We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Old fashioned charm with modern comfort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Groveland Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Groveland Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Groveland
Berkeley, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Old fashioned charm with modern comfort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

What a wonderful and charming old fashioned hotel with modern comfort. A great place to stay after our backpacking trip in Yosemite. Our room was comfortable, the food delicious, and the staff extremely helpful, even going out of their way to get us a ride to the service station when our car broke down. We look forward to another stay on our next trip to Yosemite.

Room Tip: Each room has a cute story. Lyle's Room included one about a ghost. No sighting during our visit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CDS-27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    166
    78
    49
    40
See reviews for
79
328
25
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Spent a night here recently - quite nice and would return again. Good food, good service, and a nice quaint country living style. Good value once you consider the extras (morning breakfast, etc.). The restaurant is excellent.

Wi-fi is poor. AT&T service is poor to non-existent. So if you're looking to do some work prior to/after a trip to Yosemite, forget about it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashok K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night and arrived quite late. This is a small town where all of the restaurants close early. Our bartender (Greg) and server (Kim) went over the top and although their kitchen was closed and they had no chef, they went back there and prepared a great meal for my friend and I (including delicious creative dessert) We were incredibly grateful for the kindness. Wonderful service and because of this I would recommend to passerbys heading to Yosemite.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtney D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Our little family had a really nice breakfast at The Groveland Hotel every morning of our visit, courtesy of our innkeepers at Sugar Pine Ranch. Our server/hostess was the very sweet Ms. Barbie Olivera who made our visit warm and welcoming every morning. She was so sweet to our children, they wanted to adopt her as an Auntie!

We did not stay at the hotel but it looked very charming from all aspects outside and around the grounds. A great place to stay overnight (or even a couple nights) if you're visiting Yosemite or Pine Mountain Lake.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorian95118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pershore, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

In such a beautiful location this hotel did not disappoint. The hotel is proud of it's historical history and decor inside was charming and comfortable. The themed and named rooms were a sweet touch. Large rooms with an extremely comfy bed, traditionally furnished it added to the original american experience as well as being very clean. Also after falling ill I remember the bath being comforting and large the breakfast was delicious and there was plenty of choice from continental to american pancakes. it was great for our one night stay just outside of Yosemite. The staff were welcoming. The only little niggle is, that it was rather expensive, but worth it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apd-worc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heerlen, the Netherlands
Level Contributor
217 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed at one of the cottages of Sugar Pine Ranch for 2 nights in July. We loved it!! The cottage was lovely, everthing we nedded and more. There was a large pool that we only used once because we were so busy visiting Yosemite. Craig, the owner was very kind and helpful, thanks to him we even went to Tenaya Lake. We had breakfast in the Groveland hotel, a very good start of the day. We want to visit Yosemite again and we will go back to the Sugar Pine Ranch to enjoy the surroundings and the pool. I can only recommend this place to people (though I actually want to keep it to myself).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vaca2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Don't be fooled by the exterior... This hotel was great! The rooms were beautifully decorated and the beds were so comfortable. The bedrooms were clean and large. The breakfast was delicious. We sat on the outdoor patio and it was refreshing. This is a great place to stay for a night after visiting Yosemite. I highly recommend!

Room Tip: You choose what room you want to stay in as each room is different. Check the website for pictures...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
20.4 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
0.1 mi away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#2 of 6 in Groveland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
0.2 mi away
All Seasons Groveland Inn B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
11.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
9.4 mi away
Yosemite Westgate Lodge
Yosemite Westgate Lodge
#3 of 6 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Groveland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Groveland Hotel

Property: The Groveland Hotel
Address: 18767 Main St, Groveland, CA 95321-9444
Location: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Groveland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Groveland Hotel at Yosemite National Park is a full service Yosemite region hotel, featuring 17 award-winning guest rooms. Our Cellar Door Restaurant is a casual yet fine dining experience, with a full bar and Wine Spectator Best of Award of Excellence wine list. It is the perfect location for your Tuolumne River whitewater expedition, hiking, biking, horseback riding, fishing, golf at Pine Mountain Lake, or just a great place to hang out and relax. A visit to Rainbow Pool (a great local swimmin' hole) with a great bottle of wine from the Cellar Door makes for a memorable, lazy afternoon. Located on the most direct, scenic route to Yosemite National Park from the San Francisco Bay Area and Sacramento on Highway 120, Yosemite National Park's year-round northern entrance is a half hour or 23 picturesque miles from your Groveland, CA hotel. Our accommodations feature down comforters, featherbeds, private baths, delicious California cuisine, a full-service saloon, a full hot breakfast included with your stay, free parking and free Wi-Fi/high-speed Internet access in all rooms. We also offer free use of a guest computer with Wi-Fi connection and the ability to print out boarding passes at the front desk. Our Tesla electric car charger is available at no charge to hotel guests. The Groveland Hotel is pet-friendly and we welcome guests from around the globe, with all budgets - families, road-weary tourists, business executives, aviation enthusiasts, rock climbers, honeymooners - with gracious Southern Hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Groveland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Groveland
Groveland The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing