We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best tent at Yosemite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Groveland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We went with the budget option and stayed in a tent, a relaxed change from the hotels we had been staying in. The ablution facilities were new and spotless, always very comforting. We had a delicious dinner in the restaurant followed by a few drinks in the bar. The only point I can fault was that the the wifi was not working in the rec. centre, but maybe a good thing for that proper breakaway! Very close to the entrance to Yosemite.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HennieLotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,793)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,042 - 1,048 of 1,793 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2012

After the formality of Tenaya & Ahwahnee, Evergreen was a breath of fresh air! Quiet duplex lodges, fresh spring water, great pool.
The staff were friendly & helpful, great atmosphere in bar & restaurant, very casual, but quality food & good value wine list. Don't miss the roast cauliflower & elk fillet. Salads also very good.
Excellent massage from Belinda!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hugo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Although presumably the best option in Yosemite National Park, I am quite disappointed. The room was dirty and even the housekeeping did not clean properly after our first night: the mirror had spots from toothpaste, the window boards were not cleaned since weeks and the floor was visibly dirty. My parents refused to take off their shoes! A standing reading lamp next to the couch was broken, nobody changed and repaired it after I have let the front desk know about it and they have written it down. In addition, it is a very long drive from Yosemite which I expected to be closer by. The arrangement of the resort, the style of furniture in the rooms, the restaurant and the friendliness of the staff in both resort and restaurant is remarkable. I really like the approach and location, but for the money paid I expect an impeccable clean room.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fschoenf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed two nights in this lovely lodge outside of Yosemite in early October. It was easy access to Hetch Hetchy for hiking and about an hour's drive into the valley. The cabin had nice amenities and Sirius radio. There was no cell phone service, and little internet connection, but not needed if you want to get away. The gourmet food was great and the store had supplies for picnic lunches.
We recommend this lodge.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlbp1655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

A great location and so much to do here in this part of the park. Good on site facilities and a good range of excursions for you to try. The room was a good size but very basic and the wifi connection is random at best. You cannot get this in your room and have to go to the activity centre to try your luck. Food was good and the choice of beers excellent. Food not the cheapest but certainly not over expensive either but would recommend taking some beers and snacks despite their being an on site shop. The pool is lovely but can be a bit overcrowded at times. All the team were very helpful wether it be toasting marshmallows, given travel advice or just general service and the whole back to nature approach was amazing. Do go and see the sunset from the look out area it is well worth it......

Room Tip: So much choice but very basic in the smaller lodges
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wellssimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had one of the 'semi detached' cabins down the hill from reception. The cabin itself was prety comfortable (although we froze on the first night, because we didn't realise that the window was wide open! - there's a thick bug screen over the windows that made it look to our European eyes in the darkness that there was a pane of glass behind it). On our first night, our neighbours were very noisy, disturbing us through the rather thin walls.
Once we sorted out the window and the guests next door left, things got much better.
The pool and hot tub were lovely, although quite a walk from our cabin - I didn't mind this walk the night that we saw a juvenile bear on our way up there (you really do need to adhere to the warnings about bears, and don't leave any food or smelly stuff in your car overnight!)
The store is small but reasonably stocked. If you tell them you are a cabin guest, you can get bags of ice free - useful for that duty free gin!
If you want a change from duty free gin, the bar is friendly and warm.
The lodge is about an hours drive from the Valley. We went to see sunset over the Half Dome, which meant a 90 minute drive back in the dark along very twisty, narrow roads. Hard work for my husband, who really needed the pool and the bar after that!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights with friends in a 2 bedroom lodge and really enjoyed our stay.It is back to nature but we did not see much wildlife.The restaurant is fine but we found the food quite rich,there was nothing plain,but saying that we did not starve.If you stay here take a Travel Kettle.
If you need to make a bottle for your baby you have got a problem! The staff are very helpful,we went on the glacier full day trip with Bryant and Alex and had a really good day would recommend this trip.
On the whole we had a very good stay here and would stay here again if in this area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holidaytommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
4.6 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#2 of 7 in Groveland
554 reviews
16.9 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,928 reviews
17.9 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,202 reviews
20.5 mi away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#3 of 7 in Groveland
827 reviews
20.4 mi away
The Groveland Hotel
The Groveland Hotel
#5 of 7 in Groveland
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite

Address: 33160 Evergreen Road, Groveland, CA 95321-9772
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Groveland
Price Range: $139 - $382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Evergreen Lodge is a newly expanded full-service historic resort featuring 88 spacious cabins in the woods. The lodge sits on 20 acres just a mile from Yosemite National Park in California, putting top attractions - Yosemite Valley, Tuolumne Meadows and Hetch Hetchy - in easy reach. At the lodge, savor a delicious meal, kick back in the classic tavern and enjoy other amenities, including Evergreen's sun deck, game room, kids play areas, nightly activities and therapeutic massage. Ready for adventure? Evergreen's professional guide service offers a variety of sightseeing, hiking, biking, fly fishing and snowshoeing tours, as well as free planning advice for self-guided adventures. A Frommer's 'Favorite' and 'Highly Recommended' by Fodor's, the Evergreen provides the perfect mix of recreation, relaxation and indulgence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, JackRabbit Systems, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evergreen Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Groveland
Evergreen Hotel Groveland
Evergreen Hotel At Yosemite
Evergreen Lodge Yosemite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing