We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Groveland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Outwardly rustic, but lacking for nothing if you can break away from TV & internet for the duration. Our cabin was comfy & impeccably clean; the staff truly makes you feel welcome; the restaurant a pleasant surprise.
Don't let the Groveland address throw you as the lodge is just 6 mi from a park entrance and a Mike from Hetch Hetchy.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Char95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,761)
There are newer reviews for Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

724 - 730 of 1,761 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2014

Could have stayed here for a week. Perfect base for Yosemite break (although bear in mind it is a 30 min drive into the valley). Amazing facilities (pool, hot tub, recreation centre, table tennis, pub, restaurant). Nice atmosphere and mix of people. Food was good (huge portions). Staff v friendly/helpful. Arta white water rafting was great too. We did the romance package which is good value. Hope we will return one day.

Room Tip: We were in Wapama 12 which had a great view into the woods
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chgrove85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Lovely cabins in a great location just outside the park. It was a very relaxing stay. The food in the restaurant was fantastic, and all the staff very friendly and helpful. Stayed there 3 nights, but wish it had been longer. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PamM00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I loved our stay here! the first night we stayed in a tent.. I have been camping before and was surprised to have a "turn key" ready tent with mattress, sheets, towels and chairs! our tent was around others but everyone was respectful and it never was loud. The bath house was clean and roomy.. had ample bear lockers and picnic area.
The rest of our time here we stayed in a cabin.. it was comfortable full bed and bunk beds 3 piece bathroom..
The property was beautiful and offered a lot of activities.. a small store, a bar a restaurant.. a large game room lots of outdoor areas to sit and relax..
With a 5 year old and a 15 year old it was nice to not have phone service, TV's... just true family time! I would stay here again if I had the chance!
It was a little far from Yosemite but the drive was beautiful!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haup88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We spent two nights here just before Easter 2014 and stayed in a one bed cottage - the kids were in fold out beds. The beds basically take over the living room area when folded out but don't let that worry you as you will be out and about all day and the staff will put them away and fold them out at bedtime.
This accommodation is simple, somewhat rustic but if you set your expectation for a small timber lodge you will enjoy it. The kids loved the pool, zip wire, smores, meeting other kids and the pool tables. Food and service in the restaurant were good / OK rather than great. At half capacity there seemed to be a degree of stress in finding a table and server at breakfast time. Again set your expectations and it will be fine. There had been a major forest fire which came to within feet of the Lodge. Unfortunately a lot of the immediate vicinity has suffered and acres of blackened trees adjoin the lodge (see photo). I'd say don't let it put you off on balance.
The kids (and adults) were blown away by Yosemite - the impact was really great to see. They had seen nothing quite like it (there isn't!) but I was unsure whether they would fully appreciate it but they did. On our first day we toured the main valley, stayed mostly on the flat but covered a good bit of ground walking. We used the bus for some of the getting around rather than driving and parking so many times. Evergreen had good advice on an itinerary - suggest you engage and take their advice. Our second day we toured Hetch Hetchy - well worth it!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

There's much to love about Evergreen Lodge -- it's rustic and charming to the max. The quintessential "cabin in the woods" feel was delightful, and I actually enjoyed being cut off from society for a few days. Our cabin was quite small, but clean and comfortable -- fine for my husband and me. I loved the rockers on the porch and the gorgeous tree-lined paths! The bathroom in our Lupine cabin was incredibly small with a pocket door but, again, it was fine and even adorable to us. (No air-conditioning, though a large fan was supplied.)

A few things to consider . . .

• It's almost an hour drive from Yosemite Valley, where most of the action is. At the end of a long day of exploring, that 50-minute drive up the side of a mountain with hair-pin turns can be pretty stressful. The property itself is in the woods and NOT on a cliff, but you'll be traversing several cliffs to get there. The drive is very pretty if you have the stomach for it, though, with several turn-outs to park and take in Yosemite en route to the valley.

• No television, Internet or phone in our cabin. One of the communal buildings did offer wifi, but the connection was admittedly spotty and did not work for two of the three nights we were there. Still, it was actually rather relaxing! I'm a self-professed iPhone addict . . . and even I enjoyed the break. But something to consider if you need to be in touch. (But hey, you're on vacation, right?)

• It's close (just a few miles) from Hetch Hetchy Reservoir, which was very quiet and beautiful. It's much less hectic than Yosemite Valley but gets none of the acclaim, and there's plenty of parking there. If you're staying at Evergreen Lodge, be sure to pop over for a morning walk.

• The property boasts a full restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and we had many meals there out of convenience during our three-day stay. They were all wonderful! The food was great, the service stellar. Sylvia was our server every morning, and her friendliness and positive attitude were refreshing. It was great having a restaurant within an easy walk of our cabin after a long day, especially since we wanted to be out of Yosemite Valley before dusk (again, that drive is killer).

• Evergreen Lodge lies just at the edge of burned area of the 2013 Rim Fire, and the destruction is still very clear. The property itself is beautiful and untouched (though the fire reached right to the edge of the sunset deck), but your drive -- as of May 2014 -- will be through active logging areas where tons of burned trees still stand. Just don't be alarmed as you edge closer to the lodge.

• Lots of activities for families right on the property, and Evergreen leads their own optional, fee-based tours and trips most days. The options sounded wonderful, even though we wound up going on our own. On-site games like ping pong, shuffleboard, pool and small ziplining were really fun, too, and great in the evenings.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarylandCupcakelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Evergreen_Lodge, Owner at Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Hi, I’m Lee Zimmerman, one of the owners of the Evergreen. I’m delighted to read that you appreciated the Evergreen experience, and thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review. It’s good of you to point out that guests need to plan accordingly for the drive back to the Lodge after a day in Yosemite Valley. Although many people think of the Valley when they think of Yosemite, the park is actually 1,200 square miles – bigger than the state of Rhode Island! Thank you also for spotlighting the Hetch Hetchy area.

More importantly, thank you for complimenting Sylvia specifically for her friendliness and positive attitude. Most everyone at the property reads our TripAdvisor reviews, so it is very touching when a guest cares enough to mention someone by name.

Congratulations on taking a break from the smartphone, and thanks for pointing out that the service is spotty at best. Know that we do invest in the highest possible satellite bandwidth available to our area, and it’s barely enough to support the demand in our public areas. Good for you for not letting that get in the way of your fun!

Note that the logging in our area is now complete. It is part of the process of recovery, and next the National Forest Service will be replanting targeted areas of need. We hope to welcome you back to see the recovery of the affected areas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Nearly one hour from Yosemite Valley through 25 miles of white knuckle hairpin turns with the final six miles including a lumber cutting scene straight out of Axe Men, Evergreen is a nice family venue of individual and duplex cabins. Staff is great, property is relaxing even though a forest fire last year came right to the property line. The cabin was maybe 100 square feet, which was probably in the middle of sizes available. The smallest are ridiculous. That said, it was very clean. There's a restaurant on the property with great staff, though the menu was a little upscale for my simple taste. Nice game room and plenty of families to do. Only downside is the drive there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Americansportswriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Evergreen_Lodge, Owner at Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Hello, I’m Lee Zimmerman, one of the owners of the Evergreen. I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed the property, the service and the activities during your visit. Sorry that the drive made you uncomfortable and that your visit coincided with the National Forest Service’s logging operation. The logging is part of the process of rejuvenating the forest after last year’s Rim Fire, which passed through in patchwork fashion along Evergreen Road. Logging near the Evergreen is now complete, and next comes replanting in targeted areas of need.

I am also sorry to hear that your cabin was too small. There are many sizes to choose from, and I hope we’ll have a chance to welcome you back to a cabin that is better suited to your expectations. The smallest are our Vintage Cabins which are 250 square feet, each with a 75 square foot porch. We also offer Deluxe Cabins, One-Bedroom Cottages, and Two-Bedroom Family Cabins that range in size from 400 square feet to 600 square feet, each with a 100 square foot private deck. Additionally, we have custom camping sites where we have set up tents that are 120-150 square feet, along with basic camping gear. On the other end of the spectrum we offer the John Muir House which is 2,500 square feet and accommodates parties of up to 10 guests at a time.

Thank you for visiting and for taking the time to share your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
4.6 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
496 reviews
17.9 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,620 reviews
16.9 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,142 reviews
20.5 mi away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#2 of 7 in Groveland
819 reviews
20.4 mi away
The Groveland Hotel
The Groveland Hotel
#5 of 7 in Groveland
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite

Address: 33160 Evergreen Road, Groveland, CA 95321-9772
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Groveland
Price Range: $174 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Evergreen Lodge is a newly expanded full-service historic resort featuring 88 spacious cabins in the woods. The lodge sits on 20 acres just a mile from Yosemite National Park in California, putting top attractions - Yosemite Valley, Tuolumne Meadows and Hetch Hetchy - in easy reach. At the lodge, savor a delicious meal, kick back in the classic tavern and enjoy other amenities, including Evergreen's sun deck, game room, kids play areas, nightly activities and therapeutic massage. Ready for adventure? Evergreen's professional guide service offers a variety of sightseeing, hiking, biking, fly fishing and snowshoeing tours, as well as free planning advice for self-guided adventures. A Frommer's 'Favorite' and 'Highly Recommended' by Fodor's, the Evergreen provides the perfect mix of recreation, relaxation and indulgence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evergreen Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Groveland
Evergreen Hotel Groveland
Evergreen Hotel At Yosemite
Evergreen Lodge Yosemite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing