We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great people, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Groveland Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Groveland
Dunfermline, Scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great people, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2008

Stayed here for 4 nights in Sep after 5 nights in a boutique hotel in San Francisco. Couldn't have had two more different experiences and thoroughly enjoyed both.

Our 4th visit to the US, the best bits of our stay at The Groveland were the people.....and a memorable night in the bar with guests (Ron from Yuma) and hotel staff (Peggy and Megan)........the food, the wine (exceptional) and the location......a great base from which to tour the area, including Yosemite.

I guess if we went back for seconds, we'd want to have a bigger room. It was a squeeze for 2 adults with 2 large bags and a couple of flight bags.

Paul and Lorna, Scotland

  • Liked — Simplicity and comfortable atmosphere, staff, food, wine.....and cosy bar!
  • Disliked — room size, no internet access
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Paully10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    169
    78
    49
    41
See reviews for
80
334
25
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2008

The hotel room (#3) is small, and could hardly hold all luggage , but the room had an overwhelming amount of pillows, cushions, and teddy bears (for those who like that style).

The aircondition did not work well, an option to control the "wind" direction is lacking.

We had a very disappointing experience. When we returned to the hotel at 11 p.m. one evening, the hotel was locked, and the town looked dead all over. We had left the key at the front desk in the morning. A message for us was left at the door with a telephone number to call. However, European cell-phones do not necessarily operate all over in US. Fortunately, we found a nearby bartender, who had not left the place yet, and he helped us out. We called, and subsequently found the key. However, the hotel should have informed us, that they lock all doors at 10:30 p.m!

The food is fine, but the restaurant is on the expensive side, especially on the wine.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Mind3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2008

Just returned home from our stay at Groveland Hotel, we were recommended this hotel by friends and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the rooms are very pretty and the beds are extremley comfortable very welcome after a busy day at yosemite. The standard of food was excellent. Would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissyHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2008

Paid nearly $400 for a musty, dusty room that smelled like an old museum. If you like old, this is your place. Breakfast not ready on time. Wild bar next door--could be fun if you are looking for that and are in your 20's. Value is closer to $100/night but price was high due to time of year and no other hotels serving Yosemite on that side of the park. If you get a cheap rate you can suck it up and stay the night.

  • Liked — Close to Yosemite
  • Disliked — Dusty, musty smell of the room
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Scott J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2008

The hotel was very pretty---the rooms were a nice size and the breakfast was fantastic (and included). It was a little far from Yosemite--1/2 to the gate and 1/2 more to the Valley, but the drive was a beautiful. The town has a few restaurants and stores, and we enjoyed the evenings drinking wine on the porch of the hotel. The restaurant was also great and it was nice to eat outside on a warm evening.

  • Liked — The staff were all friendly and the room was very comfortable.
  • Disliked — It was a lot of driving to go in and out of Yosemite.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NC79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miss
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2008

Where do I start...The Hotel is located just before you get into Yosemite Natl. Park (you can't miss it) The owners Grover & Peggy Mosley were ecellent hosts. They were always making sure our needs were being met. The Hotel is a historical Landmark. It was built in 1849, but has all the modern luxuries of home. LCD TV's in the room, comfortable bed, nice clean bathroom. The staff cleaned our room every morning. The Hotel has complementary breakfest which is excellent (and their cook makes a mean omlet) They also have dinner at night and their Chef has many specialties to choose from plus a great WINE LIST to choose from. We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights and loved every minute of it. If you have an opportunity to stay there you won't regret it.

  • Liked — Location, Food, Wine, Atmosphere
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cm0re
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2008

We stayed in the main building of the Groveland Hotel and our biggest complaint was the noise. The rooms are all close together above the main check in and we heard every person coming and going that night (there are 4 rooms on the floor that share a common area). It is a beautiful old hotel but as such, the doors can be loud and I wouldn't recommend this hotel if you have trouble with noise at night.

On the positive side, the hotel provided a great breakfast and has a great space outside to eat and hang out.

Be aware that the good dinner that we had heard about is not available on Mondays but as long as you are there another day you won't have a problem.

We used this as a staging location on our way out of Yosemite and for that it worked great.

  • Liked — Location on the way out of Yosemite
  • Disliked — Noise level is very high
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ShiftNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
20.4 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
0.1 mi away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#2 of 7 in Groveland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
19.1 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
0.2 mi away
All Seasons Groveland Inn B&B
11.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Groveland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Groveland Hotel

Property: The Groveland Hotel
Address: 18767 Main Street, Groveland, CA 95321
Location: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Groveland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Groveland Hotel at Yosemite National Park is a full service Yosemite region hotel, featuring 17 award-winning guest rooms. Our Cellar Door Restaurant is a casual yet fine dining experience, with a full bar and Wine Spectator Best of Award of Excellence wine list. It is the perfect location for your Tuolumne River whitewater expedition, hiking, biking, horseback riding, fishing, golf at Pine Mountain Lake, or just a great place to hang out and relax. A visit to Rainbow Pool (a great local swimmin' hole) with a great bottle of wine from the Cellar Door makes for a memorable, lazy afternoon. Located on the most direct, scenic route to Yosemite National Park from the San Francisco Bay Area and Sacramento on Highway 120, Yosemite National Park's year-round northern entrance is a half hour or 23 picturesque miles from your Groveland, CA hotel. Our accommodations feature down comforters, featherbeds, private baths, delicious California cuisine, a full-service saloon, a full hot breakfast included with your stay, free parking and free Wi-Fi/high-speed Internet access in all rooms. We also offer free use of a guest computer with Wi-Fi connection and the ability to print out boarding passes at the front desk. Our Tesla electric car charger is available at no charge to hotel guests. The Groveland Hotel is pet-friendly and we welcome guests from around the globe, with all budgets - families, road-weary tourists, business executives, aviation enthusiasts, rock climbers, honeymooners - with gracious Southern Hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Groveland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Groveland
Groveland The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing