We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basically amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite Restaurant

Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 21 Restaurants in Groveland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Birmingham
Level Contributor
144 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Basically amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2011

Busy restaurant - so book a table. Huge portions, andexcellent quality. Can't be faulted if you're staying at the lodge.

Visited December 2010
Helpful?
Thank ugm6hr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    105
    25
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Level Contributor
182 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Awesome breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

Exactly what you need to start to the day of hiking in the park, excellent options, well cooked and fresh made.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Cocktails”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

Loved the bartender and the cozy fire in the bar great drinks and great cozy feel

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Sonia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta, Wyoming
Level Contributor
189 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“great food in a beautiful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

We had a couple beers at the bar... it's nice and cozy in there with alot of wood accents. I then had a couple maritni's.. they were pretty good too, but as it turned out they were $13 each.... they weren't THAT good. It was really my only complaint of the whole night.

Soon, all the tables started filling up in the bar, so we glanced in the restaurant area and so no one in there, and it was a little bland compared to the bar as far as atmosphere, so we stayed in the bar.

I had the regular greens salad with blue cheese... very fresh and tasty.

Wife had the squash soup... it was not really like soup as it was very thick, but wow, it was good.

For dinner, the wife had the stuffed trout.. we both agreed it was excellent.

I had the grilled vennison tenderloin... with mashers. It was unreal. I have only had vennison a few times, but this tasted more like steak.. not gamey at all, and the pomegranate sauce was good too, even though it sounds weird.

Everything was also presented very nicely.

It was not cheap, our bill came to $94... but when I get excellent quality food, I don't mind paying that. As I said, the only thing that was a little out of it's league were the $13 dirty martinis.


Service was very good considering the bartender was very busy... and taking orders and waiting tables, making drinks..

Probably would give it 4.5 stars.

Make an effort to stop in this great place off the beaten path on the way back from Hetch Hetchy... or anywhere in the area. You won't be dissapointed.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mtnmanlives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

We ate here as it is really the only option. All the meals were nice and ingredients fresh. The kids especially like the Leaping Lizard mocktails. By US standards it is a little expensive but you are paying for the location.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank kj78_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing