We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a Try”
Review of Holbrooke Hotel

Holbrooke Hotel
Ranked #51 of 105 Restaurants in Grass Valley
Price range: $13 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Taos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
112 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Worth a Try”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We went to the restaurant here becase we love old hotels, and the Holbrooke has history and atmosphere. We sat out on the patio in the back for dinner. Everything was actually good, just not memorable. And they need fly strips! Staff was nice and helpful.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank walksfarwoman2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    28
    5
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pueblo West, Colorado
Level Contributor
237 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good food, fair service”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We saw this hotel and restaurant on the show Hotel Impossible. Since we were in the area, we gave it a try. The lunch crowd was non-existent, so the slow service was a little odd. The menu is trendy, not the average lunch food. Everything we had was very good, though a little different. I would go back again if in the area. Nice décor, gold rush era building.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Wild West Burger!”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I recently had the Wild West Burger (a large high quality burger piled high with onion rings, a wonderful barbeque sause, lettuse, tomatoes and dill pickle) at the Holbrooke and it was easily the best hamburger I have ever had! Their sweet potato fries are also wonderful!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't waste your time, money, or appetite!”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

After living locally for many years and avoiding the Holbrooke due to mixed reviews, we decided to give it a try for Easter brunch because they had a new chef on board. Wow, what a mistake that was! The buffet was served in a dark side room off the lobby. There was absolutely no decor to celebrate spring or Easter, not even one flower. Water and coffee cups were refilled only when we asked. Most importantly, the food was awful, it was unappealing to the eye, dry, and overcooked. The fruit salad was boring and what you might find in a cafeteria. There were no breads, pastries, or desserts when we were there. Hands down, the worst brunch I have ever experienced! I wrote the owner a letter about our experience and to date have had no response.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank norcalranchgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great for lunch”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I usually have a cheese burger. It comes with fries that will knock your socks off. Our service is always outstanding. The bar is also great.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Howard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holbrooke Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Holbrooke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing