We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Mexican Cuisine!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cocina Michoacana

Cocina Michoacana
Ranked #6 of 21 Restaurants in Groveland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican Cuisine!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

We are a very picky family when it comes to Mexican food, since we live in Chicago, and there are numerous excellent places to choose from. We found this restaurant to have mouthwatering delectable food!!! I had some of the best tostadas that I've ever had!!!! Great wait staff, and great food make this a must do in Groveland!!!!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tymetocruz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    101
    28
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Staff good food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

My wife and I ate at Cocina Michoacana on the suggestion of our Inn Keeper. The restaurant had a lot of authentic Mexican dishes, and the food was a great value. The staff was friendly and seemed to welcome all travelers. On my next trip to Yosemite, I will be sure to stop there again. ***Tip, try the Horchata. Yum.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank stanzeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Solid Mexican cuisine”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Along with the usual Mexican entrees, there were a few regional offerings from Michoacan, the owners' home state. Funky interior - maybe a little TOO funky. They badly need to install new cleaner looking carpeting. Soft drinks only.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank judiriva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Mexican food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

I ate here after a long day of hiking on one of my recent trips out to Yosemite, and I was extremely satisfied. Firstly, the service was excellent. I came in around 9:50pm even though the restaurant was supposed to close at 10pm, and they were happy to seat me and accommodate me even right before closing time. My server was extremely friendly, attentive, and knowledgable about the menu. And, most importantly, the food was excellent! Very tasty, fresh, authentic Mexican food. The portion size was very generous as well! I will definitely be coming back here on my next trip.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best food we had around Yosemite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

We ate here after three pretty terrible dinners at other places in the area. For it's location, I would give it 5 stars. If it was in the middle of SF, maybe not, but the food was great after a day of long hiking. Also they have beer and pretty tasty sangrias. The ambience is cheerful and boisterous and the food was filling. Complimentary chips while you wait. Seriously wish we would have come here our first night in the area!

Also I think this isn't listed correctly in terms of location. It's right in the heart of groveland near all of the other restaurants

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cocina Michoacana also viewed

 

Been to Cocina Michoacana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing