We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the old historic feel of the hotel/restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Holbrooke Hotel

Holbrooke Hotel
Ranked #48 of 105 Restaurants in Grass Valley
Price range: $13 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
161 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Love the old historic feel of the hotel/restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We drove back up to Grass Valley from Vacaville to eat at the Holbrooke Hotel restaurant. Love the historic setting of the place. Our server was very attentive and good but not to hovering. We enjoyed a nice meal all six of us. I had the filet Mignon which was tasty, tender and you could cut it with a butter knife. Each diner at the table enjoyed their choice of entree. The only down fall was we wished they would have added Prime Rib to their Sunday menu instead of only serving it on Friday/Saturday nights.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LGuerrieri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    28
    5
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Hadley
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Checked it out just for fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

While we didn't stay in the Holbrooke, but we ate in the bar on a Sunday night. A brochure mentioned that the hotel is thought to be haunted, and in particular, the ghost of a former chambermaid has occasionally been spotted on the premises.
Thefront desk clerk encouraged us to check out the upper floors. The old wrought-iron cage type elevator took us to the second floor. The rooms were named for various presidents who have visited the hotel. And we were surprised when a tiny elderly woman quietly walked past us in the hall and quickly disappeared....could she have been the ghostly chambermaid?

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank mazda6030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Looked good going in and was disappointed it wasn't better than it was. Service was average as well.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Whatever the Weather, you can always make it an occasion here at the Holbrooke!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Nice old hotel, being pleasantly renovated but carefully, and in keeping with the era of miners, opportunists, adventurers, artists and explorers who accompanied the Gold Rush. From Mark Twain to a President or two, the thirties movie starts, even a famous cowboy bandit (Black Bart? Someone better check me on that last name), it is nicely maintained and calm between a lively lunch rush and supper when live music threatens to drown out one's conversation in the bar area. If weather allows, the best place to eat is on the back patio from a well-priced menu, with vegetarian options to go along with more traditional fare.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank HawaiianArtWorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lompoc, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Love the old building”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We love to eat dinner there. The ambiance is nice, it's quite and a pleasant experience. Good meat and seafood dishes. Nice bar, just a fun and relaxing place for dinner.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Judy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holbrooke Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Holbrooke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing