We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Veggies delight”

Dori's Tea Cottage & Cafe
Ranked #4 of 22 Restaurants in Groveland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We invite you to step back in time to enjoy the charming atmosphere of this historical site and to partake in the English tradition of taking tea. Dori's Tea Cottage opened in May 2008 to continue this fine tea tradition and to expand on Dori's life-long love of tea. In 2012, Dori's expanded into the adjacent space that is now Dori's Cafe, which was Groveland's former U.S. Post Office. The Cafe features espresso, gelato, smoothies, fresh brewed iced teas, sandwiches, wraps, quiche, soup, salad and a variety of bakery items. We hope you enjoy your visit - whether you enjoy a quick breakfast, join us for our English tea luncheon, or "Build a Picnic" for your trip to Yosemite.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Veggies delight”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

For a British vegetarian, the roadside food stops in the USA are mostly a nightmare. Dori's in Groveland is a wonderful exception. Thoughtful food - designed with individuals in mind, not burger guzzling automatons. If I could make raspberry and white chocolate scones like Dori's I would be a very happy cook.
Groveland took a terrible hit from the Yosemite fires this year then the Government shut down - the town is on its knees. Give it a boost, eat at Dori's then go happily replete and spend in the town.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    50
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic breakfast!”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We all had delicious breakfast bagels here and sat outside under the grapevines. Dori's has a lovely tea room and shop. The owner made us feel very welcome. Well worth a visit when passing through Groveland!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1__Thompson__1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Historic.”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Friendly host. Nice things to buy as gifts. And the best breakfast Bagel in town... We had breakfast with the owners and got a history lesson on the town.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent service, pretty surroundings!”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We were looking for a place to stop for lunch as we passed through Groveland, and chose Dori's Tea Cottage & Cafe on the main road through town. We opted for the cafe and had a delicious lunch (half-sandwich and salad) outside on the charming little patio/garden. Really good food, great salad with lots of extras, peach-mojita iced tea, and a piece of homemade peach/blueberry pie for dessert. Wonderful friendly service. Recommend highly!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bevatyahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tea sandwiches”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

For the past year my husband have been remodeling our vacation home and found these wonderful tea house in Groveland.Dori and Greg the owners have done an excellent job. Their darling cottage is so warm and pleasing and in warm days you can sit in their charming gardens and enjoy a glass of wine and their wonderful tea sandwiches. They also have great gifts and lots of different teas. Wonderful place to visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Parkerlarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dori's Tea Cottage & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Dori's Tea Cottage & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing