We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think "Bland"!”
Review of Paco's Tacos

Paco's Tacos
Ranked #61 of 105 Restaurants in Grass Valley
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Lincoln CA
Level Contributor
122 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Think "Bland"!”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I don't know what it is with Grass Valley and Mexican food but every place we have tried here gets these good reviews but when we try them they don't live up to the hype......this one sure didn't. I had a burrito and the wife had the shredded beef tacos, both were very bland and almost tasteless, even their weak salsa that we added didn't help either. Come on people this is supposed to be "Mexican" food with plenty of seasoning and lots of good flavors not the tasteless, lettuce filled, stuff we had here today.

We have been by this place many times and always wondered what the big deal was as they promote themselves with big signs out front and of course the reviews here. Today we stopped and found out the truth, it's not worth the money or time. We will continue to try to find decent Mexican food in Grass Valley though I'm beginning to wonder if there really is something good here.........this sure wasn't it!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dizzycatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    8
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
204 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great authentic Mexican food - on the go”
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Not a real obvious location but very central. Great food on the go that tastes like you made it and it hasn't been sitting under a heat lamp. Love a good simple taco and that's what they deliver! Shredded beef with nice flavor, yummy salsa and a crispy "real" shell with lettuce and cheese (be sure to ask for the salsa as it is not put on the taco but on the side). Simple menu, comparable prices but way better food for the money you might typically spend on "fast food"

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Tacos not good”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Had shredded beef, ground beef and mahi-maho tacos. Without exaggeration, they were 80-90% lettuce and cheese. The "World Famous" sign out front (it brought me in, I'm sure it does with most) is misleading, to say the very least. I paid about $8 for lettuce, cheese, and tortillas. Don't go.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
112 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best Southern CA style tacos”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Love their tacos. They are made fresh to order. The use a corn tortilla and fry slightly crunchy with shredded beef, lettuce, shredded cheese and wonderful hot sauce. The taco also comes with salsa and fresh thin crispy warm chips. Everyone I take here loves the place..

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank bobalou19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“LOVE IT!”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Tastiest tacos ever and awesome homemade salsa, and can you beat their prices...NO! Skip the steakhouse and go to Paco's Tacos!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paco's Tacos also viewed

 

Been to Paco's Tacos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing