We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel to explore Yosemite from.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   33160 Evergreen Road, Groveland, CA 95321   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Groveland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great hotel to explore Yosemite from.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Superb location very close to the west entrance of Yosemite. Great cabins/staff/food/pool, one of the best places we stayed during our visit to California. We received a free upgrade from a Vintage cabin to a King cabin upon arrival which was a very nice touch from the check in staff. The hot tub is well worth a visit during your stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank overmarsirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    870
    435
    86
    50
    37
See reviews for
556
603
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Very good service and nice people, food is very good but the selection is very limited. Portions are big so sharing a plate is a consideration. Location is in side road of Cal 120, 8 miles from main road.
Cell signal is almost one hour from the Lodge. Internet is very limited and wifi is impossible. There are 6 very old computers with Explorer 6 that make it worse. Checking your e mails is about the only thing that you can do.

Room Tip: Some cabins are very far from main facilities and no close parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Primo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stayed in Evergreen May/June this year and loved it, travelling from Napa, we were impressed by the change of scenery and then weather! Arriving to see sleet was a little worrying!

However, the diverse weather is part of the charm.

Arriving to our lodge, we were glad to see the Gas fire in the middle of the room blazing away… lots of space and specifically good solid furniture that you’d expect in a lodge versus perhaps more luxurious items we’d expect in a fancier European type Hotel.

The restaurant is excellent, we were worried that being so far from anywhere else – Groveland itself was so far away, we didn’t fancy driving to it to compare… well the dining in the restaurant did not let us down at all – great choices and varied enough to change each evening.

Staff are young and friendly (putting up with plenty of nonsense from, let’s just say people who may not travel very far!) these youngsters (and I believe the chefs are all around 27 years old) do a great job improving the usually banal interaction you have with staff in most US Hotels/restaurants they enjoy the conversation. Nice bar/tavern, great music at the weekend, (and even I was interested in the Sports on the TV) good selection of beers and whiskies.

Great location to Yosemite, which was a very busy place for middle of the wilderness! :o( Hetch Hetchy was the highlight for a true hike.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Deluxe cabin - plenty of space and a great view into the wilderness from the Balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gerrymac32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We recently stayed three nights at Evergreen Lodge and although not situated within the park Evergreen is a perfect base to explore Yosemite. It is about 7 miles from the park entrance gate and a further 14 miles or so from the valley but the drive in is pleasant and the peace and superb accommodation of the lodge more than compensated for the journey back and forth. The valley area and accommodations in the park were very busy during our visit and it was nice to get back to the peace and quiet of the lodge after a day in the park. We chose a deluxe unit which was spacious, well equipped most comfortable and had a very pleasant rear deck. The food in the lodge restaurant was excellent and reasonably priced and the service from all of the staff was very friendly. We highly recommend Evergreen Lodge as an excellent base for visiting Yosemite provided the distance from the valley floor is acceptable.

Room Tip: our deluxe unit was well worth the extra cost with a very pleasant private rear deck and a spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maragani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We spent a couple of nights at the Evergreen Lodge while visiting Yosemite. The place is simply charming. The staff are courteous and friendly. We had a two-bedroom cabin. It was clean and well-kept. On our second day, we came back early from Yosemite just to spend time at the lodge. There is a large pool and Jacuzzi where you can soak in the sun among some beautiful trees, shrubs and flowers. For a lodge in the wilderness, it doesn't get better than this. We ate breakfast and dinner at the lodge. The meals were excellent and the price was reasonable. If we ever make it back to Yosemite, we'll come to the Evergreen Lodge and spend even more time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My family and I stayed at Evergreen Lodge over the summer and in one word it was ....AMAZING... it was our first time to visit Yosemite and to say it was awe ispiring is an understatement. We loved our camping facilities and the staff went out of their way in providing excellent customer service. The dining was good however the menu was limited..we only had one bad experience with a server but besides that everyone seemed to want to make sure we were having a great time. Kudos to Stephen Raye Childs who took us on a sunset wine tour..not only was he extremely knowledgable about the area along with the wildlife but he had to be one of the most upbeat and positive people I have ever met ...his love and enthusiasm for his job is evident. We look forward to coming back!! - Carol Thompson

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 691chinchin691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

My husband and I loved our private cabin. The dinners and breakfasts were delicious. We really enjoyed the friendly staff. Beautiful pool/jacuzzi. Great place to unwind and escape from technology. Plenty for families to do as well. Highlight was our full day tour with our guide Stephen. He was very informative and friendly and was willing to adjust the tour/sights based on our desires. Made for a very enjoyable day. Took the hike down from Glacier Pt. and the views were breath taking. I would highly recommend Evergreen lodge, a tour with Stephen and a drink at the tavern to any fun loving, nature loving person or family.

Room Tip: Recommend a private balcony! Can't beat the serenity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
16.9 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 3,340 reviews
14.9 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 stars 1,722 reviews
20.5 mi away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#2 of 6 in Groveland
4.5 of 5 stars 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
The Groveland Hotel
The Groveland Hotel
#3 of 6 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 stars 531 reviews
14.6 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 stars 3,210 reviews
11.7 mi away
Yosemite Westgate Lodge
Yosemite Westgate Lodge
#4 of 6 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 stars 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite

Property: Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
Address: 33160 Evergreen Road, Groveland, CA 95321
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Evergreen Lodge is a newly expanded full-service historic resort featuring 88 spacious cabins in the woods. The lodge sits on 20 acres just a mile from Yosemite National Park in California, putting top attractions - Yosemite Valley, Tuolumne Meadows and Hetch Hetchy - in easy reach. At the lodge, savor a delicious meal, kick back in the classic tavern and enjoy other amenities, including Evergreen's sun deck, game room, kids play areas, nightly activities and therapeutic massage. Ready for adventure? Evergreen's professional guide service offers a variety of sightseeing, hiking, biking, fly fishing and snowshoeing tours, as well as free planning advice for self-guided adventures. A Frommer's 'Favorite' and 'Highly Recommended' by Fodor's, the Evergreen provides the perfect mix of recreation, relaxation and indulgence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evergreen Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Groveland
Evergreen Hotel Groveland
Evergreen Hotel At Yosemite
Evergreen Lodge Yosemite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing