We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pecan pie rocks!”

Cousin Jack Pasties
Ranked #36 of 105 Restaurants in Grass Valley
Restaurant details
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pecan pie rocks!”
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Stumbled upon this little neighborhood joint today while driving through town. The first bite of my chicken pastie was tasty and hot however, I had to send it back twice because the middle was frozen solid. When it came back the second time it was piping hot throughout but very dry. Good thing I had the delicious split pea soup to dunk it in. An English chap said to try the pecan pie because it was simply the best. He was right! It was the best pecan pie I have ever had. Not too sweet and oh so buttery delicious!

Helpful?
1 Thank Susie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    18
    10
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Delicious!”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

A taste of Wales and Cornwall! Take-homes can be frozen and reheat beautifully; great variety from which to choose..

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank tsarinaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn Valley, ca
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dessert pasties are the best!”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We recently wanted to try this unique lunch of a pastie sandwich. It was good and fresh, but a little dry.
We were having company that evening and picked up four apple pasties to reheat later that evening. They were fully cooked then frozen. I defrosted them and heated them. They were delicious served with ice cream! Our guests loved them too. I would certainly recommend their dessert, but not sure if we will have lunch again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cordova, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Traditional Pasties”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Liked the service, the atmosphere, loved the prices. The Cousin Jack's Pasties are well known as an excellent traditional Cornish meal...but not our favorite. It was good to try them....An English gentleman was there too and commented how wonderful they were and reminded him of home.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The pasties are good, the fries could be better”
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Cousin Jack pasties in downtown Grass Valley offers a selection of superb pasties and no choice seems wrong there. The quaint seating arrangement and feeling of the place really makes it an easy place to enjoy a good lunch.
One word of advice - avoid the garlic parmejan fries. They sound good but they're actually quite bad.
Ehud and Brittany Gat
Grass Valley CA.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank MSRogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cousin Jack Pasties also viewed

 

Been to Cousin Jack Pasties? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing