We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Amazing 2-day tour with John and Vivian!

My family of 11 engaged John and Vivian's tour service for a 2-day tour of Yosemite in March. Prior... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
JanetC3166
Superb guide for Yosemite visit!

We arrived in Yosemite a few nights ago with little planned. We had no guide service, and were... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Wiz628
,
Seattle, Washington
Read all 101 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Groveland
from $181.00
More Info
from $207.00
More Info
from $269.00
More Info
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveler rating
100
0
0
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
100
0
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews backpacking trip two days his knowledge high sierras el capitan day trip exceeded our expectations top of the line out of the way mile hike into consideration next morning flora and fauna awesome guide great guy thanks john short notice
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 101 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2018 via mobile

John was a Great Guide!! He was very informative of the Park inside and out. My sister and I wanted to experience the Park and not be rushed or around a big crowd and he did the job! He listened to what we wanted to experience and went to areas that we would have never seen without a guide. I am so glad we picked John Klienfelter. He made sure we saw all that we could see, and every stop or hike was very well thought out. The Lakes and rapid rivers were beautiful. John made our day at Yosemite a memory that will be treasured. We would definitely use John again and the money spent was well worth it!! A Great Day at Yosemite! Thank again John Klienfelter!!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Teribark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2018

My sister and I went with John for the day and he was able to drive so we could gawk at scenery, also knew where to get a great cup of coffee and when we asked to get away from the crowds for a personal experience he took us to a great couple of places and was so attentive the entire time. John made our experience unforgettable and we were able to relax and enjoy the park without the crowds, I saw some of the other groups with too many people stopping at all the crowded spots, we escaped that thanks to John. My sister is interested in trees and wildflowers and his knowledge was impressive, in short if you want a personal experience from someone who loves his work, hire John, fairly priced and worth every penny, I would hire him again.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank lonestarcars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2018

John planned a great 4 mile hike for us. We are ages 55-63 and do not hike on a regular basis. He took this into consideration and also gave great suggestions for the day before. Our hike with John was out of the way of the crowds and it was stunning!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank youragent6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2018 via mobile

Booked John for a day trip for a group of 8 seniors. They were very pleased with his personality and how he was able to share his vast knowledge of Yosemite. John was very accommodating to everyone’s level of hiking ability and was able to take them to great spots throughout the park. The group all felt it was money well spent to have John give them a specialized tour. Do not miss an opportunity to use John’s guide service when visiting Yosemite.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank leeanncoffelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2018

We hired John to guide our family of four for a day during our first visit to Yosemite. It was the best money we spent on this trip. John was very professional from our first contact with him; ahead of our visit he emailed lots of information as to what we would need, asked lots of questions so he could customize his tour for us, and was very responsive. He was very enjoyable to be around for the day, was fantastic with our kids (11 and 13), and was flexible all day. Our tour was really interesting, not 'canned', and was a great mix of nature info combined with the history of the valley. His van was nice, new, clean, and comfortable--we could just relax and enjoy the ride. Would give this experience 6 stars if I could. We are already planning a trip back to hire John for a back country camping excursion.

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank daneW1918GN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews