We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Family Hike of lifetime”

Yosemite Guide Service
Ranked #2 of 10 things to do in Groveland
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Customized, private outings providing exceptional day hikes, backpacking trips, camping trips, and special tours - guided by professionally trained naturalists in the Sierra Nevada and Yosemite National Park. Specializing in small groups and exclusive, customized trips, Yosemite Guide Service leads you to the less visited, more secluded, and most extraordinary destinations. With over 25 years of experience and regional knowledge, explore Yosemite and the Sierra Nevada wilderness with a professionally trained naturalist.
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A Family Hike of lifetime”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

A absolutely incredible trip of a lifetime! John is an incredible guide. My husband and I wanted to introduce our 7 year old along with our 2 nephews and niece and their parents to hiking. We wanted the trip to be something we would all remember for the rest of our lives. John gave us just that! The campsites were beautiful, the scenery was more than we could have imagined, granite mountains, fast running streams and tall trees. We felt like we were hiking in a commercial. These were vistas that will be forever in our memories. John had absolutely everything planned and organized. His packs, tents and gear were top of the line (not the usual rental stuff) He made our time on the trail so much fun. Our 7 year old now wants to be a hiking guide, just like John when he grows up. John, we don't know how to adequately say thank you enough for giving our family a memory that will be carried for generations. The kids are already talking about how they want to take the same hike someday with their kids. I would recommend John and Yosemite Guide Service to everyone.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LetaH0131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    0
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Backpacking Adventure in the Hoover Wilderness.”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

My friend and I meet up with John to backpack the Hoover Wilderness. He took us for a three day and two night trip. John and his lovely dog parker packed food and outfitted us for our entire stay. Our main goal was to Fly Fish! I have to thank him for giving me on of the best Fly fishing lesson's ever and for being there when I caught my first fish!

We all caught some wonderful brooke trout, brown trout and Rainbow's.
One of those Rainbow's (caught by John) was our dinner.

Again John was a wonderful guide and It was beautiful trip!
One of the best experiences I and my friend have ever had.

So Thank you John! and Thank you parker for being so cute and keeping away any predators.

***Oh! One Tip I recommend if you plan on catching fish and having them for dinner, bring some tequila and lime and search for some wild onions!
After our stay with John he will be able to make you the best fish marinated in tequila that you will ever have on a backpack trip out in the Yosemite Wilderness!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shannon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience - different way to experience Yosemite”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We had only a short time to spend in Yosemite and wanted to get away from the crowds and the obvious sites. For our family of four with two teenage daughters, John was the perfect guide. He coached us into attacking the ominous looking Lembert Dome, then led us to the Hoover Wilderness for a hike to see three beautiful lakes and an old silver mine location. We were indeed away from the crowd, as we rarely saw others during the entire day. We also saw Mono Lake and the ice cream stand nearby. John is very informative, with just the right mix of science, tour-guide information and nature stories (ask about the bears). We highly recommend!! We only did one day with John, but are sure a multi-day adventure would be even better.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank NoVaWahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My wife and I took a trip to Yosemite recently and, thankfully, we hired John from Yosemite Guide Service to lead the way. Let us just say that John and YGS is a true professional and he provides an outstanding service. We did the "Camp and Hike" package, which was outstanding. We met John in Tuolumne Meadows at 1:30 PM. He was right on time. Due to some VERY strong winds, John re-worked the game plan in order to allow us to make the most of our 3-days in Yosemite. I can't imagine what our trip would have been like without his expertise. First off, John had selected a terrific camp site for us away from most all of the other campers. Next, he had the camp fully set up and prepared when we arrived. Note -- John only uses top-quality camping gear from REI. The tents were great and the air mattresses and sleeping bags were extremely comfortable. We totally forgot we were "roughing it." That first afternoon, John took us on a great hike to the top of a granite dome in the Yosemite. We then returned back to camp and he cooked up an outstanding, healthy meal -- complete with all of the fixings and pre-meal snacks. Oh, and he started the campfire for us to enjoy while he did all the hard work of preparing dinner! The next morning, he make a full breakfast with lots of fruits, eggs, bacon, coffee, etc. Awesome! He also had sandwich fixings and trail mix in order to bring along on our hike that day. And speaking of hikes, this is where John and YGS shines. We went on a hike that next day that was not listed on any of the Yosemite maps. In other words, we would not have been able to take this hike without John as our guide. It was amazing. We took the return route that the maps shows and all I can tell you is that if you think you can figure out Yosemite by the guide books and trail maps on your own, well, you should reconsider. John knows the park inside and out. He pointed out wildlife we would have missed on our own as well. For example, he spotted and pointed us to a pine marten that is a rare site and one that we totally would have missed on our own. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/American_marten After an amazing hike and lunch in the most beautiful spot imaginable, we returned to camp for another great evening by the fire with wine and a wonderful meal (shrimp and pesto pasta this time!). So, in short, we HIGHLY recommend John and Yosemite Guide Service. It will help you make the very most of your trip. In fact, when we return, we will hire John and YGS again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank redfishtrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yosemite”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We are a family of six with four children ages 3,6,8 and 10. This was our first trip out of a major metropolis and we Hired John to introduce us to this new world. We couldn't have asked for a better guide. He took us to all of the major Yosemite highlights and tourists spots but at the same time was able to take us into nature and introduce the different trees and flowers to the kids, giving them a perspective they never would have gotten otherwise. He spoke to them on their level and they loved him and quoted him for days afterward. He also made the trip painless taking care of all the planning and driving as well.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Menachem W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yosemite Guide Service also viewed

 

Been to Yosemite Guide Service? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing