We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Sierra Mountain Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sierra Mountain Inn
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Grass Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2007

The Sierra Mountain Inn is very quaint, and newly decorated beautifully. The owners are extremely nice and hospitable. We enjoyed our stay. The outside deck is great for breakfast and snacks. I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MolinaNevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 180 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2007

Owners are very accomodating and friendly. Breakfast on the back patio was *excellent*. A very nice, recently upgraded and renovated roadside motel style inn. Would *highly* recommend to anybody needing a home away from home in Grass Valley!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank envirolaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2007

The Sierra Mountain Inn is a wonderful, small, impeccably clean, completely rebuilt and remodeled hotel with gracious hosts. The weather was great so they served us (the included) breakfast on their
deck...scrambled egg soft tacos with great salsas, fresh fruit, and a slice of poppy seed pound cake. This is definitely a nicer alternative to the motels in Grass Valley, and other guests we met there were as happy with the place as we were.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DianaSacto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2007

What a wonderful experience! Very, very thoughtful and caring service. Our two night Cottage stay was the perfect way to relax during the chaos of building our new home in Grass Valley. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Luvjrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2007

We live local and had our house flood. We were planing on staying at another hotel,when I found this one on your website. I could not believe how friendly they were on the phone. When we arrived they made sure we had a suite with two rooms, so our kids could have their own TV. They made a bad day alot brighter. What a cute place, VERY VERY CLEAN. The breakfast was just yummy. The people could not be any nicer. I cann't wait to stay again, just to get away. Thank you for such great info.

The Barker Family, Big Oak Valley

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mabarkwire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2007

This is without a doubt the best handicap accommodations I have ever experienced! The room was clean, modern and first rate. It was easy to get from the handicap parking to the room and it backed up, to a view from the window of a park like setting. I am ambulatory and could have stayed in any room but even IF you aren't handicapped this is a great room with the wet bar, seating area , fridge, microwave and all the extras. See if it is available!

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank chrystal56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2007

It is not very often that you stumble upon a place as wonderful as the Sierra Mountain Inn. Whatever I write here will not do it the justice that this place and it's gracious owners deserve. From the moment you arrive you can feel difference from most other places... these people care! As you well know, that's a rarity these days. You are not just another number...you feel like their special guest. They seem to go out of their way to assure your comfort, but never overly invasive. They provide an amazing home cooked breakfast. Not one of those awful "buffets" you so often are subjected to. The rooms are thoughtfully decorated and my room even had a lovely kitchenette. The rooms are quiet and sparkling clean and look brand new. Yet the feel of these place is so quaint and relaxing. There's even a 400 year old redwood tree right in the center of the property! You can walk 2 and 1/2 blocks and be right in downtown Grass Valley. Overall, this place is a visitor's haven. It's not too often you discover gold, but the Sierra Mountain Inn, is actually a diamond. You won't be disappointed.

Stayed: February 2007
Thank MrMagicFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grass Valley
0.5 mi away
Gold Miners Inn
Gold Miners Inn
#4 of 10 in Grass Valley
149 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
258 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Gold Country Inn
Best Western Gold Country Inn
#3 of 10 in Grass Valley
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holbrooke Hotel
Holbrooke Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grass Valley
128 reviews
3.9 mi away
Broad Street Inn
Broad Street Inn
#2 of 5 in Nevada City
156 reviews
3.6 mi away
Northern Queen Inn
Northern Queen Inn
#4 of 5 in Nevada City
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sierra Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Mountain Inn

Address: 816 W Main St, Grass Valley, CA 95945-5402
Location: United States > California > Grass Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Grass Valley
Price Range: $119 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sierra Mountain Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled under the redwoods, three blocks walking distant to Old town Grass Valley's shops and gourmet restaurants. Free wireless for the business traveler and vacationer, quiet, peaceful, beautiful, wine tasting just down the street. Tour the gold mines, beautiful country walks, lovely bike rides, close to lakes and rivers for whitewater rafting, water-skiing, fishing and recreation. Come stay with us and enjoy our area - we look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Sierra Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Mountain Hotel Grass Valley
Sierra Mountain Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing