We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
Nearby Hotels
Yosemite Westgate Lodge(Groveland)(Great Value!)
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Rush Creek Lodge(Groveland)
$335
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Groveland Hotel(Groveland)(Great Value!)
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Charlotte(Groveland)(Great Value!)
$235
$189
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$163
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$72
$42
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$133
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aladdin Inn(Sonora)(Great Value!)
$101
$93
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,822)
Filter reviews
1,822 results
Traveler rating
1,076
533
111
58
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,076
533
111
58
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshetch hetchyzip linevintage cabinrec centergeneral storetwo bedroom cabincustom campingsirius radiobocce ballping pongrecreation arearecreation roomoutdoor fireplacesummer camphot tubrim fireboard games
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
827 - 832 of 1,822 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We loved our stay here! So charming and a kid's paradise. Complimentary s'mores every night by the outdoor fireplace, kids zip line, sandbox and teepees, and nearly every game you could want from ping pong to pool to bocce and shuffleboard. Delicious food and wine served in the charming tavern! I was not expecting that but was delighted. I had car key issues and the General Manager Joe went above and beyond to help me. Due to car issues we ended up splurging on a guided tour with Bethany and it was worth every penny! We had a blast and learned so much. I already cannot wait to go back. The surrounding property was badly damaged from the fire but it's still stunning. Even the nature walk around the property was a treat. Highly recommend the Evergreen Lodge!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Annmarietay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Evergreen_Lodge, Owner at Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Hi, I'm Lee Zimmerman, one of the owners of the Evergreen. It sounds like you and your family had a wonderful time taking advantage of all that the Evergreen has to offer, despite your car trouble. Good for you, and us, for turning lemons into lemonade! Thank you kindly for sharing your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Cheers,
Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

The size and comfort of the cabins differ greatly from lot to lot. Wawona are spacious and comfortable (Deluxe cabin?), which is not the case for Vintage cabin. The recreation room is great; a wood fire in the large fireplace, staff ready to advise you on what to do in the area, games and wi-fi available, free telephone… Great. Most of the staff is really dedicated and welcoming, but due to the size of the camp, we could feel that it is less “personal” than smaller resources.
Firemen have been remarkable, at preventing Evergreen lodge from being burnt in August 2013. But a few hundred yards from the lodge, the landscape is sad. It is no more evergreen, but rather brown. The central and south part of the Yosemite did not suffer from fires, and we would prefer to stay in those unburned area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlainPieL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Evergreen_Lodge, Owner at Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Hello, I’m Lee Zimmerman, one of the owners of the Evergreen. I’m delighted to hear that you enjoyed the variety of offerings at the lodge and thank you for pointing out that we do have different types of cabins to choose from. They range in size to accommodate single travelers, couples, and parties as large as six people in a single cabin. We’re always happy to help guests choose the cabin that is the best fit.

Thank you also for reminding everyone how grateful we all are to the brave firefighters who saved the Evergreen from last year’s fire. As you pointed out, our recreation staff is ready to advise guests on local alternatives to the areas that are recovering. Between Hetch Hetchy, Mather, the soon to reopen Carlon Falls area, etc, there is still so much to enjoy right around us despite the effects of the fire.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your review, and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Wake early morning to nothing but the sounds of wildlife! Off the beaten path of Yosemite and we loved returning here each night after spending our days in the park. Park near cabin to unload/load and then park short distance away. Very clean. We had everything we needed at location of the lodge. Short trail around the property is nice. Lots of wildlife pass by if you sit quietly. Food available on site, but pricey. Some staff are very kind and helpful, some not so much. Would suggest requesting newer or renovated cabin. Very large crowd for military retreat and they pretty much took over everything. Perhaps ask if any large groups are staying during the time you wish to book. No cell phone/wi-fi service. Computers they offer for your use to communicate with family are few, busy and really slow. Take some basic groceries/snacks with you.

Only thing we really didn't appreciate on site was the swimming pool. Concrete and fence seems very out of place - surrounded by some of the most incredible nature to explore and enjoy and the pool definitely takes away from the cabin/outdoor/natural experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yayrockymtns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Evergreen_Lodge, Owner at Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Hi, I’m Lee Zimmerman, one of the owners of the Evergreen. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed the peace and quiet away from the crowds and that you got to see and hear some of the amazing wildlife. It really is an extraordinary experience. Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

The cabin was wonderfully comfortable and very well equipped. The restaurant was fairly expensive but reasonable quality. The service varied from excellent to terrible depending on the staff member. Be careful when paying the bill, we were given the wrong bill for one evening meal although to be fair they were trying to under charge us.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank KathrynB48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Evergreen_Lodge, Owner at Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Hello, I’m Lee Zimmerman, one of the owners of the Evergreen Lodge. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed a comfortable, peaceful time at the Evergreen. I apologize that the service was not consistent. Our goal is always to provide warm, hospitable service to all of our guests, and I’m sorry that we fell short on your visit. Thank you for bringing your experience to our attention so we can follow up with our team and continue to improve. We appreciate you taking the time to share.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Came here after purchasing the midweek groupon for two nights in December. So glad I pulled the trigger and bought it. The lodge turned out to be very peaceful and we had most of the place to ourselves. Yosemite had just been covered in snow the week before, so the place looked beautiful. Stayed in one of the renovated cabins, which was clean and cozy, had all of the amenities you would need. About a 10 minute drive to the Yosemite entrance gate, did the upper Yosemite falls hike and was back at the lodge around 630pm. Had dinner at the lodge, food was good and reasonably priced for what you get. Especially loved the drive into the lodge after turning off of the 120. Loved not being around all of the tourists that stay in the valley floor. Would definitely stay here again and take advantage of the close proximity to hetch hetchy.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lauren r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Evergreen_Lodge, Owner at Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Hi, I’m Lee, one of the owners of the Evergreen, and I’m delighted to hear that you got to experience the magic of Yosemite in the winter. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit, and our recreation team will be more than happy to give you pointers on exploring the wonders of Hetch Hetchy. Thank you for taking the time to share your review.
Cheers,
Lee Zimmerman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews