We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sierra Treasure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cub Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 6 Groveland B&B and Inns
San Jose, California
1 review
“Sierra Treasure”
Reviewed May 5, 2010

Found Cubb Inn at the last minute while looking for a place to satisfy my fussy significant other. (The pickings in Groveland are limited!) Everything about the house and accomodations is immaculate, beautiful and comfortable. Joe and Charleen's hospitality is very warm, but not at all overbearing for my more solitary s.o. It was so comfortable that it truly was like staying at a home away from home. As an added bonus for us, there are fabulous non-intrusive cats. We make frequent trips to the area and are thrilled to have found this treasure.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindyx1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    10
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
17
61
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
1 review
Reviewed April 16, 2010

The Cub Inn is the hidden gem of a gateway to Yosemite. Our hosts Joe and Charleen are amazingly warm and gracious. They stayed true to their "Mi Casa Es Su Casa" motto, from filling our bellies with delicious cooked breakfast (even offering to go coffee mugs), recommending yummy spots for lunch and dinner, and being great company with wine and cheese in the evenings. We have a 9 month old baby and small dog, both of whom were also very well received into their family. There's no better place to stay and get taken care of. Joe and Charleen's hospitality even facilitates new friendships, thank you so much for the great experience! Hands down the best B&B we have ever stayed at.

Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank hbdizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2010

Joe and Char are the most gracious hosts! Right from the first phone call in talking with Joe I felt as if I had known him for a long time. Upon arriving I immediately felt at home as if I was visiting old friends or even family.Char even "adopted" me. :-) I also enjoyed all the fire side chats and getting to know the other guests. The log house of course is very warm and inviting with spacious rooms and beautiful accomodations. Honestly I could write alot more. I highly recommend if your going to Yosemite that you stay at The Cub Inn with Joe and Char. You will not be disappointed! Thanks Joe and Char! Looking forward to seeing you two when we extend our honeymoon stay!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinmachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2010

Probably my best B & B visit ever! Stunning log (to call it a cabin, doesn't seem elaborate enough), Breakfast delicious. Best part of the experience, though, was Joe, the owner. Warm, and full of interesting histories and stories. He really took care of us. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlepeople5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2010

we stayed two night in the Cub Inn. and from the first second my two teenaged kids just loved it. The house is enormous, warm, and..... I cannot decribe it you just have to go there. My kids loved the talks and descusions they had with Joe, about everything just name it. These are the most good harted and warm people we have met. My daughter loved the cats, but the cats were not intervering with anything. If you wanted they were there.The breakfast was just subburb!!. I would love to go there again in spring time.
Best place ever!!!!. And so close to Yosemite! Yessssss , see it for your self!>

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank squizy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Grove, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2010

The Cub Inn is a beautiful lodge like log home with a large stone fireplace. Joe and Char instantly made us feel at home with their friendly and natural hospitality. Without our asking they instantly upgraded us to a larger room. All the rooms are cozy and clean with warm touches. The slate showers are quit impressive. We were invited for wine and cheese as Joe made a blazing fire in the fireplace. While relaxing by the fire we enjoyed the house cats and Zoey the dog, all very friendly and good natured. We slept very well on a good king bed with snuggly flannel sheets. Breakfast was a feast that held us way past lunch time. It's a great place to stay outside of Yosemite Park, we will be back.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bandtzito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2009

First of all, i am shocked to read a negative review about this place... Char and Joe were so nice, food was excellent... The house is beautiful! The bathrooms were actually quite large, not like stated in the previous review!

The B&B is only about 30-40 minutes from Yosemite, in a cute little town of Groveland! The Innkeepers were very knowledgeable of the park, and were a great help with deciding where and when to go! We ate and drank at the Iron Door Saloon in town (about 5 minutes), and had a great time...

I'll definitely stay here next time i go to yosemite!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wildcat#7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
19.7 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
0.9 mi away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#2 of 7 in Groveland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
18.5 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,976 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Groveland Hotel
The Groveland Hotel
#5 of 7 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
1.0 mi away
All Seasons Groveland Inn B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cub Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cub Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Cub Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 19301 Elder Ln, PO Box 470, Groveland, CA 95321-9720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful New construction log home, 5 luxury rooms, all with private bath. Very quiet, off-highway, on 3 acres of alpine forested land. Views, great food, homemade bread our specialty. Friendly hospitality. Near Yosemite, public golf course, river rafting, golf, horseback riding. Middle of California Gold Country. Fly in to local airport and we'll pick you up and provide courtesy car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Cub Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing