We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“We'll stay here again when next visiting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Groveland Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Groveland Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Groveland
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“We'll stay here again when next visiting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Having stayed in Groveland previously, this was our first visit at this hotel, and we will be staying here again when we next visit Groveland. The room, whilst cosy, was cute and full of character. Breakfast was included in our stay and included a range of pastries, fruit, tea/coffee and a breakfast cooked to our liking. The staff were friendly and our only disappointment was not being able to stay longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny_traveller76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    166
    78
    49
    40
See reviews for
79
328
25
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Arizona
Level Contributor
164 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

We decided to stay here and we will be back again one day! Adorable, super clean, pet friendly and comfortable! The perfect place to stay before heading in to Yosemite. The Iron Door next door is also super awesome and highly recommended! Jo Ellen was so nice on the phone and even nicer in person! I've never been asked if I needed a dog bed for my furry friend, how refreshing and welcoming! Super comfortable beds, wi-fi and all the comforts of home. Cute gift shop and the free hot breakfast was icing on the cake. It was super sad to see the burn but so awesome to see that the community of Groveland had survived. Please support these communities!!!!!! Thank you and much love from a former Camp Tawonga employee!

Room Tip: I was sure to ask about ghost stories when I checked OUT, not in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jamcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moody, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Historic hotel in a beautiful quaint setting. Nice room. We had a wonderful dinner and breakfast while we stayed there. Can't say enough about the wonderful staff. Everything was just right! It was recommended by Arlene at the tourist information center in Camp China and we were very glad she made the recommendation. It was a welcome site on the way to Yosemite National Park. Only wish we had more time to sit on the wrap around porch or on the back patio. We will try to stay here again on another trip!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

This was their favorite line during our 3 day stay. First, because even if you booked a suite, there is only a tiny armoire to hang clothing and no wardrobe.
Because there is no more soup of the day
Because there is only one waitress on a busy night
Because the soft eggs were overcooked (2 out of 3 mornings)
Because there is no more mashed potatoes
Because there is no more mushrooms sauce
Because there is no more of the wine you choose
Because there is no more clean red wine glasses and they want us to use champagne glasses instead
But most of all because there was no phone service on the night my husband needed an ambulance. According to the owner, after a storm, the technician did not notice that the phones in the rooms were not working! There is no staff on the premises after 11PM and no instructions for emergency.
I had to run to the firefighters station to get help. They should have a plan B for emergency.
We had booked at Best Western Mariposa but because the critics were so-so, we decided to stay at Groveland hotel ( a Select Registry Inn). We thought it would be charming. We were disappointed. First, the check-in was very cold. We had the suite Lillie Langtry. It has a living room with a nice gas fire place but the sofa is worn out as well as the carpeting. There are also 4 windows directly looking at the porch. The problem is that if you don’t close the drapes, everybody can see inside your room. The room itself is overloaded with tables, chairs, cushions and teddy bears making the room very cramped. The bathroom was probably nice 20 years ago. It is now in a terrible shape. The electric switches on the walls are dirty. The windows are also very old with a large gap between the window itself and the frame, leaving room for outside air to come in. When you come in with your luggage from the parking, you go through an outside earth passage covered by a rug and surrounded by 2 sheds, abandoned white plastic chairs and you open a white door that has not seen a cleaning rag since a long time (see pictures).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heureuxvoyageurs315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesboro, Georgia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We were happy to get first floor accommodations and accepted that the room was small and very cute! The queen bed was a comfortable feather bed style and the room was quiet. We enjoyed delicious appetizers, drinks and entertaining talk in the bar. Unfortunately the next morning we found that only one young man showed up to work in the kitchen, he did an excellent job cooking. Since there was no service, a fellow guest cleared plates from tables and helped a little bit with set up... It took awhile before the desk clerk came to his aid...probably because the guest who helped out suggested that she do so.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Susiegh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We did not stay at the hotel. But we went into town for dinner. We walked the short street trying to make a decision. Keep in mind this is almost 9:00 P.M. on a Wednesday night. The Hotel had many guest in the dinning area as we walked up to look at the menu outside. We liked what we say so we went in to have dinner. We knew in just a few minutes they were under staffed, by the way we were asked to have a seat in the bar which had no bartender. Keep in mind this is a town that has many ups and downs with the fires and closures happening to the whole town. We were in town to pick up our son after working the fire area and finally coming home.Surprise !!! our bartender/waitress/table clearer/named KIM was great and had the right ATTITUDE for the situation. And ANDRE the chef came out yo say Hi at the end. GREAT FOOD.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roselle, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed at the Groveland Hotel after a long day in Yosemite. The location great and not far from the forest entry. All the staff were very friendly and accommodating. We highly recommend this bed and breakfast be on your list. Restaurant on site. Great atmosphere. If we return to the area we will be sure to revisit. Guest parking behind hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYLiberty2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
20.4 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
0.1 mi away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#2 of 6 in Groveland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
0.2 mi away
All Seasons Groveland Inn B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
11.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
9.4 mi away
Yosemite Westgate Lodge
Yosemite Westgate Lodge
#3 of 6 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Groveland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Groveland Hotel

Property: The Groveland Hotel
Address: 18767 Main St, Groveland, CA 95321-9444
Location: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Groveland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Groveland Hotel at Yosemite National Park is a full service Yosemite region hotel, featuring 17 award-winning guest rooms. Our Cellar Door Restaurant is a casual yet fine dining experience, with a full bar and Wine Spectator Best of Award of Excellence wine list. It is the perfect location for your Tuolumne River whitewater expedition, hiking, biking, horseback riding, fishing, golf at Pine Mountain Lake, or just a great place to hang out and relax. A visit to Rainbow Pool (a great local swimmin' hole) with a great bottle of wine from the Cellar Door makes for a memorable, lazy afternoon. Located on the most direct, scenic route to Yosemite National Park from the San Francisco Bay Area and Sacramento on Highway 120, Yosemite National Park's year-round northern entrance is a half hour or 23 picturesque miles from your Groveland, CA hotel. Our accommodations feature down comforters, featherbeds, private baths, delicious California cuisine, a full-service saloon, a full hot breakfast included with your stay, free parking and free Wi-Fi/high-speed Internet access in all rooms. We also offer free use of a guest computer with Wi-Fi connection and the ability to print out boarding passes at the front desk. Our Tesla electric car charger is available at no charge to hotel guests. The Groveland Hotel is pet-friendly and we welcome guests from around the globe, with all budgets - families, road-weary tourists, business executives, aviation enthusiasts, rock climbers, honeymooners - with gracious Southern Hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Groveland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Groveland
Groveland The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing