We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wireless not available”
Review of Gold Miners Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gold Miners Inn
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Grass Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2014

The Desk clerk gave ME the number to there Internet Service provider and had Me call to which they old Me that router service out of Range for my room, WHAT, I Do Not work for the hotel........stayed several weeks had to ask for sheet change, no LAUNDRY MACHINES HERE
STAFF is rude and hotel rooms are not cleaned very well.....

Room Tip: Make sure router is in range for room
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scout444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Gold Miners Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear Scout444,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests and for that please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you have experienced and if your stay was negatively affected by our internet service. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope that we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future and show you just how much we care about delivering an above average experience.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
There are newer reviews for Gold Miners Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 144 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2014

I stayed with a friend of mine for two nights at the hotel. We asked for a suite room, and when we got to the room, we found a leak in the bathroom! So we were moved down one floor facing the highway! Their suite is more like a small sized living room! I also was a little annoyed about how you had to have your room key to get into the general store! Everything in the store was too over priced anyways! ($22 for two ice cream bars, pepsi can, and a bag of chips!) The service was very rude too. Im not going back!

Room Tip: "suites are very small"
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Funnybunny1428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Gold Miners Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Dear Funnybunny1428,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am glad you like our location as well as the overall cleanliness of our hotel. However, I am deeply sorry you found our hotel less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
67
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Everything about this hotel exceeded our expectations! The staff was very friendly and helpful. There was a free cocktail hour in the evening and a hot breakfast Buffet in the morning, neither had premium items, but were good none the less and a nice touch! There is a beautiful lobby with a fireplace and tables to hang out. The location is ideal for access to downtown Grass valley, all the shops are just a 5 min walk away!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

I was given a price quote from a manager in reservations and told that I could call back the next day to confirm the reservation. When I called back to make the reservation I spoke to another manager and was told that they could not honor the price was quoted the day before. A good business practice would have been for the establishment to eat the loss since it was their error. The $ difference was less than $20. In the future when I come to Grass Valley I will definately not stay at this hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
5  Thank michele2013862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Gold Miners Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear michele2013862,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments. We understand that having a comfortable stay is important and it sounds like we fell below your expectations. We are sorry for any inconvenience you experienced due to the confusion between the rates that was offered to you. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

I want to extend my personal apology, and to thank you for helping us improve our hotel and services. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel and replace your bad experience with one that reflects our true standards.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We stay here once a year when visiting family. It's perfect for us because it's walking distance into town so if one of us needs to use the car, the other one doesn't feel trapped. Big, quiet rooms, free wi-fi, decent breakfast, nice enough staff. I'm generally not a fan of the Holiday Inn Express chain, but this one is exceptional.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ccdeblaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We came up to Grass Valley for a quick getaway and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The staff at the front desk was super friendly, the entire facility was clean and comfortable, and the location was within walking distance to shops and restaurants.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank Whitney D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We were very pleased with our stay at this Holiday inn Express. the room was very clean and freash. the staff was very polite and was more then happy to help with everything we needed. the Breakfast was the normal holiday inn style and everything wasgood. The town was a joy to shop in and walk through. All in all the visit was great and I'd have to say the holiday inn played a part in that.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SForbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grass Valley
0.2 mi away
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
251 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Gold Country Inn
Best Western Gold Country Inn
#3 of 10 in Grass Valley
392 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holbrooke Hotel
Holbrooke Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grass Valley
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Broad Street Inn
Broad Street Inn
#2 of 5 in Nevada City
146 reviews
3.5 mi away
Northern Queen Inn
Northern Queen Inn
#4 of 5 in Nevada City
117 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sierra Mountain Inn
Sierra Mountain Inn
#2 of 10 in Grass Valley
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Miners Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Miners Inn

Address: 121 Bank St, Grass Valley, CA 95945-6518
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Grass Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Grass Valley
Price Range: $162 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gold Miners Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel In Grass Valley, CaliforniaOur hotel in Grass Valley, California offers premium amenities and the comfort of home for traveling families and business travelers alike.History seems to seep from the sidewalk cracks and through the windows in this Northern California town. Here, visitors can view the historic Empire Mine State Park or the North Power House and learn the facts behind the California gold rush. The Grass Valley community is dotted with local wineries that feature award-winning wines; and in the downtown area, near our choice Grass Valley hotel, tasting rooms abound. Our lodging in Grass Valley is also in close proximity to the Foothill Theatre Company, Scotts Flat Lake and many California Gold Country attractions.Our Grass Valley hotel is conveniently located near several Grass Valley companies such as Nvision, Serra Corporation and Litton Engineering Labs. We are proud to provide free high-speed, wireless Internet throughout our hotel in Grass Valley, CA. For business travelers, we have four meeting rooms on the hotel property, copy, mail and fax services, audio-visual equipment and a business center.During your Grass Valley vacation, you can unwind in the fitness center or enjoy our complimentary hot breakfast bar and on-site deli. We hope you call and enjoy our excellent hotel rates in Grass Valley, CA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Gold Miners Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Gold Miners Inn-Grass Valley
Holiday Inn Grass Valley
Grass Valley Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing