We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MothersDay Retreat”
Review of The Hideaway Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Greenville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hideaway Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Greenville
American Fork, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“MothersDay Retreat”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

My wife and I had occasion to be in Greenville to visit with her mother for Mother's Day in May of this year.We stayed for 7 days in the HIDEWAY MOTEL,the rate was a little steep for the age of the motel but the owner" Bink " was very accomidating,the bed was great,water was hot,and overall an agreeable experiance.

Room Tip: We were in Room # 4,the toilet did WE were in Unit #4 the bed was great,the toilet didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    6
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
5
8
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northern CA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

If you're looking for five star luxury, go back to the city! But if you're exploring the beautiful area near Lake Almenor and Lassen, this is a great little hotel.
The owner is a very kind and welcoming man who shows pride in his property. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, circa 1970-80's, but everything was very clean and the bedding was comfortable. I would recommend he invest in a nice memory foam pad to cushion the bed a bit, but the mattress isn't horrible.
I would say this hotel compares with the room you'd find at a hotel 6, but you're getting a great host and a beautiful setting. I would stay again if I find myself in this sweet town.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MattAndEmilysTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico,CA
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

I spent two February nights in room #9 of this motel and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. It's no Taj Mahal, but the room was clean, the bed was comfortable, the gas wall heater cranked out an amazing amount of BTUs, and the shower was hot with plenty of pressure and spray. The host, Bink, was very gracious and attentive. The room included a small fridge, microwave, coffee pot, and free WiFi. The TV was small, but I'm not a TV watcher so it didn't matter to me. I would definitly stay at this motel again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ChicoRanMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

This is the place to stay if you're looking to really "get away from it all." The Hideaway is nestled in the woods, surrounded by beautiful, giant Oak and Redwood Trees. Sitting on your porch in the morning with your cup of coffee, you'll enjoy watching the birds, squirrels and chipmunks as they begin their day along with you. At night, the Milky Way is visible, something sadly missing in our cities. The rooms are not new, but very clean and well-ammended and the beds are very comfortable. The owner is very nice and available to answer questions about the surrounding area--he knows it well.

If you're looking for casinos, fast-food restaurants or box-stores, this is not the place for you. But, if you enjoy nature and all she has to offer, I highly recommend the Hideaway.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NatureGirl273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

This place is a dump, considering we paid over $92 per night for it. The lovely Mr. Bink walked us to the cabin and politely announced, take it easy with the toilet, it leaked last winter and I haven't had time to fix it. OK..... He told us this bed is firm and this one is softer. They both felt like rocks. I do have to say it did smell nice (is that cleaniness or good ventilation?) Oh and don't believe that they have hair dryers, irons, they didn't even have any hangers in the closet. The stricker plate was off the door. No kitchen as advertised, yeah it had a microwave and little fridge (I didn't even look in them), and it did have a coffee pot and coffee.

Got you trapped with their 7 (seven) day cancellation policy. Never ever heard of that before. Too bad this Mr. Bink cannot keep up the maintenance with the prices he charges.

Room Tip: What are the amenities provided, i.e. iron, phone, coffee, kitchen, internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank April C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2010

If you are looking for a simple cottage-style base from which to explore gorgeous Plumas County, this is a sure bet. The owner, Bink, is extremely friendly and helpful; a great guy. Our cottage, which is in a line of cottage-rooms, had 2 rooms and a tiny but adequately equipped kitchen. Wall-type heater was a bit loud but did the job fine; bed was the spring mattress type. Bathroom was clean, everything worked fine. Location is beautiful, near a lot of lovely nature attractions. The nearby town has restaurants and services. Round Valley and lake are very near by; in fall the dogwood turns red--altogether making for a fabulous trip!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReturningKamaaina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2010

Charming older motel with nice clean rooms. Nothing fancy or elegant just nice secluded place. The motel is 60 years old but the rooms are clean and nicely appointed and reasonably priced. Very peaceful setting full of charm and wonderful hospitality. Stayed 2 nights. Nice sitting outside our room reading in the evening or having a cup of coffee in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M0untain_girl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenville
19.1 mi away
Best Western Rose Quartz Inn
13.5 mi away
Gold Pan Lodge
Gold Pan Lodge
#6 of 7 in Quincy
39 reviews
25.0 mi away
Roseberry House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hideaway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hideaway Motel

Property: The Hideaway Motel
Address: 761 Hideaway Rd, Greenville, CA 95947-9752
Location: United States > California > Plumas County > Greenville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Greenville
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing