We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for Yosemite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Groveland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Evergreen, the peace and quiet was lovely and we actually enjoyed the lack of TV or good access to wifi and felt that it added to the experience. We stayed in a deluxe king cabin which was perfect for our needs and most importantly it was clean and and the bed was very comfortable for a decent nights sleep to prepare us for a day of walking in Yosemite the next day. We thought the food was great, we ate in the bar every night and the service was excellent, the bar staff were quite simply brilliant. The shop also had everything that we needed. The only slight downside is that it is about an hours drive from the visitor parking in Yosemite Valley but the drive is prettier than any drive I have down in the UK so it was worth putting up with.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KatieHailsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,794)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

720 - 726 of 1,794 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2014

This lodge is an hour outside of yosamite valley and was very remote, we drove down a road with no other houses or facilities. Recommend to get there in the day. There is tons to do and the facilities are good. Accommodation is basic with no air con, but fans provided.

We had a very good breakfast and dinner there and with the beautiful scenery and he th he thy near by wished we were staying for longer. Well worth a stay if you want to get away from it all and see some stars with no light pollution.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emaevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Evergreen_Lodge, Owner at Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Hello, I’m Lee, one of the owners of the Evergreen. What an honor for us to be your most remote vacation so far, and good for you for venturing out! It’s great to read that you enjoyed our activities and dining as well as those incredibly starry skies. Although London is quite a distance from Yosemite, we do hope to welcome you back for another adventure in the near future.
Cheers,
Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

I have read the responses to other reviewers from Mr. Zimmerman, so I sincerely believe that he takes objective feedback somewhat to heart. I am not asking for any refunds or special attention, but to try to help you improve your product. There is nothing that can really be done regarding the fire damage to the forest around much of the property, just like nothing can be done about the Evergreen being an hour from Yosemite Valley in no traffic (if you follow the speed limits). My issues with Evergreen are the generally unrefined customer service interactions with nearly all staff. The exceptions would be the bartender Douglas in the Tavern and the two desk reps working July 4th evening. Nearly all other interactions made one feel though they were bothering the employee of the resort which is collecting $300+ per night. There was one night we were purchasing some items from the General Store and a staffer behind me in line got all passive-aggressive huffing and puffing because the guy ringing us up had to do two extra steps to put it on our room. So, Mr. Zimmerman, I would strongly suggest that your GM (or AGM/DGM) bring your employees into small sessions and seriously review customer service basics with each of them. I titled this review with Adult Summer Camp rather tongue-in-cheek, but that's how it felt upon departing. And like summer camp, it seems like the counselors (in this case the staff) are having the most fun based on conversations overheard. I think it would also be wise to have specific break areas for your employees so they aren't smoking and joking right outside the poorhouse at yet same time that people are repeatedly asking why there aren't towels at the pool. And remind some of your employees that "Nah", "Yeah", and "Dude" are not words that should he addressed to customers paying over $300 per night.

I'd consider some type of undercover boss visit (or have one of your friends go secretly) because if I'm packing this stuff up over three nights and your GM is telling you everything is fine then something is wrong somewhere.

Stayed: July 2014
5  Thank FredoftheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Evergreen_Lodge, Owner at Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Hello, I’m Lee Zimmerman, one of the owners of the Evergreen. I’m happy to hear that Douglas and the two desk reps (likely Shaun and Nate as they were on duty 4th of July evening) provided you with noteworthy service. Thank you for spotlighting their efforts, which are much appreciated on one of the busiest weekends of the year. That said, being busy is no excuse for substandard service on the part of other staff members. I am sorry that we let you down on this visit, and I do hope that the rest of your Yosemite experience was rewarding and memorable for all the right reasons. I appreciate your good intentions with this review, and it will serve as a constructive reminder of our service standards (including designated break areas) in our ongoing staff meetings and training efforts. During busy times it is important that we step up our efforts so that we maintain our warm and friendly environment for all guests. Hopefully we’ll have another chance to show you our true colors on a future visit. Thank you for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Evergreen lodge is a true gem. Great property, excellent food, great family destination. Pool and zip line for kids are great. The staff is very helpful. Bethany and Freddy were great hiking guides.. Would highly recommend a hike with them. Only negative is that wifi in rec center is very bad so just expect to be disconnected during your stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atwadell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Evergreen_Lodge, Owner at Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Hi, I’m Lee Zimmerman, one of the owners of the Evergreen Lodge. I’m happy to read that you and your family enjoyed our facilities, and thank you for spotlighting Bethany and Freddy. Most everyone on property reads these reviews, and it is always energizing when guests care enough to recognize individual efforts.

It’s good of you to give us the opportunity to remind everyone of the limited connectivity. In our remote location we have very limited options for service, and although we do invest in the highest bandwidth available it is barely enough to support demand in our common areas. We do have telephones available in our Recreation Center to compensate for the lack of cell phone coverage, but at this time there’s no more bandwidth available for us to offer. On the plus side, many guests tell us that they end up being very happy to disconnect from technology and reconnect with nature and loved ones. It sounds like your family has joined in the fun.

Thank you for sharing your review,
Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

This place has lots of choices you can stay the old cabins or get the new ones get a massage or have a great dinner at the bar. This has very cool old bar has a store if you don't have love it here then you might just be just a unhappy person. From here you're only approximately 30 minutes to the valley floor and you're only 12 minutes to the entrance to Yosemite. Make sure you try to book early this place always fills up in the summer.
They have specials in the fall winter and spring.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Travlinwisely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Evergreen_Lodge, Owner at Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Hi, I’m Lee, one of the owners of the Evergreen, and it’s great to read how much you appreciate the range of experiences we offer. To be fair, it’s closer to 45 minutes to drive to the Valley floor, and longer if you want to stop for photo opp’s along the way. We also like to encourage everyone to take it easy on Yosemite’s roads; not only is it good for visitors to relax and take in the scenery, it’s also much safer for wildlife. Most people are not aware of the variety of endangered species that live in Yosemite, and one of the keys to their survival is for all of us to slow down on the road. Thanks for giving us the chance to remind everyone, and thank you for the fun review!
Cheers,
Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

I am not a camper or cabin girl. But we loved our stay at Evergreen, their cabins and facilities strike the right blend between 5 star hotel and outdoors. It is perfectly set up for kids with the pool, zip line, geocaching, s'mores and movies in the evenings to name a few. It is also far enough away from Yosemite to have a whole variety or hikes that are not crowded, in fact you may be the only ones! My only tip is to bring some lunch food with you as the general store doesn't have a huge variety. Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Evergreen_Lodge, Owner at Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Hello, I’m Lee Zimmerman, one of the owners of the Evergreen. It’s terrific to hear that we struck the right blend of luxury and the outdoors for you and your family. It sounds like you all took advantage of a great range of activities, and that you got to discover some one-on-one time with nature away from the crowds. Thank you for sharing your experience, and for making Yosemite part of your family vacation. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Cheers,
Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We recently stayed at the Evergreen Lodge for a wedding. The Lodge is situated down a long road away from anything else and we loved the location. The staff were always courteous and helpful, the food was very good for 2 evenings of wedding festivities, but the accomodations were just OK. We stayed in one of the Vintage Cabins and there was an odor of mice plus propane from the heater. Since it was June, we opened the windows and aired it out. The interior was clean, the bedding comfortable, but the mouse odor detracted from the experience. The wedding itself was beautiful, in a meadow by the lake.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
4.6 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#2 of 7 in Groveland
562 reviews
17.9 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,691 reviews
16.9 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,213 reviews
20.5 mi away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#3 of 7 in Groveland
828 reviews
14.6 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
4,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite

Address: 33160 Evergreen Road, Groveland, CA 95321-9772
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Groveland
Price Range: $130 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Evergreen Lodge is a newly expanded full-service historic resort featuring 88 spacious cabins in the woods. The lodge sits on 20 acres just a mile from Yosemite National Park in California, putting top attractions - Yosemite Valley, Tuolumne Meadows and Hetch Hetchy - in easy reach. At the lodge, savor a delicious meal, kick back in the classic tavern and enjoy other amenities, including Evergreen's sun deck, game room, kids play areas, nightly activities and therapeutic massage. Ready for adventure? Evergreen's professional guide service offers a variety of sightseeing, hiking, biking, fly fishing and snowshoeing tours, as well as free planning advice for self-guided adventures. A Frommer's 'Favorite' and 'Highly Recommended' by Fodor's, the Evergreen provides the perfect mix of recreation, relaxation and indulgence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, JackRabbit Systems and Hotels.com so you can book your Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evergreen Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Groveland
Evergreen Hotel Groveland
Evergreen Hotel At Yosemite
Evergreen Lodge Yosemite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing