We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious, delectable, and delightful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Groveland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Delicious, delectable, and delightful”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

After a long day of hiking Vernal Falls, my husband and I took a few moments to visit Hetch Hetchy dam. Knowing we'd arrive very late home, we opted to stop at Evergreen Lodge for dinner. What a delight! He had the lamb chops and I had the steak. It was 5 star chef quality dining in a blissful location. The wait staff were friendly, outgoing, and helpful - beyond that they were so professional that they left us alone to eat, capable of keeping an eye on us without annoying us with "how's it going" comments. We'll be back and this time, we plan to stay the night!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leftie9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    984
    507
    108
    53
    41
See reviews for
657
690
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
117 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

We very much enjoyed our stay in the lodge. We had a family cabin, two bedrooms and a living room. No kitchen. The cabin was very clean and everything was brand new. The grounds are very nice, good atmosphere, deers walking around. A lot of activities, most for free. Friendly staff. We had dinner, which was extremely satisfying. The downsides of the lodge where the price (but after our stay I must admit that it was worth it) and it's quite a drive to Yosemitey valley. I would easily stay again though. A big up!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fromzewoodz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Evergreen lodge is situated very close to the Western edge of Yosemite Park and about a 6-7 mile drive off Highway 120. It is also about a 5-6 mile drive to Het Hetchy reservoir. The staff were very friendly and helpful and our cabin, while basic, contained everything we needed including a safe. The Lodge property reflects its wilderness location so internet/social media junkies will have to endure some cold turkey because while the lodge has satellite internet and computers are provided for guests' use the notices advising that reception is patchy are true to their word. There are various other facilities such as a games room, bike hire and a swimming pool but we didn't use them.
We ate in the Lodge restaurant with a certain degree of trepadation; after all you are a captive guest and I suspect many of us have eaten in such places where the food and service reflects that status. We couldn't have been more wrong. The menu was varied, the food very well cooked and delicious served by attentive waiters/waitresses. Pricing was big city i.e. a main course for $20 give or take but again you need to remember how out of the way the Lodge is and actually represented very good value. It was a similar story with breakfast and for four of us it cost $50. Delicious, filling and much better value than many big city hotels.
The downside of the basic cabin is that in August it is hot. A fan is provided but it's too noisy to have on while trying to sleep. Mid August nights were balmy and pleasant outside but inside the cabin was pretty warm. In terms of price a cabin for three nights with food came in at around $1250. Not cheap but again remember where this is and it was in peak season and with the Western Gate of the park only a further half mile on once you reach the 120 the location is perfect.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oxtedsurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Loved this lodge,

I was very grateful when Tara (in events) went out of her way to get some documents I needed sent when the internet went down.

Excellent food at the restaurant,

the staff all work very hard.

Nice rooms, although a little dark. Good bar and fun vibe

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Spent 3 nights at Evergreen Lodge as part of our Californian road trip, and my main complaint is that we couldn't stay for 3 WEEKS!! Absolutely loved the place from the moment we arrived- it is set in the woods, far from the madding crowd, and an easy 7 mile drive to the main Yosemite Park entrance, and we'd also recommend the time of year for a visit, no crowds in the park or at the Lodge, and temperatures still in high 90's!
Got a warm welcome when we checked in and an even warmer one in the bar when we had our first beer- such friendly easy going staff everywhere in fact, the pool area, the shop, the recreation area, the restaurant.
We had a Deluxe King Cabin which looked like it was brand new- it was a combined living area and bedroom with large sofa, coffee table, extra chair, bedside tables, open hanging space, a safe and mini fridge, and plenty of space to move around. The separate bathroom was really big with walk-in shower. There was also a private patio with 2 chairs, overlooking the woods. Each cabin unit is semi-detached, but then well away from the next unit, with parking right outside, and we had no problem with noise of any kind - including television, as there isn't one!! Heaven indeed! Think there was some sort of satellite radio, but didn't even consider using it, and WiFi signal was only available in the recreation area, and then a bit hit or miss depending on the satellite, but it's surprising how quickly you realise that you don't need all these things on holiday!!! The whole complex is set on either side of a road (very quiet one) and we had a cabin in East Village which is away from the main buildings and suited us perfectly- if you have kids you may want to be nearer the action of the pool, shop, recreation area on the other side, but nowhere is far away! And at night all the roads and pathways are lit up like Xmas so you can't get lost!!!
Foodwise the restaurant is very good- a much higher standard than we were expecting, although that is reflected in the price, that and the fact that once you're back from a long day out you are a captive audience as you are several miles from other options! The shop sells other basic food and provides a toaster, microwave and coffee machine for heating things up, but it is fairly limited- we were absolutely fine for 3 days but for longer stays a bit more planning to eat whilst you're out may be needed if you don't want a hefty restaurant bill!
There is plenty to do onsite day and night, including a great pool with hot tub, and also a good programme of guided tours into Yosemite itself. We decided to let someone else do the driving for a day and booked the Yosemite Valley/Glacier Point tour, $110 each including lunch, which wasn't cheap but turned out to be a highlight of our entire holiday! Sure that all the guides are brilliant but if you find yourself out and about with Bethany Kindiger you're in for a treat! She is so knowledgeable about everything Yosemite, but in a friendly and humorous way, and in the 8 hour trip we saw and learnt things we'd never have on our own- just brilliant, can't recommend it highly enough!l
Trying to think of anything we didn't like to give a balanced review but can't come up with anything! Might just suggest that it is a family orientated place and from some other reviews I've read I can understand that in the high season/school holidays it would be a lot more crowded over on the main site, and there would probably be a wait to eat in the restaurant, but avoid those times like we did and you'll have an awesome time in awesome Yosemite!!

Room Tip: Cabins in East Village are newer and quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judyg54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills, California, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We spent two nights in a two bedroom/one bath cabin. No tv or cell phone service, but a land line is available free for use. The Sirius satellite radio is a nice touch in this first class property. The rooms were very clean and the beds comfy.The food was excellent, though pricey.We didn't realize less expensive burgers, etc. were available because we didn't turn the menu page the first night. This is a peaceful, relaxing place where we felt miles away. Yosemite Valley is less than an hour's drive away. It is a six mile drive off Hwy. 120.

Room Tip: The two bedroom cabin was pleasant and quiet. We loved the porch and the living room area was comfy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Our stay at Evergreen Lodge was part 3 of 3 on our Honeymoon excursion. Put simply - we were delighted. From the moment that we entered the main cabin to check in until we rolled out on our way back to San Francisco, we received nothing but professional, helpful, fun, and friendly service. The resort setting was just beautiful. After visiting the wonderful Yosemite Valley the next day, we both commented on how glad we had a peaceful place like Evergreen to return to. I can still smell the pines in my memory! The lodging was rustic but plentiful with amenities. We also really appreciated the Sirrius radio for entertainment. Although everything about Evergreen gets my best rating, it was the Restaurant / Bar that went off of the charts. When I first learned that there was one place to eat in the resort, my thought was....I sure hope it's okay. Everything we had to eat there was superb - especially the breakfasts we had. And again, the service? Excellent. In particular, on our first night there, we strolled over to the bar for a nightcap and something to eat. The television had the Baseball All-Star game going (thumbs up from us as we are baseball lovers), and the bartenders were super friendly and fun loving about our support of a team other than theirs. The hamburgers we had that night were the best either of us has ever had. After re-reading this review, I am thinking that some will think we either own Evergreen Lodge, or that someone is paying me for this review. Neither. It was just that good. Go!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kgauthier42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
4.6 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
377 reviews
14.9 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,005 reviews
20.5 mi away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#2 of 7 in Groveland
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
The Groveland Hotel
The Groveland Hotel
#5 of 7 in Groveland
574 reviews
14.6 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3,780 reviews
11.7 mi away
Yosemite Westgate Lodge
Yosemite Westgate Lodge
#4 of 7 in Groveland
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite

Property: Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
Address: 33160 Evergreen Road, Groveland, CA 95321-9772
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Evergreen Lodge is a newly expanded full-service historic resort featuring 88 spacious cabins in the woods. The lodge sits on 20 acres just a mile from Yosemite National Park in California, putting top attractions - Yosemite Valley, Tuolumne Meadows and Hetch Hetchy - in easy reach. At the lodge, savor a delicious meal, kick back in the classic tavern and enjoy other amenities, including Evergreen's sun deck, game room, kids play areas, nightly activities and therapeutic massage. Ready for adventure? Evergreen's professional guide service offers a variety of sightseeing, hiking, biking, fly fishing and snowshoeing tours, as well as free planning advice for self-guided adventures. A Frommer's 'Favorite' and 'Highly Recommended' by Fodor's, the Evergreen provides the perfect mix of recreation, relaxation and indulgence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evergreen Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Groveland
Evergreen Hotel Groveland
Evergreen Hotel At Yosemite
Evergreen Lodge Yosemite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing