We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Mexican food ever!!!!!”
Review of Plaza Jalisco

Plaza Jalisco
Ranked #19 of 105 Restaurants in Grass Valley
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Grass Valley, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food ever!!!!!”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I grew up on Mexican food, and this is like going home to mom's.Always more food then you can eat,so there's always leftovers yeah !!!!!!! This is a must if you like some spice in your food or even if you don't, there' something for everyone.The owner is just the nicest man and treats us like family.:-):-):-):-):-):-)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank trips420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    13
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Incline Village, NV
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Popular spot”
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

The food is excellent, hefty servings, and reasonably priced. Make reservations or you will have to wait on a weekend night especially. Another tip bring cash they don't accept credit cards or checks.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tbasler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Off the Beaten Path”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stopped here with friends after a motorcycle ride for lunch. They serve chips and salsa and bean dip for starters, but don't eat too much because the lunch is yummy and comes with hefty portions and great prices. The food is fresh and the service is wonderful.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rstronti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A New Favorite!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is a fairly recent addition to the local Mexican restaurant scene in Grass Valley. And it's wonderful! Alerted to Plaza de Jalisco by a friend, we've now eaten there 3 times, and each meal has been terrific. We've pretty much stuck to the Specials -- the carne asada is fabulous (the beef crispy on the outside, tender on the inside); the carnitas are delicious (slow-cooked pork nibblets.) As other reviewers mention, Jalisco serves enormous plates of food; there's no way you could leave hungry. (Ordering dessert has been out-of-the-question thus far.) The service has been very good on each visit -- the last time we ate at Jalisco, one of the waiters kept a neighboring table laughing all evening. Although they've tried to improve the ambience of the restaurant, it's still got that funky charm of a small town eatery.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MeleMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious! So glad we found this little gem.”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The food is fresh and wonderful. I had the chicken mole enchiladas and they were delish! My husband ordered the three combo plate. First, I must say we were surprised at the size of the plate...it was a platter. Two of the items consisted of shredded beef--which tasted like it had been cooking for hours. It was not spicy but was a rich beef flavor--perhaps the sign of quality meat. The third item was a chile relleno, also very good. We've recently moved to Nevada City from SoCal where there are many Mexican restaurants. This place is up there with the best of them. We will return again and again...

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Donnie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plaza Jalisco also viewed

 

Been to Plaza Jalisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing