We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Groveland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Be prepared to unplug and unwind at the Evergreen Lodge. My family of 4 just stayed here for a weekend and we loved it! It was at least the third time we've been to the Evergreen (the first time was in the spring of 2007). We took advantage of the "Friends and Family" discount to book one of the 2-bedroom family cabins. We appreciated the extra space and privacy. My daughters enjoyed having a room to themselves. They also had a great time exploring the property and finding all the play spaces.

The Evergreen is off the beaten path and since the fire in 2013, the landscape is quite stark on the way to the resort. We weren't sure what to expect as we drove in but the property itself is exactly as I'd remembered it from past trips, with some great additions like more cabins, the enclosed restaurant patio and the heated tent with the extra ping pong tables.

We had breakfast and dinner at the restaurant on both days and the varied menu was quite tasty. The service was wonderful overall and everyone was friendly and helpful.

Next time I'll have to book extra days. We were in the Yosemite valley most of the time, but it would've been nice to have spent at least one day just at the resort to slow down and take it easy. The Evergreen is quiet and peaceful - no TV, very limited wifi and Internet access and definitely no cellular access. It was good to unplug for a few days.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mailmanorama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Evergreen_Lodge, Owner at Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Hi, I’m Lee, one of the owners of Evergreen, and I’m delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time with us last month. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Thank you for taking the time to share your review.
Cheers,
Lee Zimmerman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,760)
There are newer reviews for Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

767 - 773 of 1,761 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2014

My husband and & I stayed here in September 2013, just after the rim fire and literally the week before the government shut-down closed all the national parks. We couldn't have been luckier and we certainly couldn't have been happier with our selection of the Evergreen Lodge. The cabins were very clean and homey and the pool area is very nice.
We had a problem with the hot water one evening and the maintenance staff came right away to correct the problem. The service in the restaurant was excellent and the food was delicious. The staff was very helpful planning daily hikes through Yosemite.
I would love to visit again and would not hesitate to recommend the Evergreen Lodge to anyone.

Room Tip: The cabins in the Wapama area are quiet but only a short walk to all the activities.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Evergreen_Lodge, Owner at Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Hi, I’m Lee, one of the owners of the Evergreen, and I’m delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us last fall. How wonderful that the timing worked out for you and your Yosemite adventures. Thank you for taking the time to share your review and especially for reminding everyone that our staff is always happy to help plan daily hikes and other excursions. We hope to welcome you back for future adventures.
Cheers,
Lee Zimmerman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

What a beautiful place to stay. Cabins are nicely decorated, and clean which is expected for the price. My friend slept on the sofa bed and said it was comfortable. There's a radio, small fridge and coffee maker. Low flow shower head is fine. Cooking is not allowed so you have to eat at their restaurant since there are no other restaurants nearby. At least the food is good. A bit pricey but good. Food is definitely way better than Curry village. Service is excellent! You can buy wine, beer or souvenirs at the store there . Also I saw bikes for rent.
Location is a few miles away from highway 120. 20 min drive to the Dam at Hetch Hetchy. And 40 min drive to Yosemite Valley. Yes, you can camp here too. This is my second stay here and I loved it both times.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YL0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Evergreen_Lodge, Owner at Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Hi, I’m Lee, one of the owners of the Evergreen, and I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us again last month. We appreciate you taking the time to share your review with everyone and we we look forward to welcoming you back!
Cheers,
Lee Zimmerman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We found this place thanks to TripAdvisor and love it!
We stayed during the week, meaning that less than half of the cabins were occupied - in other words: it was totally quiet and peaceful - exactly what we wanted!
We had a one-bedroom cabin which was clean, spacious and had lots of natural light. At night time temperatures fell close to freeing point but the gas heaters warmed up the cabin in no time.
They have a tavern and restaurant there and the food at both places is pretty good - not what you expect when you think about a 'cabin in the woods'.
We booked a day trip with one of their guides which turned out to be a breathtaking tour. The guy (Freddie) was super knowledgeable and created a lovely memory.
Overall, the staff is extremely unpretentious and warm in a very natural way.

It's not cheap though - overall, for two nights (including food and the tour) we paid approximately a thousand dollars. However, it was totally worth it and we will come here again for sure!

Room Tip: We had cabin M10 which comes with a terrace overlooking sunset... It can't get much better than...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TeegeeLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Evergreen_Lodge, Owner at Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Hello, I'm Lee Zimmerman, one of the owners of the Evergreen Lodge, and I'm delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time with us so much. We'll be sure to pass your compliments along to Freddie, and we thank you for acknowledging him in your thoughtful review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We loved our stay here! So charming and a kid's paradise. Complimentary s'mores every night by the outdoor fireplace, kids zip line, sandbox and teepees, and nearly every game you could want from ping pong to pool to bocce and shuffleboard. Delicious food and wine served in the charming tavern! I was not expecting that but was delighted. I had car key issues and the General Manager Joe went above and beyond to help me. Due to car issues we ended up splurging on a guided tour with Bethany and it was worth every penny! We had a blast and learned so much. I already cannot wait to go back. The surrounding property was badly damaged from the fire but it's still stunning. Even the nature walk around the property was a treat. Highly recommend the Evergreen Lodge!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Annmarietay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Evergreen_Lodge, Owner at Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Hi, I'm Lee Zimmerman, one of the owners of the Evergreen. It sounds like you and your family had a wonderful time taking advantage of all that the Evergreen has to offer, despite your car trouble. Good for you, and us, for turning lemons into lemonade! Thank you kindly for sharing your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Cheers,
Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

The size and comfort of the cabins differ greatly from lot to lot. Wawona are spacious and comfortable (Deluxe cabin?), which is not the case for Vintage cabin. The recreation room is great; a wood fire in the large fireplace, staff ready to advise you on what to do in the area, games and wi-fi available, free telephone… Great. Most of the staff is really dedicated and welcoming, but due to the size of the camp, we could feel that it is less “personal” than smaller resources.
Firemen have been remarkable, at preventing Evergreen lodge from being burnt in August 2013. But a few hundred yards from the lodge, the landscape is sad. It is no more evergreen, but rather brown. The central and south part of the Yosemite did not suffer from fires, and we would prefer to stay in those unburned area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlainPieL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Evergreen_Lodge, Owner at Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Hello, I’m Lee Zimmerman, one of the owners of the Evergreen. I’m delighted to hear that you enjoyed the variety of offerings at the lodge and thank you for pointing out that we do have different types of cabins to choose from. They range in size to accommodate single travelers, couples, and parties as large as six people in a single cabin. We’re always happy to help guests choose the cabin that is the best fit.

Thank you also for reminding everyone how grateful we all are to the brave firefighters who saved the Evergreen from last year’s fire. As you pointed out, our recreation staff is ready to advise guests on local alternatives to the areas that are recovering. Between Hetch Hetchy, Mather, the soon to reopen Carlon Falls area, etc, there is still so much to enjoy right around us despite the effects of the fire.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your review, and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Wake early morning to nothing but the sounds of wildlife! Off the beaten path of Yosemite and we loved returning here each night after spending our days in the park. Park near cabin to unload/load and then park short distance away. Very clean. We had everything we needed at location of the lodge. Short trail around the property is nice. Lots of wildlife pass by if you sit quietly. Food available on site, but pricey. Some staff are very kind and helpful, some not so much. Would suggest requesting newer or renovated cabin. Very large crowd for military retreat and they pretty much took over everything. Perhaps ask if any large groups are staying during the time you wish to book. No cell phone/wi-fi service. Computers they offer for your use to communicate with family are few, busy and really slow. Take some basic groceries/snacks with you.

Only thing we really didn't appreciate on site was the swimming pool. Concrete and fence seems very out of place - surrounded by some of the most incredible nature to explore and enjoy and the pool definitely takes away from the cabin/outdoor/natural experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yayrockymtns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Evergreen_Lodge, Owner at Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Hi, I’m Lee Zimmerman, one of the owners of the Evergreen. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed the peace and quiet away from the crowds and that you got to see and hear some of the amazing wildlife. It really is an extraordinary experience. Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
4.6 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#2 of 7 in Groveland
495 reviews
17.9 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,619 reviews
16.9 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,142 reviews
20.5 mi away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#3 of 7 in Groveland
819 reviews
20.4 mi away
The Groveland Hotel
The Groveland Hotel
#5 of 7 in Groveland
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite

Address: 33160 Evergreen Road, Groveland, CA 95321-9772
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Groveland
Price Range: $174 - $392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Evergreen Lodge is a newly expanded full-service historic resort featuring 88 spacious cabins in the woods. The lodge sits on 20 acres just a mile from Yosemite National Park in California, putting top attractions - Yosemite Valley, Tuolumne Meadows and Hetch Hetchy - in easy reach. At the lodge, savor a delicious meal, kick back in the classic tavern and enjoy other amenities, including Evergreen's sun deck, game room, kids play areas, nightly activities and therapeutic massage. Ready for adventure? Evergreen's professional guide service offers a variety of sightseeing, hiking, biking, fly fishing and snowshoeing tours, as well as free planning advice for self-guided adventures. A Frommer's 'Favorite' and 'Highly Recommended' by Fodor's, the Evergreen provides the perfect mix of recreation, relaxation and indulgence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evergreen Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Groveland
Evergreen Hotel Groveland
Evergreen Hotel At Yosemite
Evergreen Lodge Yosemite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing