We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent lunch, fantastic patio”
Review of Tofanelli's

Tofanelli's
Ranked #1 of 105 Restaurants in Grass Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Placerville, California
Level Contributor
162 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch, fantastic patio”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We were in Grass Valley recently and were wondering where to have some lunch before driving home. A helpful shop owner suggested Tofanelli's and we were very pleased with that decision. I had the turkey club salad with blue cheese and my wife had the veggie grill. Both dishes were very tasty; Service was friendly and prompt. We opted to sit on the upper patio and we couldn't have been happier with our choice. We consider this quite a find to add to our list of dining out options.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deepsee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    85
    22
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nevada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely Outdoor area”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Three of us had lunch - great service, food and ambiance. Their outdoor area is probably the nicest in Grass Valley/Nevada City.
Would certainly return -

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MSandDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
158 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Omelette Heaven!”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We have never had such fluffy omelettes. We did not think this sounded like a breakfast place but husband was starving and walking further would have made for some "crankiness"!! We were very glad we stopped here!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jeri f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monrovia, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Service!”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Great food, fresh and perfectly prepared. Patio dining is quite nice with umbrella-shaded tables. Service is warm and fast. I wish my kids were that nice!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Oscar O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not Up to Par”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I've eaten here a number of times over the past 20 years and the food has usually been very good. Hadn't been there for a few years, but decided to go for dinner as we were going to a show at The Center for The Arts right next door. We were seated right away and service was very good. The bread and dipping sauce were also very good as was our salad and soup. My wife and I each ordered a glass of wine. Hers white, mine red. The wine glasses were warm, like right out of the dishwasher and my red wine was too warm. Also, seemed to be from a bottle that had been open a bit too long. My wife had the salmon piccatta which she said was just OK. I ordered the prime rib med rare. It was cooked at least to medium. More like med well. The menu says it's Angus Prime Beef. No way this is prime beef. It was dry, flavorless, and not very tender. I doubt it was even choice grade. I don't plan to go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tntgv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tofanelli's also viewed

 

Been to Tofanelli's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing