We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty tea and sandwiches” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dori's Tea Cottage & Cafe

Dori's Tea Cottage & Cafe
Ranked #3 of 21 Restaurants in Groveland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: American, British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We invite you to step back in time to enjoy the charming atmosphere of this historical site and to partake in the English tradition of taking tea. Dori's Tea Cottage opened in May 2008 to continue this fine tea tradition and to expand on Dori's life-long love of tea. In 2012, Dori's expanded into the adjacent space that is now Dori's Cafe, which was Groveland's former U.S. Post Office. The Cafe features espresso, gelato, smoothies, fresh brewed iced teas, sandwiches, wraps, quiche, soup, salad and a variety of bakery items. We hope you enjoy your visit - whether you enjoy a quick breakfast, join us for our English tea luncheon, or "Build a Picnic" for your trip to Yosemite.
Sunnyvale CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tasty tea and sandwiches”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

The owners were very welcoming and personable. They were also accommodating when we asked to modify a few of the items in our meal. The food itself was tasty and well presented. The tea selection was impressive.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank gadgetSunnyvaleCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    46
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Modesto, California, United States
1 review
“The most delightful place to eat in Central/Northern California!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

Dori's is most definately the best tea cottage in our area. The owners (Dori & Greg) are warm , welcoming and very service oriented. The food is tremendous. The selection is so good, you may have difficulty choosing what to eat but don't worry, it's all very good. We have gone to Dori's many times and each time is as good as the last!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
“An Excellent English Tea Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

What a great find! We had the best tea sandwiches and couldn't decide which was our favorite. They are all so good. The tea selection was amazing. Our personal favorite was the apricot green tea.

Dori and Greg the owners were so warm and inviting. It was like having lunch at a friend's home.

And the retail selection was great. We picked up some lovely soaps, loose tea and picnic ware.

This is a Must See in Groveland!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Love2eatSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love it!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Nice, very attented people, good lunch & tea. I would recommend this lovely little tearoom to anyone hungry, thirsty or pooling for just a cosy place to eat good lunch-food.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hester1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very nice.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

Stopped for a refreshment after spending the day at Yosemite Nation Park. Hubby went for a lay down, and I thought I would grab a cup of tea.
It's a lovely place to wander into.
Lovely things to look at, and I am sure everyone will see a tea cup that will remind you of your childhood.
Had a spicy pumpkin tea - I thought I would be adventurous and try something different.
It was very nice indeed.
It came with a lovely Raspberry and white chocolate scone.
Very nice and enjoyable indeed.
Give it a go.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 23ros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dori's Tea Cottage & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing