We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Amazing 2-day tour with John and Vivian!

My family of 11 engaged John and Vivian's tour service for a 2-day tour of Yosemite in March. Prior... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
JanetC3166
Superb guide for Yosemite visit!

We arrived in Yosemite a few nights ago with little planned. We had no guide service, and were... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Wiz628
,
Seattle, Washington
Read all 101 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Groveland
from $181.00
More Info
from $207.00
More Info
from $269.00
More Info
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveler rating
100
0
0
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
100
0
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews backpacking trip two days his knowledge high sierras el capitan day trip exceeded our expectations top of the line out of the way mile hike into consideration next morning flora and fauna awesome guide great guy thanks john short notice
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 101 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2015

The 3 nights/4 days we spent backpacking with John (and his wonderful, well-trained, and fish-crazy golden retriever, Parker) in the Hoover Wilderness at the northeast corner of Yosemite National Park was an outstanding experience. John is knowledgeable and passionate about the area, as well as an easy-going and friendly fellow-traveller. He took the time to figure out what we really wanted to experience (views, fly-fishing and wildflowers) as well as our physical abilities, and put together the perfect route. The wildflowers on the Return Lake loop were off the charts, the fishing was good, and the hikes were beautiful and challenging but well within our fitness comfort zone. Perfect! John supplied up-to-date, good-quality equipment and provisions for the trip. Everything was in great condition. If you've had much experience with outfitters or outdoor liveries, you know how important this is. We really just can't say enough good things about John and the whole fantastic experience. Highly recommend.

Date of experience: June 2015
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2015

We spent 3 fantastic days in Yosemite with John. The weather was less than kind!! Think thunderstorms, hail and torrential downpours, but we still managed to explore far and wide across the National Park. It was also Memorial Day weekend so the Park was really busy but John managed to find some beautiful, unspoilt places where we could really appreciate the natural beauty of Yosemite. John was a great guide, a really good cook and very good company. We feel that we made the very best of our short stay in a beautiful place and certainly saw far more than we would have done on your own. Definitely recommend John so that you can get to places and see things that only a local can show you. Thank you, John.

Date of experience: May 2015
Thank JS2604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2015

My wife and I chose John as our guide and were not disappointed. John is a wonderful guide, knows Yosemite National Park like it's his own backyard and goes out of his way to accommodate individual needs. We are birders and wildlife enthusiasts so along with the phenomenal sights that Yosemite has to offer John was able to show us quite a few birds and mammals along the way.

Our 3 day adventure included 2 nights "luxury camping" and even though there was a bit of snow around our camp site and accommodations were warm and cosy.

John is a great cook as well. One night as we were searching for the elusive Great Gray Owl John prepared a restaurant quality seafood pasta. John also knew a great deal about the history and geology of the park which added to the experience. If you are looking for a great guide who will look after every detail you will not be disappointed. very highly recommended!!

Date of experience: May 2015
2  Thank PaulH255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2015

John is an experienced, knowledgeable guide, who will design a backpacking trip that suits your interests and capabilities.
Most of our small group had never backpacked before but were relatively althletic hikers. Rather than slogging through a grueling one-day Half Dome hike, we decided to experience Half Dome in a more enjoyable 3 day/2 night backpacking trip. After doing research, John’s Yosemite Guide Service seemed the best due to his excellent reviews, small groups, and specially tailored trips. John quickly obtained permits and designed a 3 day/2 night backpacking trip for us. Backpacking is a logistical challenge that can make the experience stressful if you don’t know how to backpack or the area. John’s equipment is new and high-quality and he cooked delicious meals for us. John has a wonderful way of being fully present, keeping track of all group members and ensuring our safety and comfort, while being low-keyed and friendly. With John as our guide, we had a fun, fantastic and unforgettable adventure!

Date of experience: September 2014
1  Thank speedtraveler3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2014

We had the pleasure of spending two days hiking in Yosemite with Martin on 10/30 and 11/1. What an incredible experience!! The park is spectacular of course, but Martin knew hikes off the beaten path to give us views we never would have had otherwise. AND, his encyclopedic knowledge about the park - the history, culture, geology, geography, and biology - made the hikes so much more enjoyable. We could not believe our good fortune in having found Yosemite Guide Service for our trip! We plan to go back again next spring and will absolutely call them again!

Date of experience: October 2014
3  Thank Elise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews