We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,951)
Filter reviews
1,951 results
Traveler rating
1,166
565
114
59
47
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,166
565
114
59
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hetch hetchy rec center general store two bedroom cabin custom camping sirius radio zip line ping pong recreation room recreation area bocce ball outdoor fireplace summer camp hot tub family cabin glacier point valley floor
Filter
Updating list...
1,525 - 1,530 of 1,951 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights on our trip to Yosemite. The individual cabins are warm, clean and spacious. The location is good but you need to be aware that it is a 1 hour drive to Yosemite Valley. The lodge is comfy with a nice communal area with large fire place and daily S'Mores/marshmallow roasting. Internet access is free which is nice considering most places charge. Reception could have been more helpful. Onsite shop was good.
We ate at the restaurant every night as driving to another village in the dark was not that attractive. The food was good but service slow and over all expensive.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank finnishbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2009

My partner and I first stayed at the Evergreen in November, 2007, in an older 1BR cabin. Everything was "fine", but nothing was "special". Although the woodsy location, the woodburning fire and the great natural beauty make up for a lot, the cabins and common areas were in need of an update for the prices asked and we had decided not to return again.

Recently, however, my parents were visiting California and wanted to go to Yosemite, including one night in a lodge. So, two years later, we decided to try Evergreen again. This time, we stayed in one of the newly built (2009) 2 BR Family Cabins with Living Room and one large bath. These cabins, while still rustic, are a vast improvement over the old cabins and quite pleasant. They are built on the opposite side of Evergreen Road, a short hike to the dining room, tavern and common area, but world's away in terms of privacy and peace/quiet. The beds/sheets are relatively comfortable, the pillows are down/feathers, and there's a nice living room with small refrigerator. It was a beautiful autumn week in the area, and at $226 per night, the rate was at least reasonable for 4 adults.

The morning breakfast was tasty and reasonably priced, and the staff were very friendly and accomodating.

I have only two real complaints about Evergreen--one minor, one major. The first complaint is the lack of coffee and coffee brewing equipment in the cabins as well as the lack of anywhere to get coffee on the premises before 7AM. Given that many folks arise early in the woods (there's not a lot to do to keep you up late), it's really a shame that there is nowhere to get a quick cuppa joe before 7AM! The second, more major complaint, is that the dinner in the main dining room is both BAD and EXPENSIVE! Reading the menu, you would think you were visiting a fine dining establishment in the Napa or Sonoma Valley--with prices to match! Regrettably, the quality, taste and service just aren't there. Take the $39 inedible, "tough as shoe leather" pork chop, or the $35+ steak with more fat and gristle than meat. Honestly, they just try too hard, and can't pull it off. Our meal for 4 (with a $39 bottle of Oregon Pinot Noir that was fine) was as or more expensive than our $226 per night charge for the room. On a day in, day out basis, that gets to be a little old!

Evergreen Lodge needs to start serving tasty fare that is appropriately presented and appropriately priced for the environment. While the new rooms are a nice improvement, the staff is pleasant, and the location can't be beat, I'm afraid we won't go back until they solve their food problems. In case you're not aware of it, this is a REAL problem, as there is truly nowhere else anywhere nearby to eat dinner.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MillionMilerMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2009

We stayed at Evergreen for 1 night in the new Kolana lodges at the edge of the forest. The lodge was fantastic, the room was nicely decorated. the bar and restaurant were great.

We would definately stay here agin no questions asked.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bristolians40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2009

We had one of the newer cabins in the Dogwood section. We had a neighbor in the connected cabin but never heard anything through the walls. The cabin was lovely and private. The only thing missing was a coffee machine. Dogwood is enough of a walk to the restaurant early in the morning (especially since it was raining and cold) to want the convenience. The menu and the preparation of the food in the restaurant was fabulous! Because the lodge is far enough from the park to prefer staying in to eat we ate in the dining room every evening and enjoyed it immensely. Our only complaint would be the servers could be curt and unprofessional or wonderful it depended on the night. The bartenders were lacking in friendliness but the wine list is exceptional. The house chardonnay for $6. was lovely. The resort is very well maintained and offers plenty of space for relaxation.
The tours offered at the lodge were very expensive. The Yosemite Lodge at Yosemite Falls offers tours for much less. The food at Yosemite Lodge is inferior and the rooms are small and cramped for the money. I would definitely stay at the Evergreen Lodge again and do the 4 mile hike down from Glacier Point again. Hetch Hetchy is beautiful and the hike to the waterfall is easy and relaxing.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miraban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2009

Evergreen is an amazing complex of cabins and campgrounds, with a great bar and a good restaurant. It is not near Yosemite Valley, but it is near the Hetch Hetchy entrance which is also very impressive. We chose Evergreen because it had these amenities and is a quiet alternative to the bustling park. They had great facilities, heated outdoor dining,
community recreation rooms, an outdoor fireplace for nightly marshmallow roasting, free internet service, pool tables in the bar, ping pong outdoors, and an "Indian village" for the children. The cabins were rustic but had everything you needed, epecially a wonderfully comfortable bed, after a long day of hiking.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fraucarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews