We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel, Great City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gold Miners Inn-Grass Valley
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Grass Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Riverside, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

When we took our son to visit Chico St. this summer we decided to stay in Grass Valley, a little ways away but well worth it. We loved that the hotel is within walking distance of everything in this historic little town. Bonus, we were able to enjoy a complementary happy hour before walking to one of the many restaurants in the area for dinner. The free breakfast bar including eggs, bacon and the best cinnamon rolls was a hit with the entire family. We look forward to getting back to Grass Valley for another visit soon!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa32978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    49
    12
    4
    6
See reviews for
30
47
4
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

Great hotel in a central location. The room was clean and airy. The staff friendly, helpful and welcoming. As there was no dining room for an evening meal we just walked across the road where we enjoyed a superb meal at Villa Venezia. The main street is delightful with modern shops behind genuine old shop fronts.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ilovetouring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in May on business. I had business in Downyville, CA.

The drive from Downeyville to Grass valley was beautiful. The first time it was slow because of the river and sharp turns, but after that you notice the views and it is amazing. Grass Valley was a cute town with lots of places to eat as well as a very nice atmosphere.

The hotel was clean, well kept, and the staff was very professional. The hotel had a "happy hour", "managers reception" that was great to have every evening. However the only downside was the price was a little high for the town it resides in, and it almost double the price of the other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sti1471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2011

this hotel charged me a large fee ($377) for a room for my birthday, then charged a bogus 250$ cleaning fee on top of that because the owner was staying in the room the next night. We completely cleaned the room for them and they charged us for made up things......like feminine products being stashed around the room (I was the only girl there, they were not from me, so obviously they were there when I stayed in the room.....DISGUSTING!!!!!) and "Having to move furniture to vacume up pieces of table confetti" ewe, they don't normally move the furniture and vacume? I am a local and always refer my friends and family that are staying from out of town there, including the 65 guests I was having attend my wedding.......I'm sending them to best western instead.....the rooms are more reasonable and the staff is much friendlier.....

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cerissa77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSAlan, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gold Miners Inn-Grass Valley, responded to this review, April 20, 2011
The Gold Miners Inn- Grass Valley has maintained since opening in 2007 a Quality and Performance Rating in the top 5% of all Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites nationwide, which we take pride in. So, it is important to us not only that our guest have a good time but we take seriously when they don't.
After looking into this issue we discovered that we need to clarify what happened as we understand it. You were having a celebration and rented our best suite. The Hallmark Suite is 1,200 sf with adjoining master bedroom and master bathroom (with whirlpool tub). The living room has a fireplace, large living area, seperate conference table area for dining eight people or private conferences, as well as it's own full bathroom. The weekend charge for this was $350 + taxes ($377).
Your celebration left, among other things, confetti and red stains on the carpet throughout the suite. Apparently you tried to clean these stains with our large towels thus ruining all of them. We also found 2 large trash bags full of trash that someone tried to clean up with. We had to use 2 more 40X46 gallon trash bags to clean up the rest of the mess. It took 4 of our housekeeping staff several hours to scrub, shampoo and deep clean the suite to get it back to an acceptable rental level. For this extra effort we charged you a clean up fee of $250. We have pictures of all this which we could share with you if you'd like. And, now you claim we have been unfair.
We want all of our guest to have a great time but there are limits. In spite of all this, we sincerely hope you have some fun memories from your stay and that your wedding creates many more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2010

Great location, but too pricey. We had a handicap room so maybe that explains small size. In any event, $145 a night is too much. We get s great suite with a view for less at the Bellagio or Palazzo. Staff here was very nice and responsive. Bkfst was very good. Heating system works, but is noisy.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whitneyaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSAlan, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gold Miners Inn-Grass Valley, responded to this review, April 20, 2011
Thank you for your good comments about our staff, location, and breakfast during your stay at our Gold Miners Inn but please allow me to respond to your thoughts that we are too pricey.

Unlike Las Vegas which makes it's profit from mostly gambling we don't. We succeed or fail on the service we give and the quality of our staff, guest rooms and amenities. We take pride in the fact that our Quality and Performance Rating compared to all Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, nationwide, has been continuously in the top 5%. We have a wonderful friendly staff, serve a full hot breakfast, a daily complimentary full bar for our guest (5-7pm) and over 25% of our rooms are suites. All of our rooms have microwaves and refrigerators.
We have great views, too, only of the surrounding hills with beautiful trees. You should see the colors they turn in the fall.
On site we have retail area that includes the Tower Casino and Card Room (we do not share their profits), a UPS business store and the wonderful Bear River Pasta store which makes fresh handmade pasta for individuals, restaurants and markets. We are located adjacent to downtown Grass Valley which has many shops, restaurants and wine tasting rooms. And, we easy access to Hwys 49 and 20.
Obviously, we take great pride in our property and we sincerely would like you to give us a second chance. We invite you back and would appreciate if you would please call our GM, Sean Gilleran, at 530-477-1700, and allow us to change your opinion! Please.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2010

I travel a lot for work. I have never been to a hotel as nice as this one is for the same money.

The staff is always cheerful and very helpful. The rooms are spacious and very clean. It is apparent that the house keeping staff is thorough and efficient with out ever forgetting anything.

The free internet access and office station were both great, and the staff was happy to help me use both.

The conference room I rented downstairs was great. It was set up as I had asked and opened on time for the meeting I was holding.

The hotel is in a beautiful historic part of the city, and in easy walking distance to a variety of great restaurants.

Over all great service, great room, great price, great town. Couldn't be more enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatSPortlandOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2010

My sister booked this hotel through Priceline and we ended up with a lovely suite on the third (top) floor. The suite contained one large bedroom with a king sized bed and bathroom with garden tub. There was also a living room area with a sofa bed, fireplace, another bathroom, a microwave and mini-frig as well as a conference room table and chairs.

The hotel was impeccably clean and the staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast was much better than I had anticipated - everything from cereal and fruit to eggs, bacon, French toast and delicious and huge cinnamon rolls. The food was hot and empty trays were replaced quickly . There were complementary newspapers - USA Today and the local Grass Valley paper - every morning in the lobby. The hotel is located in downtown Grass Valley and it was very pleasant to walk and explore the downtown area - many shops, restaurants and cafes as well as a wonderful chocolate shop!

I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluehouse80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grass Valley
0.2 mi away
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
#4 of 10 in Grass Valley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
3.6 mi away
Northern Queen Inn
Northern Queen Inn
#3 of 5 in Nevada City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Broad Street Inn
Broad Street Inn
#2 of 5 in Nevada City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holbrooke Hotel
Holbrooke Hotel
#5 of 10 in Grass Valley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
20.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Golden Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gold Miners Inn-Grass Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gold Miners Inn-Grass Valley

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gold Miners Inn-Grass Valley
Address: 121 Bank St, Grass Valley, CA 95945-6518
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Grass Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Grass Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gold Miners Inn-Grass Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel In Grass Valley, CaliforniaOur hotel in Grass Valley, California offers premium amenities and the comfort of home for traveling families and business travelers alike.History seems to seep from the sidewalk cracks and through the windows in this Northern California town. Here, visitors can view the historic Empire Mine State Park or the North Power House and learn the facts behind the California gold rush. The Grass Valley community is dotted with local wineries that feature award-winning wines; and in the downtown area, near our choice Grass Valley hotel, tasting rooms abound. Our lodging in Grass Valley is also in close proximity to the Foothill Theatre Company, Scotts Flat Lake and many California Gold Country attractions.Our Grass Valley hotel is conveniently located near several Grass Valley companies such as Nvision, Serra Corporation and Litton Engineering Labs. We are proud to provide free high-speed, wireless Internet throughout our hotel in Grass Valley, CA. For business travelers, we have four meeting rooms on the hotel property, copy, mail and fax services, audio-visual equipment and a business center.During your Grass Valley vacation, you can unwind in the fitness center or enjoy our complimentary hot breakfast bar and on-site deli. We hope you call and enjoy our excellent hotel rates in Grass Valley, CA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gold Miners Inn-Grass Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Gold Miners Inn-Grass Valley
Holiday Inn Grass Valley
Grass Valley Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing