty and reasonably priced, and the staff were very friendly and accomodating.

I have only two real complaints about Evergreen--one minor, one major. The first complaint is the lack of coffee and coffee brewing equipment in the cabins as well as the lack of anywhere to get coffee on the premises before 7AM. Given that many folks arise early in the woods (there's not a lot to do to keep you up late), it's really a shame that there is nowhere to get a quick cuppa joe before 7AM! The second, more major complaint, is that the dinner in the main dining room is both BAD and EXPENSIVE! Reading the menu, you would think you were visiting a fine dining establishment in the Napa or Sonoma Valley--with prices to match! Regrettably, the quality, taste and service just aren't there. Take the $39 inedible, "tough as shoe leather" pork chop, or the $35+ steak with more fat and gristle than meat. Honestly, they just try too hard, and can't pull it off. Our meal for 4 (with a $39 bottle of Oregon Pinot Noir that was fine) was as or more expensive than our $226 per night charge for the room. On a day in, day out basis, that gets to be a little old!

Evergreen Lodge needs to start serving tasty fare that is appropriately presented and appropriately priced for the environment. While the new rooms are a nice improvement, the staff is pleasant, and the location can't be beat, I'm afraid we won't go back until they solve their food problems. In case you're not aware of it, this is a REAL problem, as there is truly nowhere else anywhere nearby to eat dinner.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MillionMilerMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2009

We stayed at Evergreen for 1 night in the new Kolana lodges at the edge of the forest. The lodge was fantastic, the room was nicely decorated. the bar and restaurant were great.

We would definately stay here agin no questions asked.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bristolians40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo San Lucas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2009

We had one of the newer cabins in the Dogwood section. We had a neighbor in the connected cabin but never heard anything through the walls. The cabin was lovely and private. The only thing missing was a coffee machine. Dogwood is enough of a walk to the restaurant early in the morning (especially since it was raining and cold) to want the convenience. The menu and the preparation of the food in the restaurant was fabulous! Because the lodge is far enough from the park to prefer staying in to eat we ate in the dining room every evening and enjoyed it immensely. Our only complaint would be the servers could be curt and unprofessional or wonderful it depended on the night. The bartenders were lacking in friendliness but the wine list is exceptional. The house chardonnay for $6. was lovely. The resort is very well maintained and offers plenty of space for relaxation.
The tours offered at the lodge were very expensive. The Yosemite Lodge at Yosemite Falls offers tours for much less. The food at Yosemite Lodge is inferior and the rooms are small and cramped for the money. I would definitely stay at the Evergreen Lodge again and do the 4 mile hike down from Glacier Point again. Hetch Hetchy is beautiful and the hike to the waterfall is easy and relaxing.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miraban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2009

Evergreen is an amazing complex of cabins and campgrounds, with a great bar and a good restaurant. It is not near Yosemite Valley, but it is near the Hetch Hetchy entrance which is also very impressive. We chose Evergreen because it had these amenities and is a quiet alternative to the bustling park. They had great facilities, heated outdoor dining,
community recreation rooms, an outdoor fireplace for nightly marshmallow roasting, free internet service, pool tables in the bar, ping pong outdoors, and an "Indian village" for the children. The cabins were rustic but had everything you needed, epecially a wonderfully comfortable bed, after a long day of hiking.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fraucarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at the evergreen lodge. Unfortunately we didn't get in until really late the first night, but it was a relief to arrive to such a comfortable cabin. We splurged to get one of their "new traditional" cabins I think they were called. I guess there are some what were built a while back so I don't know if those were as nice but ours was very cute, nicely decorated, with a little back deck.
We stayed 2 nights. The first morning we got up early, got some bagels and coffee from the store, then went to the activity desk and asked for a hike recommendation. The girl working there was sweet and directed us to a fantastic hike we would have never known was there! She was definitely attentive to what type of hike we would be up for and gave us lots of options.
That night we had dinner at their restaurant. I was suprised that you need reservations even as a guest, I guess a lot of people go there to eat that are not staying there. But they were still able to accommodate us. The food was good, a bit expensive, but not more that what I expect for that area/remote location.
That night we were so exhausted from our hike we went back to our cabin to play cards and have a quiet evening however there were a lot of other things that could have been fun if we had had the energy... there is a neat outdoor fireplace area where you can hang out, the bar, a game room, ping pong, foos ball...
I must say there are some fairly rediculous negative reviews of this place... naturally it is going to be a long drive to get there, and as a result the prices in the store and the restaurant will be higher. There is no TV or AC... you are there to be closer to nature. It is not very close to the valley, but if the only reason you are going to Yosemite is to drive through the valley, that is kind of sad. Yosemite is a huge park with much more to offer than that. Go to the activity desk if you need help. And the drive there may be long but should be part of your enjoyment? If all you want to do is see Half Dome and El Capitan, look at some pictures or watch a documentary and save that area the congestion. We actually really didn't like the valley and couldn't wait to get out of there. (And we ended up driving through there at night to get to Evergreen, and we were much more impressed by moonlight. We should have stopped and enjoyed it then but we were tired!)
It did seem like their excursions were very pricey. I'm not sure exactly what you are paying for there. But advice at the activity desk is free!
To end on a good note, I hope we can go back some day!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erinetene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
4.6 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
379 reviews
14.9 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,009 reviews
20.5 mi away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#2 of 7 in Groveland
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
The Groveland Hotel
The Groveland Hotel
#5 of 7 in Groveland
574 reviews
14.6 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3,782 reviews
11.7 mi away
Yosemite Westgate Lodge
Yosemite Westgate Lodge
#4 of 7 in Groveland
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite

Property: Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
Address: 33160 Evergreen Road, Groveland, CA 95321-9772
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Evergreen Lodge is a newly expanded full-service historic resort featuring 88 spacious cabins in the woods. The lodge sits on 20 acres just a mile from Yosemite National Park in California, putting top attractions - Yosemite Valley, Tuolumne Meadows and Hetch Hetchy - in easy reach. At the lodge, savor a delicious meal, kick back in the classic tavern and enjoy other amenities, including Evergreen's sun deck, game room, kids play areas, nightly activities and therapeutic massage. Ready for adventure? Evergreen's professional guide service offers a variety of sightseeing, hiking, biking, fly fishing and snowshoeing tours, as well as free planning advice for self-guided adventures. A Frommer's 'Favorite' and 'Highly Recommended' by Fodor's, the Evergreen provides the perfect mix of recreation, relaxation and indulgence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evergreen Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Groveland
Evergreen Hotel Groveland
Evergreen Hotel At Yosemite
Evergreen Lodge Yosemite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing